Search Unity

A few questions.

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by mrmimosizer, Jan 9, 2015.

1. mrmimosizer

mrmimosizer

Hello all.

I am fairly new to unity and game design and was just looking to get a few perspectives and/or ideas from people. Here I go:

What do people think about post apocalyptic games such a fallout? What do you like and/or dislike about these games?

How do you feel about permadeath in multiplayer? Eg a multiserver game having a system where if you die on that server you would be temp banned for let's say 2 hours?

Discussion time

2. ensiferum888

ensiferum888

I personally love the post-apocalyptic setting. I prefered the S.T.A.L.K.E.R series to Fallout because it was more serious and had some survival elements.

I'm not a fan of Permadeath because I don't like restarting, also if I set my evening aside to play a game and I can't because I'm temp banned chances are I won't play that game anymore. Some people might love the hardcore aspect that permadeath/temp-ban would bring but not me. I play games as a hobby to release steam.

Ryiah likes this.
  3. TonyLi

TonyLi

Hi and welcome to Unity and the Game Design forum! When Bethesda announced they were doing Fallout 3, I was skeptical they could do justice to the originals. But Fallout 3 is one of my favorite gaming experiences, and it's because of Betheda's weaknesses. Bethesda is kind of terrible at making NPCs. If you need proof, just look at the lack of attention they gave voice acting, lip sync, and facial animation for all but main NPC. But they have a great open-world RPG engine. A desolate, sparsely-populated world is the perfect setting to downplay NPCs and highlight the ability to wander the environment. They really took this to heart, and also wisely used McCarthy's The Road as a design bible, making a very atmospheric and engrossing experience.