Search Unity

A simple farm app

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by tylerlybb, Jul 21, 2016.

1. tylerlybb

tylerlybb

Sorry if I'm posting in the wrong forum. I'm an experienced game artist/designer but I am brand new to Unity. I have installed it and have begun watching tutorials but before I go further I want to ask and hopefully get answers to a few questions. I'm hoping to confirm that Unity is indeed a good tool for creating an Android app that a small team and myself are creating. From what I have learned so far, I assume it is, but have this nagging worry in the back of my head that I'll run into a limitation after we've already committed. It's a very simple farming game with a humanitarian purpose. Here are the basic features:

1. A very simple 3D environment similar to the one Zynga created for Farmville 2 but much simpler. Basically a flat ground with vertical 'cards' sticking off of the ground that have 2D plant textures on them, with a few background planes for mountains, sky and clouds. The camera will always be facing the same direction except for possibly a slight tilt up and down. One thing I'm not sure about is if the cards need to face the camera as it changes tilt. That may be something I need.
    2. Some of the plants will need to animate. Imagine a small corn plant (2D image on a card) that animates up into a full size corn stalk. I imagine this will be a combination of playing through multiple frames of of the 2D plant texture while at the same time animating the size of the 3D card (and probably animating a swaying type of motion on the card for extra polish).