Search Unity

A daunting task...

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Doc-Psyanide, Sep 22, 2016.

1. Doc-Psyanide

Doc-Psyanide

Greetings. I'm relatively new at game dev, and I can understand why so many folks give up. I can't for the life of me find a working prefab of a WoW type controller/camera setup that actually works my way. I purchased several 'controller' assets, none of which will satisfactorily work under varying circumstances. I watch their vids, and read the documentation, and they refuse to work on characters other than their own, or types I'm not interested in using. I tried a popular MMO controller ($75) and it failed to attach a camera to my character (with their cs script attached). The 'instant' camera looks randomly off into space unless I edit it in Play but after that, the scene stops working, and cannot be edited out of Play mode since it vanishes. My player moved around just like it's supposed to, but with no camera following it, and the 'created' camera just watches the skybox from somewhere else in time.

Edit to add: I can place another camera in that scene and I can watch THAT camera follow the player, but the invisible camera is off in LalaLand.

Another asset Kit looked promising, so I paid $100 for it, and it won't cooperate either. The few vids are vague and undetailed, as well as the docs. It is very detailed in what it can do, but in perspective lt is 'beginner hostile'. My sent email is now over a week old and waiting...
    Those demos scenes work fine, but don't apply well when implementing a preferred char (a Nocturnis prefab)
    The 3rd person prefab in Standard Assets is very dissappointing for 3rd person RPG.
    That $175 would have bought me a personalized player/camera controller package I'd imagine...