Search Unity

A user story and some feature requests

Discussion in 'Unity Build Automation' started by pahe, Sep 11, 2014.

1. pahe

pahe

Hi. First of all, the unity cloud build service is awesome! It's such a relief for me, as a small indie developer, not to have all this bunch of work to setup the whole build pipeline for each platform by myself.

I'm a part time indie developer and as most of us I'm trying to jump on the mobile train. Though I have already setup several times my TeamCity or Jenkins build server, each time it was time consuming. Setting it up and maintainig it is sometimes very annoying. If you're in a midsize or larger company chances are that you're not the only one that has to fix everything, but if you're (like me) in a two men team and the only programmer, things become more complicated. As we would like to focus on the development of the gameplay, things like setting up environment systems, pipelines and so on... is very distracting. Especially when it comes to cross platform, it is very nice to have as less effort to get your build running (and build in regular intervals) as possible.

So, a BIG thanks for this service to Unity3d! We really appreciate it!

Now, while toying around with the service and setting it up, I've compared the workflow from my former experience to this one. There are some things I'm missing, which I wouldn't like to miss:

1. Custom parameter setup
    As I want to setup custom parameters for my build, I added scripts to my buildserver to get these parameters from the command line. These are simply things like setting up paths or even an internal buildnumber. I'd like to see something like drop down menues and string parameter fields for customizing the next build process (with default parameters).

2. Improved xCode build log output and xCode project setup