Search Unity

A script to uncheck "Exit Time" on an animation while button is held down.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Sparrow421, Mar 8, 2018.

1. Sparrow421

Sparrow421

Hey all, i am completely new to programming in general.

Right now i am messing around with making a 2d character controller to try to learn scripting in unity.

I am looking for a way to freeze an animation in it's last frame while the right mouse button is held.

I noticed that if i uncheck "Has Exit Time" on the animations transition back to idle unity does what i want it to do.

but i want to be able to script that to a button to continue doing it until the button is released.

TIA

2. TJHeuvel-net

TJHeuvel-net

Hi Sparrow!

Whenever you are stuck you should try to look in the manual. Every programmer constantly has it open, it really has a solution to most of your problems.

In this case, we can find that there is a property called `hasExitTime` that you can modify!

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Animations.AnimatorStateTransition-hasExitTime.html

You'll have to dig in the AnimatorController to find a AnimatorState, and then check its Transitions: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Animations.AnimatorState-transitions.html

Though this is all a bit ugly... Dont you think its possible to solve this in the animator itself? For example passing the `mouseDown` state as a trigger, and using it to go and stay in the right state?

3. Necrohunter

Necrohunter

to be honest everytime i see this manual pages, i dont have a clue what to do with this.
    as example:

AnimatorStateTransition.hasExitTime
    public bool hasExitTime;

Description
    When active the transition will have an exit time condition.

where exactly do i need to write animatorstatetransition.hasexittime?