Search Unity

A youtube tutorial rant

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pixie40, May 16, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pixie40

Pixie40

So, I have no real prior artistic experience. I've farted around in MS Paint a time or three over the years, and tried to take a C.A.D. class in high school that just left me confused because the teacher never actually explained how the frell you use the program we were expected to use. Most of my artistic activities and abilities have been "crappy drawings" when I was 6 or 7 years old, and the ability to do a pretty decent self portrait (but I'm pants at drawing ears). Still, you can't learn if you never do. And everyone begins somewhere. Right? I'm willing to accept that my early attempts are going to be crude. But they should (in theory) improve over time.

I'd been kind of interested in game development ever since I got a copy of the original RPG Maker released on the Playstation One. Hearing about Blender last year, I downloaded that since it's free. And since Unity is free, I downloaded that too. I figured if nothing else, I could tinker around. Maybe make something for my own amusement or to share with friends. Which ran smack into a bit of a problem. I don't want to use stock assets if I don't have to. I could pay for work-for-hire to get art assets, true. But I kind of want to learn how to make my own art assets... crap as they likely are to be.

So I've been diving into the dumpster fire that is youtube's blender and unity tutorials. Why the frell is it that nobody making 'beginner tutorials' seems to realize that a beginner doesn't know every single short cut, what every option is, and where it is? They talk fast, do everything at seeming hyper speed due to using shortcuts they don't mention or just barely mention in passing, and fail to actually explain how or why they are doing anything. Or they keep throwing out terms that mean nothing to a beginner without explaining anything.