Search Unity

A Thought For Newer Game Makers...

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by astracat111, Jan 9, 2020.

1. astracat111

astracat111

Hello there, I just had some short thoughts to throw out there and this is from my own experience. I’ve been making video games for over 15 years now, using Game Studio, Gfactory, Multimedia Fusion, RPG Maker (mostly), Dark Basic and Dark Basic Pro. For the last 3 years I’ve worked full time in pursuing making a JPRG styled game in Unity.

I don’t really see it mentioned all that often, but clocking in now more or less 5500 hours or so, I’ve found that probably 1500 of those hours have been spent in the debugging and polishing stage of the game.

It’s very akin to I would think chiseling a stature out of stone. It could always be more polished...but it’s not just that.

There are two phases of the game making process that I don’t see enough mention of I feel. In making an RPG, I had just enough experience with programming and game design to take a data first approach. You see a lot of game makers show these fully polished graphics that they get from the asset stores from these engines, and I think that’s great....but at the same time, it can be misleading. Most of what I ended up creating through these few years, I would talk with a friend or family member all excited telling them about the incredible amount of progress I would make for example with something like encrypting save files and learning how to organize this nested structure that is the games database...

I had to create an internal scene manager and have it go scan through the database and place entities positions rotations graphics and other states according to how it was stored....none of this work was visual, but the magnitude of work that goes into delving into these state machines, and then the debugging and polishing...I’ll be honest, it’s not visual work, but it seemed to be most of the entire game making process...