Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feature Request Ability to "play" selected timeline in Sequences hierarchy to render it without rendering everything

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by akent99, Oct 28, 2022.

1. akent99

akent99

I am using Sequences to create an animated cartoon. I have a hierarchy of Master Sequence / Sub-sequences / Shot Sequences. Previewing in Editor mode is great, but it is not 100% reliable because things like physics (hair and cloth bouncing around) and lighting etc are not always identical in Editor mode and Play mode. As a result, final proofing requires rendering via Recorder clips to video files (using Play), then inspecting the video file(s) created. Then make adjustments and re-render again. For me, each shot Sequence/Timeline is typically 10 seconds long (the recorder clip is usually shorter). The whole master sequence might be 10 minutes long to play.

I want to be able to render one leaf sequence (10 seconds long) via "Play" mode without having to start from the beginning of the Master Sequence and Play-ing the full sequences (10 minutes).

I do not want to just play a recorder clip -- I want to play the full shot sequence timeline as I often have to insert delays before recorder clips start for physics to settle down. E.g. I always leave 1 to 2 seconds blank at the start of a timeline now with the characters not moving to get hair and cloth physics to look natural at the start of the recorder clip.

Workaround: I manually reorder the sequences in their parent sequence to put the current sequence I am working on at the front. I then hit Play and try to hit Stop before it moves onto rendering the next sequence. This gets everything out of order, but it does work.