Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[50% OFF] UniStorm 5.2 - AAA Volumetric Clouds, URP Support, Weather, Sky, Atmospheric Fog, & More!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by BHS, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Aurimas_TheDev

    Aurimas_TheDev

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    First time using the asset. Didn't do much but the problem is that other scenes were somehow changed and I don't know how to revert these changes back. Now the scene which had to be very "green" became very snowish. Tried removing the assets, didn't helped...
    upload_2022-9-25_0-27-20.png
     
  2. LegacySystem

    LegacySystem

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2021
    Posts:
    52
    Hi,
    I am trying to use the asset on empty project 2021.3.10 Builtin RP but "Playable Standard Demo"i "Procedural Lightning Strikes Example" and "Standard Demo"scenes are completely Wihte when the Android is selected as a platform. When I disable the bloom or set to 0.01 then it becomes visible but still eveything looks very washed out.

    On "Mobile Example" scene there is no Post process. and sun looks really bad. When I tried to add "Post-Processing Behaviour" with the same profile the everything becomes white again.
     
  3. Haapavuo

    Haapavuo

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Posts:
    97
    New error on Unity 2021.2.17f1:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Compute shader (noiseGeneration): Can't find kernel (0) variant with keywords:
    2. UnityEngine.StackTraceUtility:ExtractStackTrace ()
    3. UniStorm.Utility.GenerateNoise:GenerateBaseCloudNoise () (at Assets/UniStorm Weather System/Scripts/Clouds/GenerateNoise.cs:253)
    4. UniStorm.Utility.UniStormClouds:GenerateInitialNoise () (at Assets/UniStorm Weather System/Scripts/Clouds/UniStormClouds.cs:73)
    5. UniStorm.Utility.UniStormClouds:Start () (at Assets/UniStorm Weather System/Scripts/Clouds/UniStormClouds.cs:58)
    6.  
    I wish I could get a refund for this abandoned asset...
     
    Ravl and vamosfa like this.
  4. Figarist

    Figarist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    This is killing me. This sun is just awful! I want to fix this but don't know how...Only post processing can save my life?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2022
  5. NickoG

    NickoG

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    I like the asset so far. But haven't figured out how I can use SetTime() when level reloads. I want to be able to replay a scene with different time and weather.
    But when I do this
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  SceneManager.LoadScene(SceneManager.GetActiveScene().name);
    2.         //yield return new WaitUntil(() => UniStormSystem.Instance.UniStormInitialized);
    3.         if (_UniStormSystem.CurrentTimeOfDay == UniStormSystem.CurrentTimeOfDayEnum.Evening)
    4.         {
    5.             UniStormManager.Instance.SetTime(3, 0);      
    6.             Debug.Log("setting time 3am");
    7.         }
    it gets here. and seems to switch to nighttime for a second and then it goes back to default time.

    Tried a coroutine with WaitUntil() , but then it stops it there, not sure what else I could try.

    Using the URP setup.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2022
  6. Figarist

    Figarist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Has anyone else had a night problem? the night is very bright. I configured the part responsible for fog in the unistorn system in any way, to no avail. I want to note that the documentation has completely different points, in the current version of the settings there are really few settings for fog. the essence of the question, is it possible to somehow transfer the work of the fog to my own script, not to the manager?
    There are 311 mentions of fog in the unistorm script)
     
  7. commonblob

    commonblob

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    If I enable Unistorm fog and put the renderer feature in, I get constant errors saying:
    A non-multisampled texture being bound to a multisampled sampler. Disabling in order to avoid undefined behavior. Please enable the bindMS flag on the texture.
    UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager:DoRenderLoop_Internal (UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset,intptr,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<UnityEngine.Camera/RenderRequest>,Unity.Collections.LowLevel.Unsafe.AtomicSafetyHandle)


    Has anyone seen this?
     
  8. commonblob

    commonblob

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Fixed it. Didn't like my Rendertexture having MSAA enabled on it, disabled the samples and its not erroring now
     
  9. RatherGood

    RatherGood

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Posts:
    21
    Hello, Having trouble with URP in non-unistorm scenes and UI. Unistorm seems to be adding Render features for Cloud, fog, sun, moon to other renderers automatically. Unable to delete! Trying to use different cameras for scenes that need it. Anyone know what's going on here or how to fix it?

    Edit: URP, Unity 2021.3, Unistorm 5.2.0 From March 22
     
  10. xzavier2142

    xzavier2142

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Everyone, The Dev seems to be active on the unity store asking people who have issues to email Support@BlackHorizonStudios.com I suggest if you're not getting anywhere here to shoot an email over,

    As for Support here I'm currenty testing all versions of unity and their respected SRP,URP versions, I'll report my findings over to let anyone here know which versions work and which do not. 2021.3.2f1 is very buggy and does not work

    2021.3.14f1 Works fine on SRP and URP.
    Render Features are not scene based they are project based, if you have it on one scene you cannot remove them for other scenes.
     
  11. mmorsi

    mmorsi

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    Greetings. I've encountered an issue with UniStorm that has left me scratching my head, particularly as to why no one else seems to be running into this.

    After a fresh install of Unistorm and instantiation in a new scene, I noticed the Sun and Moon objects were being rendered 'through' other objects that should be occluding them.




    This happens in a brand new Unity project with only UniStorm installed. I am running Unity version 2022.1.5f1

    ---

    After digging into the shader logic a bit, I saw that the 'z' coordinate in the sun and moon shaders were being set to a very small value (just above zero), which would make sense out of the situation as the Sun/Moon vertices are now sorted above all others in the scene.

    Removing this assignment (specifically the line: "o.vertex.z = 1.0e-9f;") fixes the issue




    ---

    My questions are (if anyone would be so gracious to offer some insight):

    - Why is the z-coordinate being set like so?
    - Is there any problem with removing the assignment
    - Why hasn't anyone else encountered this issue?

    Thank you greatly for any advice pertaining to this matter.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2022
  12. xzavier2142

    xzavier2142

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Reporting a Strange behaviour with Version 2021.3.14f1

    New Project:
    Follow URP Setup readme
    Import Unistorm
    Import URP Files
    Open URP Demo Scene
    Set that as the build Scene

    Run Build > Open Build > No Clouds
    Close Unity > Open Unity > Build > Black Screen
    Close Unity > Open Unity > Play In Editor > Close In Editor > Build > Clouds no Blackscreen

    Close Unity > Open Unity > Build > Black Screen

    No settings modified Unless you Play the scene it will not build correctly, This is an odd behaviour, Asking anyone to reproduce to confirm.
     
  13. Figarist

    Figarist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Is this forum dead?
     
  14. coooboy

    coooboy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    @BHS: awesome stuff! I'm wondering about the difference between ChangeWeatherInstantly and
    ChangeWeatherWithTransition. I'm using the API "UniStorm.UniStormManager.Instance.ChangeWeatherInstantly", but when I change the weather more than one time, the sound becomes strange.
     
  15. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Hey everyone,

    For some reason I was missing notifications for this thread. My apologies for not answering all your support questions. I'll be working on responding to everything by the end of tomorrow.

    If you have an issue with Unity 2021 or Unity 2022, please email me at Support@BlackHorizonStudios.com so I can send you the patch to address the current issues.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2022
  16. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    That looks like it's related to the Reflection Intensity. What version of Unity are you using?
     
  17. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Install the Post-Processing Stack v2+. It doesn't look like the Post-Processing Stack v1 is supported for this version of Unity (which isn't required for UniStorm). The new Post-Processing Stack can be found under Window>Package Manager>Unity Registry>Post Processing.

    In order for the sun to look like it does in the demo screenshots, you need to have a bloom image effect and HDR enabled on your camera/project settings.
     
  18. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Hey there. My apologies for the delayed response. For some reason I stopped receiving notifications on this thread.

    As for your issue, I haven't yet seen this or been able to recreate it. Can you please email me at: Support@BlackHorizonStudios.com and, if possible, send a barebones project with a scene and the issue present?
     
  19. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Yes, post-processing (bloom) and enabling HDR are what allows the sun shader to glow like that.
     
  20. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    See the "Save UniStorm Data Example" scene for an example on how to save and load with UniStorm. It saves UniStorm's time, date, temperature, weather, and the player's position. It allows for both manual saving and autosaving.
     
  21. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Try setting the ambient colors, under Celestial>Atmosphere Settings, to darker colors. Also, set the Moonlight Color darker as it also affects how dark night can be.
     
  22. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    ChangeWeatherInstantly with change the weather instantly with no transition from the current weather.

    ChangeWeatherWithTransition changes the weather gradually over time from the current weather.

    What do you mean by the sound becomes strange? Either option sound play the sound for that Weather Type. This is based on the sound set within the Weather Type object.
     
  23. coooboy

    coooboy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    To implement the weather and some incidental effects like wipers, I created a new dropdown list that uses the Change Weather API.
    When I use ChangeWeatherInstantly, the sound of HeavyRain and Rain will be interspersed with "tututu" sound, but the sound of HeavyFog and Foggy is normal.
    When I use ChangeWeatherWithTransition, the sound of HeavyRain and Rain is normal but no raindrops.
    No matter which API I use, the sound and effects of the first weather are normal.
     
  24. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    I just tested this and everything is working correctly on my end. The only way I was able to get a weird sound was by repeatedly calling the ChangeWeatherInstantly API. Ensure that it is only being called once when your dropdown change happens.

    What version of Unity are you using? Maybe it's a version specific issue.
     
  25. coooboy

    coooboy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    My version is 5.2.0. The abnormal sound and effects do appear when changing the weather for the second time. Do you mean the weather change can only be used once in play mode? If I want to change the weather continuously I have to re-enter the game mode, right? Then, where can I see the code that corresponds to the original drop-down list to change the weather function? Thank you very much.
     
  26. coooboy

    coooboy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    16

    By the way, there are three cameras in my scene, one is the main camera, and the other two are the left and right rear-view mirrors. I set the camera tag of the three cameras to MainCamera. When I set the weather to foggy, there was no foggy effect in the left and right rear-view mirrors.
     
  27. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    No, you can change the weather as much as you'd like during runtime, but it sounds like your change is happening repeatedly. I'd have to take a look at your code to see exactly what is happening.

    If you want a drop-down example, see the CreateUniStormMenu function within the UniStormSystem script. It automatically populates a drop-down with all the weather types within UniStorm's Weather Type list. I also tested this with the ChangeWeatherInstantly API and I did not have the issue you were having.
     
  28. SHSA

    SHSA

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Hello, I understand that the question was asked more than once, but is there any plans to release an HDRP version at all
     
    MadStuntman likes this.
  29. womgame

    womgame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Looks like I am getting the same problem as sthansson. URP sky is completely white but only when using the non-included camera. The included camera always renders correctly. The tutorial on the github is for a old version and uses options that appear to be missing in the URP one.
     
  30. sarath90941

    sarath90941

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Hi @BHS

    Auroras is not rendering in mobile its simply in black color...

    Whats the fix for this...?

    Screenshot_2022-12-28-23-41-47-11_a50f546aabbb2b611593abf2620bdef8.jpg Screenshot_2022-12-28-23-41-47-11_a50f546aabbb2b611593abf2620bdef8.jpg
     
  31. nu51313932

    nu51313932

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    81
    Hello Unistorm Developer. I need a help.

    How can I see the lower part of the cloud as in the bottom picture. (the bottom picture is edited in photoshop)
     

    Attached Files:

  32. khushalkhan

    khushalkhan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Posts:
    175
    Aurora shader is not working on mac, its black showing warning non of its sub shaders or fallbacks are supported on gpu.
     
  33. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Yes, but I'm finishing up Emerald AI's (my other asset) update first.
     
  34. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
  35. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    What version of Unity are you using? Are you using URP?
     
  36. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Hey there. Try setting the Fog Height for your Weather Types to 0 to see if that gives you the results you are looking for.

    CloudFade.png
     
  37. khushalkhan

    khushalkhan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Posts:
    175
    i just added metal keyword to shader now its work
    #pragma only_renderers d3d9 d3d11 glcore gles metal
     
  38. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Thanks, I'll look into this.
     
  39. TheblindGhost

    TheblindGhost

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hello everyone!
    I am doing something similar like post #5962 suggested. A driving game that needs to switch the Camera Source depending on if you are inside the vehicle or outside of it.
    However ChangeCameraSource doesn't seem to do the entire job. I can see it disabling the previous camera, enabling the new camera and creating the needed containers on the PlayerTransform. I can see it even switching the internal Unistorm PlayerCamera variable to the new, correct camera. However the scripts that need to be on the Camera (Atmospheric fog) for some of the weather and fog effects to render are still missing and its not throwing any error messages from what I can see. Manually using InitializeUniStorm does add those scripts to the new camera, though.
    Maybe I'm just missing something here.

    My current code looks something like
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void getOutOfCar() {
    2.  
    3.          player.transform.position = car.transform.position - car.transform.TransformDirection(Vector3.right);
    4.          isincar = false;
    5.          vehicleController.enabled = false;
    6.  
    7.         //unistorm stuff
    8.         UniStorm.UniStormManager.Instance.ChangeCameraSource(playertransformOut, camoutcar);
    9.  
    10.     }
    11.  
    12.     void getInCar()
    13.     {
    14.  
    15.         isincar = true;
    16.         vehicleController.enabled = true;
    17.  
    18.         //unistorm stuff
    19.         UniStorm.UniStormManager.Instance.ChangeCameraSource(playertransformInCar, camincar);
    20.  
    21.  
    22.     }
    both Game Objects containing the trasnform and camera are active and so are its paremts. The camera inside the car starts disabled.

    Cheers!
    Ghost
     
  40. nu51313932

    nu51313932

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    81
    yes it is. thanks alot bro. i always forget and always re-ask again.
     
  41. nu51313932

    nu51313932

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    81
    upload_2023-1-17_15-55-51.png
    Got this error when i try to upgrade Unistorm to URP supported version
     
  42. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Unity recently changed some API with Unity 2021 and 2022. Email me and I’ll send you a patch to fix it through a UnityPackage file.
     
  43. Spudly1701

    Spudly1701

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    Hi all,

    Just recently started playing with UniStorm in URP and loving it. By far the easiest solution I've tried using.

    Now, I have a question, as I have something of a weird blind spot when it comes to using API's and the like.

    What I'd like to do, is every time my little game is run, is to have a random weather/time of day each time.

    Would anyone be able to suggest a solution please? :-/
     
  44. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Here's a script that should do what you want. I hope it helps :)

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using UniStorm;
    3.  
    4. public class RandomizeTimeAndWeather : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     private void Start()
    7.     {
    8.         Invoke("Generate", 0.01f); //Give a slight delay before generating to give UniStorm time to initialize.
    9.     }
    10.  
    11.     void Generate()
    12.     {
    13.         //Generate a random weather type from the UniStorm System's AllWeatherTypes list.
    14.         var RandomWeatherType = UniStormSystem.Instance.AllWeatherTypes[Random.Range(0, UniStormSystem.Instance.AllWeatherTypes.Count)];
    15.         UniStormManager.Instance.ChangeWeatherInstantly(RandomWeatherType); //Assign and instantly fade in the generated weather type.
    16.  
    17.         int RandomHour = Random.Range(0, 24); //Generate a random hour
    18.         int RandomMinute = Random.Range(1, 61); //Generate a random minute
    19.         UniStormManager.Instance.SetTime(RandomHour, RandomMinute); //Set the time to the RandomHour and RandomMinute variables.
    20.     }
    21. }
     
  45. Drivecity324

    Drivecity324

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Amazing asset. However, I can't find the option to use climate zones. I know it was in the older videos. Would have been awesome to have different climate for each city or elevation.
     
  46. RamonLion

    RamonLion

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Hello!

    Unistorm is failing to light up my scene in builds.

    I'm using Unity 2021.3.14f1 LTS with URP. Unistorm 5.2.0.

    I've disabled the standard fog settings in the Graphics settings of the Project Settings, as that was a suggested issue. However, it didn't do anything to help.

    Additionally, I had thought that perhaps it was because the Shaders were being stripped for the build, however, I notice that a split second after the game launches, when everything is unlit, I can see the materials of the objects.
    The lighting kicks in and the game falls into blackness.

    I've been getting by by making builds over and over and 1/100 end up building and lighting correctly. But it's a total tossup if this will happen. I haven't been able to get a successful build so far for this patch I need to put out.

    I tried re-importing the URP package and it was suggesting that Unity correct API differences in this engine version, to which I've said yes. Everything runs fine in editor.
     

    Attached Files:

  47. DeliveryDeliverer

    DeliveryDeliverer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Did you ever find a solution to this, just came across the issue myself. Thanks.
     
  48. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    Try disabling the cloud shadow feature through the UniStorm Editor. Also ensure that the cloud shadows are not enable on your render pipeline asset.
     
  49. BHS

    BHS

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4,758
    This is by design. A new weather type will be generated if the conditions are not met on start for the Starting Weather Type. To stop this from happening, you can disable conditions within each weather type.
     
  50. franky_li

    franky_li

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    163
    Sun starts disappearing before reaching horizon. Any suggestions to fix that?
     

    Attached Files: