Search Unity

A stationary ball staying still even after object below it moves...

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Tset_Tsyung, Jan 24, 2016.

1. Tset_Tsyung

Tset_Tsyung

Hey all,

Still a total noob to Unity (sorry :s ) but I have a new bug, which is an interesting one.

I'm using a mesh (hacked together in Blender) to simulate a wooden board with holes in it. The player controls the rotation of the board to guide a marble/ball bearing/sphere to the winning hole at the end. However, when the game starts and the ball drops, if the board is still (and therefore the ball goes still on a level plane) the ball will 'stick' there when you try to rotate the board.

For example. If you tilt the board backwards (the ball is in the bottom left corner causing the ball to no longer touch the board) it can take up to 2 seconds for the ball/physics engine to 'realise' that it should be dropping.

And with the revers (tilting board forwards) the ball goes THROUGH the board mesh and, if you rotate the board PAST the ball, it will again realise some seconds later and drop into the void below.

I've done a search on the net, read some similar problems (learnt I have my scale WAAAYYYY too large, but nvm) and I can't seem to find what I've done wrong, lol. Any ideas what I'm missing?

2. Farelle

Farelle

1. did you fix the scale issue in blender for both ball and board?
    2. if I read this correctly, then the ball has a sphere collider+rigidbody, and the board has a mesh collider yes?
    3. what are the values for the rigidbody component? (mass etc.)

Tset_Tsyung likes this.
  3. Tset_Tsyung

Tset_Tsyung

Hi @Farelle,

Thanks for the reply.

1. If by scale issue you mean "APPLY" the scale in blender before importing, yes done that (if that was you who told me to do that in my previous post, thanks again ;) )

2. Correct assumption, however the 'walls' of the board are done by box colliders (only the floor is a mesh collider to cater for the circular holes).

3. Ball: