Search Unity

Absolute noob here, asking for very basic pointers on unity api

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by kiunindustries, May 25, 2019.

1. kiunindustries

kiunindustries

Hi,i'm an absolute noob and I'm trying to learn c# and ultimately game development in Unity. I've covered the basic syntax in C#, and still very new. At the same time I read up on Unity api now and then to check whether I've reach the point where I can understand the code there, and that's when I suppose I can start learning Unity api. Can some one please help me out here by commenting on this code in Unity api, explaining which part is a method being called, which are the parameters, or which part is the variable, and which are the properties, or where is a class being called, etc? I'm confused because what I have learned for C# is first you instantiate a class using Main(string[]args) and then create the object with = new (); and call the member method using <instantiatedobject_identifier><dot><method1_identifier>(); and finish off with console.readline. But these lines of unity api code seems to skip a few steps.

Also, at the same time, can you also recommend me a book or website which does this, i.e. explain each element of the Unity api line by line in terms of what is being done?

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    3. public class Example : MonoBehaviour
    4. {
    5.    CharacterController controller;
    6.    private void Start()
    7.   {
    8.      controller = GetComponent<CharacterController>();
    9.      controller.center = new Vector3(0, 1, 0);
    10.    }
    11. }

Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
    JoeStrout likes this.
  2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Hello, welcome to the Unity community, and props to you for asking a clear, coherent question! My only suggestion is that when you paste code here, you need to use the "insert code" button in the editing toolbar, which looks like this:
    upload_2019-5-25_6-34-34.png