Search Unity

a11/a12 Broke IL2CPP

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by tertle, Aug 15, 2019.

  1. tertle

    tertle

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,663
    Cross posting this as I'm pretty certain now it's a 19.3 issue.

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/can-no-longer-compile-il2cpp-com-unity-properties.723410/

    I just upgraded from 19.3a11 to 19.3a12 and issue still exists.
    I downgraded project and tested it in 19.2 and it compiles with IL2CPP fine (android and windows)
    Worked fine in 19.3a10

    The error is

     
  2. JohnC_Unity

    JohnC_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Hey tertle, i've raised this with the team. Have you posted a bug report previously? If not could you it would really help.

    Many thanks.
     
  3. tertle

    tertle

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,663
    Posted a report,
    1176672

    Very easy to reproduce

    - Create an empty project with 2019.3a12
    - Add Entities package (though issue is really with the properties package which is a dependency)
    - Change scripting backend to IL2CPP
    - Build project with the sample scene
     
  4. JohnC_Unity

    JohnC_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Awesome! Thanks for taking the time.
     
  5. recursive

    recursive

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    591
    Any workaround to this in the interim?
     
  6. PixelJ

    PixelJ

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    129
  7. tertle

    tertle

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,663
    Support ticket said this would be fixed in next alpha version (which doesn't seem to exist) however the issue still persists in the beta release.

     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2019
  8. thelebaron

    thelebaron

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Posts:
    277
    I also just got this when attempting to build with dots and 2019.3.0b1
     
  9. JohnC_Unity

    JohnC_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    I had a look at the issue, it's marked as fixed but just missed the 2019.3.0b1 release cut off. It should be in b2.
     
  10. tertle

    tertle

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,663
    This is still not fixed in b2 or b3 btw
     
  11. JohnC_Unity

    JohnC_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Thanks for the heads up. I'll investigate.
     
  12. JohnC_Unity

    JohnC_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Hey Tertle,

    Seems the fix was kicked back by release management for 2019.3. They weren't happy with some aspects of code, so, Unfortunately, you'll have to wait a little longer. :(