Search Unity

Discussion A Comprehensive Guide to the Execution Order of Unity Event Functions

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Edy, Jan 3, 2023.

1. Edy

Edy

Update: V2 released

The section Order of execution for event functions in the Unity manual, while detailed and exhaustive, is confusing to say the least, where not directly wrong and/or misleading. Other similar diagrams found over the internet include similar imprecise or misleading information, probably influenced by the Unity manual.

Even as an experienced Unity developer I also encounter issues in my own code related to not entirely counting on how the Unity event functions actually work. Also I often see third-party code making questionable use of the event functions, specially about initialization and finalization, which leads to issues and exceptions on common situations such as disabling and re-enabling components, or recompiling the scripts while in play mode (domain reload).

So I decided to create a correct diagram showing the actual execution order of the main Unity event functions and the considerations every developer should know about. I'm also including essential information to help understand when and how to use each event method, and the consequences of doing so.

Guide-to-the-Execution-Order-of-Unity-Event-Functions-V2-Light.png

Other event functions not included in this diagram can be found in the original execution order page in the Unity manual. You can easily locate their place in this diagram by consulting the manual.

This guide is available in other resolutions and formats, including PDFs and a "Dark Mode" version, here:
    https://www.edy.es/dev/docs/a-comprehensive-guide-to-the-execution-order-of-unity-event-functions/

Guide-to-the-Execution-Order-of-Unity-Event-Functions-V2-Light.png Guide-to-the-Execution-Order-of-Unity-Event-Functions-V2-Dark.png