Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

5.6.0f2: Holographic Remoting doesnt work

Discussion in 'VR' started by themarkval, Mar 31, 2017.

  1. themarkval

    themarkval

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Hi,

    I installed the latest 5.6 version and Holographic Remoting doesnt show anything.

    I tried with various scenes and project and always got the same thing on 2 different Hololens. It works well in 5.5.2f1 and was working in one of the previous 5.6 betas.

    I'm not sure of what changed in that build but Holo-Remoting doesnt work anymore for me.

    Can anyone reproduce?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Unity_Wesley

    Unity_Wesley

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    558
    Hello,

    Remoting appears to be working fine in Version 5.6.0f2,, can you provide any additional information?

    A log or possibly a screen shot of your remoting window in the editor?

    Thank you,
    Wesley
     
  3. themarkval

    themarkval

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Ive just updated to f3 and I got the same result:
    upload_2017-3-31_22-6-52.png
    You can see that im connected with remote, the camera is controlled by the Hololens, the cursor goes on the ball but the camera doesnt render anything on both hololens and editor. The same scene works in 5.5.
     
  4. themarkval

    themarkval

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Ok,

    The issue is in the Holotookit camera prefab.
    If I create a new Camera in 5.6 f3 from scratch it works well again.

    Ill flag an issue in github.
    Im using the latest Holotoolkit
     
  5. t-beni

    t-beni

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    It seems the Allow HDR box needs to be checked on the HoloLensCamera prefab. This solved it for me.
     
    Deleted User and Mangler2010 like this.
  6. StephenHodgson-Valorem

    StephenHodgson-Valorem

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Posts:
    148
    I have not been able to reproduce this with the default HoloLensCamera.prefab from the HTK using 5.6.0p1.

    I think the problem is that you're on the scene tab and not on the game tab.
    The Remote player does not render the scene if you're in a different tab other than the game tab.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  7. Mangler2010

    Mangler2010

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Make sure HoloLensCamera perfab has the Allow MSAA and Allow HDR unchecked. I was having an issue with after installing app on the HoloLens the scene was upside down and backwards. Found out MSAA being checked caused this problem. This also appears to effect the remoting as well because now it is working again.