Search Unity

  1. We have added a sub-forum for DOTS Graphics. Please use the new space for related discussions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The 2021.2 beta is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2021.2 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice

Help Wanted A Native Collection has not been disposed.... Enable Full StackTraces - How?

Discussion in 'Data Oriented Technology Stack' started by laurentlavigne, Jan 22, 2021.

  1. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,100
    A Native Collection has not been disposed, resulting in a memory leak. Enable Full StackTraces to get more details.

    no stack trace option
    upload_2021-1-21_20-16-36.png
     
  2. RecursiveEclipse

    RecursiveEclipse

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    284
    In my editor the third option(of 3) has always been "Full Stack Traces (expensive)". Maybe in some new update it got renamed(poorly)?
     
    firstuser and laurentlavigne like this.
  3. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,100
    Force On = Full Stack Trace? poor renaming indeed. I logged that as regression: 1308268
     
    firstuser likes this.
  4. DreamingImLatios

    DreamingImLatios

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    2,327
  5. RecursiveEclipse

    RecursiveEclipse

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    284
    I'm not certain if that's the case, since mine still says "Full Stack Traces", as the image above. But try it and see if it gives what you need.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
  6. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,100
    Well that's interesting, the error doesn't happen on the other computer that the project was originally developed on.
    Anyways what version of burst do you run on?
     
  7. RecursiveEclipse

    RecursiveEclipse

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    284
    versions.png

    I'm on Unity 2020.2.1f1, are you running an alpha/beta prerelease? I try them sometimes but it always ends up being some combination of weird changes and being critically broken, so I suspect that could be it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  8. Per-Morten

    Per-Morten

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    22
    I might be wrong here, but I think that certain options are related to certain packages. Do you have the Unity.Collections package installed on the related computer? At least I remember having similar issues a while back when integrating burst into a project. I didn't get the leak detection or the jobs debugger options unless I had Unity.Collections and Unity.Jobs packages installed in the project.
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  9. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,100
    Thanks for sharing a combination that works, in case I need to use collection or jobs I'll follow your recipe.
    That's good to know, I don't have these extra packages, just the bare minimum Burst/job.

    I wonder why this would work on my desktop but emits errors on the laptop though since the same packages are on the project...
     
unityunity