Search Unity

About a prototype 'like EVE Online'

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by jeroll3d, Apr 12, 2022.

1. jeroll3d

jeroll3d

Okay, let me first state something, I'm talking about something absurdly simple and in the sense of asking for everyone's help in 'directions' - as I'm a newbie and I study C# and I'm trying to develop a very simple prototype of a 'point and click space' (This is where the Navigation UI comes in).

Here I want to talk about two aspects of the game Eve that caught my attention - the navigation system and 'scalar quantities' (I use google translator, I don't know if this is the correct term).

My prototype - and I ask the more experienced for guidance on this:

A sphere with 50 units x a small box with 0.01 of a unit. As my idea, as in Eve is to 'simulate', to create a 'fake' idea about magnitudes, as I want to avoid any problems with a real 'huge world' - I would like suggestions regarding 'code that holds' (if necessary) a simple movement on any axis, however, preventing possible 'shakes' of the object (as I suppose 0.01 is a very small scale).

Another direction would be about textures, here treated with objects with only 0.01 of a unit - a certain level of detail is possible in this texture/map/material.

Another aspect would be or deal with the camera - what they suggest about - there are ways of 'simulating' (creating a sensation) or giving the camera some property that would help this general idea of greatness, either by code or something already native to the 'main camera' and Cinemachine?

I hope the questions don't seem strange, obviously I have no intention of recreating a game even like Eve, nor would I be able to, but just studying scale and movement, things that would fit better in my prototype using some principles used in Eve Online.

Thanks

2. angrypenguin

angrypenguin