Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

a19 a crash fest

Discussion in '2020.2 Beta' started by laurentlavigne, Aug 16, 2020.

  1. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    default urp project from the hub
    crashes when clicking on things
    1270872
    1270870
    1270867
     
  2. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    779
    It’s been a crash fest for me as well. Or rather... it hangs. So I have to force quit it... but then for some reason the editor remains visible on my desktop (despite the app having been quit) and I can’t relaunch it without restarting the computer.
    Is this what you’re experiencing @laurentlavigne or straight out crashes?
     
  3. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    779
    I’ve got a feeling it’s due to recent changes in the asset import mechanism. I believe that some assets only get properly imported when they’re needed in the editor now? Or something like that @LeonhardP ?
     
  4. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    upload_2020-8-16_12-58-59.png
     
  5. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    if it were asset import it wouldn't happen with the default urp scene, the one made by the hub
    i mean it could technically but it is likely that they have that in their automated test suite, at least
     
  6. mjc33

    mjc33

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2019
    Posts:
    26
    It seems stable for me and have only had one crash (when importing a package with loads of "obsolete API" scripts), Not using URP or HDRP
     
  7. adamgolden

    adamgolden

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Posts:
    1,558
    It's more stable for me than the alpha before it, but I've also switched to Windows 10 from 7.. so that could be a meaningless sentiment.
     
  8. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    779
    @laurentlavigne do you have links to your bug reports? My iPhone tries to dial the number when I click on your current links. Or is that a forum bug?
     
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Never post link to bugs your report in public. It contains personal information.
     
  10. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    779
    Ah. Ok. Is there another way to point to issues so that we can keep track of them?
     
  11. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,650
    Just post the Case number from your bug-report confirmation email, such as: Case 1262574

    Then you can use the following link to find it in the public issue tracker once it has been processed:
    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/product/unity/issues/guid/1262574

    To find a different ticket, just replace the Case number in the link.