Search Unity

About RPG

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AkumaGameStudio, Jul 21, 2015.

?

Which gamestyle game is easier to develop (just coding)?

1. Zelda

7 vote(s)
    87.5%
  2. Final Fantasy 1

1 vote(s)
    12.5%
  1. AkumaGameStudio

AkumaGameStudio

Hi there, i wonder how hard would it be to make an RPG, but im not talinkg about the High end FFXV or not even like Fable or Zelda, im asking about an oldschool RPG with turn based fighting mechanics and a top-down view with the Top-Down Assets from Manufaktura-K4.

Is there some kit like RPG Maker XP but to add functionallity to unity or i would need to code everything? And this is my first project, but i followed a lot of tutorials that ill leave in the description, my question is, with those tutorials would i be able to make all the coding of this game or ill need to learn more? In case i need to learn more, where do you recomend me to start? because ive been searching a lot and i havent found tutorials to make things like that (Like a FF1) and engines like RPGMAKERXP/VX/VXACE dont have 3D functions.

I dont have problem spending money in assets.

A last question, is it more easy (in sence of coding, not graphics nor storyline) to make a game like Zelda ocarina of time or a game like FF1? because for a FF1 kind of game you need to script multiple players, lot of skills, lot of content and lot of everything, but in zelda each item is part of a puzzle and each boss has unique AI and weak spots.

Tutorials i followed up to 100%

Making a Simple Game in Unity by AwfulMedia
    Indie Game Development Pipeline by Digitaltutors

Also im interested in BurgZerg Arcade tutorials bur are incomplete and are for projects that are way much bigger than what i want to do.

2. drewradley

drewradley

Plenty of starter kits in the asset store. Pick one or two and go for it. Personally, I recommend RPG Framework (aka Okashi Role Playing Kit).

3. AkumaGameStudio

AkumaGameStudio