Search Unity

A preview of my project and help request

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Matscrich, Aug 3, 2020.

1. Matscrich

Matscrich

Hello guys,
    I have recently put my hand on content from the shockwave game Gorillaz.
    I like the game so i'm attempting to port it. I decided to use Unity for this project, i'm a beginner.
    Here is a preview of what i got so far:
    (You can play it x2 if you want)

So as you can see, the raycast demo is running quite slow on my PC.

I need help with learning Unity and i need help with a scipt (from Director) that contains the driving model of the original game. I don't know programming, so i wish someone could help translating it for Unity.

Of all the things that i need to learn on Unity, there are the questions coming to my mind now:
    How to import models with their textures/ UV maps ?
    and
    Can someone tell me why Unity is running 2 times too slow ?

If you have links to some good tutorials, i'd appreciate it

Thank you

2. DiegoDePalacio

DiegoDePalacio

Unity Technologies

Hello @Matscrich,

It's nice that you're learning Unity... It's pretty fun to create games with it ;)

Unfortunately, there are a lot of possible reasons why your project is not running smoothly. It depends on a lot of factors, but if you learn Unity, you'll be able to find why by yourself and to improve not only the performance, but also the gameplay, physics, and all the other systems that your game is using.

About importing models, Unity is able to import the textures and UV's automatically for you if the model's file format it's supported and has such information included.

On the other hand, my recommendation for you is to choose and follow Unity's official tutorials, which you can find here: https://learn.unity.com/.

Happy learning!

Matscrich likes this.
  3. Matscrich

Matscrich

Last edited: Aug 3, 2020
    DiegoDePalacio likes this.
  4. dgoyette

dgoyette