Search Unity

A* Pathfinding vs Apex Path | Behavior designer vs Playmaker. Which pack should I pick?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by BigLouis1971, Nov 4, 2015.

1. BigLouis1971

BigLouis1971

I have some budget to get some add-ons, but I'm a newbie and I'm not sure about which ones should I pick. I already bought Realistic FPS Prefab and later this week I'll be picking UFPS so the controller and weapon system will be covered. I also got Gaia so terrain is also covered. I got EasyRoads so if I'm clever placing side object, cities are also covered. I even got some free zombies from Mixamo who's giving them for free for a limited time because Adobe bought the company so enemies are covered.

What is not covered is the AI, map/level building and the game logic. I'll take care of the level building later (probably will get Pro Core Bundle later). I need help to choose between some packages that I've been considering, but I would like to hear members opinions before I get them.

AI packages that I've been considering:

A* Pathfinding Project Pro
    AI Behavior
    Apex Path
    Advanced AI Pro
    Paragon Shooter AI

I would like to hear member's opinions about which one of those is the best and why.

Visual scripting packages that I've been considering:

Playmaker
    Behavior designer
    Node canvas

I also would like to hear your opinions first about these.

I'm almost convinced to get UFPS, Apex Path and Behavior Designer, but I would like to hear your opinion first. Thanks in advance!

2. Arganth

Arganth

Good that you are careful ^^

I got Third Person Controller and Behavior Designer and i am very happy with it

but also cant finally decide between apex path and pathfinding project pro
    ppp has in its pro version has recast navmeshes with seem to be pretty nice
    (basically unity navmesh but can be used/calculated during runtime)

apex path seems to need portals for grids on different heights (the connections must be marked with portals)