Search Unity

5.5 released

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by SaraCecilia, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. Phantom75

    Phantom75

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Sara, can you please transmit QA that we would appreciate if "soon" was rather yesterday then tomorrow. This issue is really blocking a lot of peoples releases (https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...oid-dot-location-dot-location?page=1#comments). Thanks a lot!
     
    Zuicis likes this.
  2. Zuicis

    Zuicis

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Ouch, status changed from active to fixed (856773) :)
     
  3. hoskope

    hoskope

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I have serious issues with 5.5 and my rusty Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008) and El Capitan. Randomly when starting Unity whole computer hands and i have to close it from power button.
     
  4. transferim

    transferim

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I was using it for a while today; the only problem I ran into so far is that custom editor window keyboard shortcuts wouldn't work after entering and exiting play mode, unless I clicked on the menu bar first.
     
  5. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,372
    Thanks for 5.5.1p2, this new patch is quite good, the odd editor glitches are mostly gone, still drag and drop sticks on mavericks, also still unable to select on uGUI elements in the scene view.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017
  6. kniewolewski

    kniewolewski

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Any news on when this new fix will be released? It still doesn't work in any new 5.5 and 5.6 Unity versions despite its fixed status (856773).
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017
    Zuicis likes this.
  7. BUDU_KRATOK

    BUDU_KRATOK

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Posts:
    30
    I didn't find any mentions about this bug on issue tracker and I worry that my bug report about light culling mask will be ignored, so I'm writing here.
    Unity3d 5.5.1p3 Bug report #879852 Link to fogbugz (project attached to bug report)

    Directional lights settings:


    Standard shader with different mode settings.
    Screenshot from Unity3d 5.5.0f3 (culling mask looks right):


    Screenshot from Unity3d 5.5.1p3:


    and another screenshot from 5.5.1p3:


    Looks like a bug with render queue:


     
    laurentlavigne and MrEsquire like this.
  8. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Hey, we have a backport for this in 5.5.1p4 which comes out this week.
     
    kniewolewski likes this.
  9. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Hi! You should've received a message back from the report, did you try out the solution provided?

    Simply change the render queue: - select Object Material - change view to Debug Mode (Inspector Window top right drop down menu) - change Custom Render Queue value for example 3000 => 2450 - now your object will be masked the same.
     
  10. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
  11. BUDU_KRATOK

    BUDU_KRATOK

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Posts:
    30
    Hi! Yes, I received a message, but unfortunately, I can't just change render queue. This solution is temporal, of course, I can write some tweaks myself for fixing that behavior for now, but I hope this bug will be fixed in next version.

    According to https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/SL-SubShaderTags.html 2500+ "queues up to 2500 (“Geometry+500”) are consided “opaque” and optimize the drawing order of the objects for best performance.". The bug occurs for render queue <= 2500.
     
  12. Ravel

    Ravel

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Posts:
    605
    I just noticed that meshcolliders will offset the rigidbody to the mesh colliders pivot center. So if I want to place a gameobject, with a custom collider to a surface, it will have a height offset and will drop from height.
    I hope this gets fixed in 5.6!
     
  13. Talavaj

    Talavaj

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Am I the only one whose scene/play viewports try to run everything in a very laggy and choppy fashion regardless of whether the play button is pressed ?

    Also the viewport performance is horrid now yo.
    Very very choppy, disappointing.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017
  14. Ogien

    Ogien

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    I just wanted to let everyone know that there seem to be some issues with multithreaded rendering in 5.5. It can cause random crashes on Samsung Devices such as the S3. Maybe it is related to this bug, not sure:

    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...th-trail-renderer-causes-application-to-crash

    Many of my users complained about immediate or random crashes right after they updated the game, probably cost me a few thousand $ before I figured it out. Suits me right for clicking that check box I guess.

    I have email confirmation from users that proves that my patch with disabled multithreaded rendering fixed the issue for them.
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  15. PygmyMonkey

    PygmyMonkey

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    305
    Hello!

    Quick question about the release notes.
    This one in particular:
    "Editor: Add support for the GZipStream class in the editor and standalone players. (569612)"

    What does that mean exactly?
    We already had access to System.IO.Compression.GZipStream right?
    I know System.IO.Compression.GZipStream didn't work for me on Windows, so I had to use https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/31902
    Does that mean that it is now fixed on Windows?

    Thanks!
     
  16. vakabaka

    vakabaka

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    1,154
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2017
    MrEsquire likes this.
  17. sharamun

    sharamun

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Greetings Folks,

    Upgraded from Unity 5.5.1f1 (64-bit) to Unity 5.5.2f1 (64-bit) on MS Windows 7 Pro SP1 today (personally I'd rather be running it on Debian Linux 8.7.1 (Jessie) but installing dependent libraries on that platform hasn't been worked out), attempted to open a project recently developed w/Unity 5.5.1f1 (64-bit), which appeared to convert without error but the Scene Object Hierarchy is completely gone, so the application is no longer functional.

    I reinstalled Unity 5.5.1f1 (64-bit) to Unity install folder: C:\Program Files\Unity-5.5.1 so that both versions can run, opened the converted project w/Unity 5.5.1f1 (64-bit) but the Scene Object Hierarchy was still completely gone, so had to restore from backup and continue to use Unity 5.5.1f1 (64-bit). My initial thought was that going from 5.5.1f1 (64-bit) to 5.5.2f1 (64-bit) would only be a maintenance release and therefore fairly transparent, but it appears not to be the case.

    As I've only been using Unity for a few months and as such not familiar with the project conversion procedure when upgrading Unity, therefore submitting this post for any pointers the community may have. I'd very much like to be using the latest version, so any guidance and/or suggestions to fix this issue are greatly appreciated.

    For some background, prior to starting project development, I considered a number of other development platforms and I found Unity to be the best choice. Very much impressed with its design, capabilities, multi-platform support and road map, much gratitude and kudos to all contributors, keep up the great work!

    Thanks very much for your consideration and support and any relevant information you can provide.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2017
  18. larku

    larku

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,421
    Have you tried deleting the Library (and Temp if it exists) folders BEFORE upgrading?

    I'd close Unity, restore to known working copy, delete Library and Temp folders and then attempt to open with the latest Unity and allow reimport of all assets.

    Not sure if this would help, but it's the first thing I'd try.

    If you're not using version control, it may be a GREAT time to start. After upgrading you should just inspect what changed (git / gitk will show you every change made by upgrading). This will give you some idea of what could be causing the issue.

    Oh, and if you're not using version control (eg git), it's time :)
     
  19. sharamun

    sharamun

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Larku:

    Thanks for the tips. Tried your suggestion but didn't work. Diffs on the directories showed only changes were to:
    <project-name>.csproj
    <project-name>.Editor.csproj
    changes only appear to be for Unity version, Debug/Trace constants.
    Searched in directory hierarchy and found ./Assets/<project-name>.unity which appears to contain definitions for Scene Object Hierarchy so maybe Unity-5.5.2f1 (64-bit) cannot parse it for whatever reason.

    That's it for now. Any other tips would be appreciated since it would be a major pain to have to rebuild the entire Scene Object Hierarchy from scratch.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2017
  20. vakabaka

    vakabaka

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    1,154
    try export project as unity package and then import in 5.5.2
     
  21. sharamun

    sharamun

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    ...well, believe it or not, I restored the project again from backup w/no changes, then opened the project w/Unity-5.5.2f1 and the Scene Object Hierarchy successfully loaded so I'm good to go. I have no idea what got it to work, but thanks for the tips folks. I'll let you know if it happens again.
     
  22. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,318
    Did you actually load the scene? Opening a project does not necessarily open a scene.

    --Eric
     
    Tzan and larku like this.
  23. PixelEnvision

    PixelEnvision

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Posts:
    505
    There seems to be a problem with Social.localUser.Authenticate with 5.5.x (produced with 5.5.1f1, 5.5.1p4, 5.5.2f1)

    Game actually logs in (GC banner shown) every time but Social.localUser.Authenticate returns false on most of the runs but not always. (approximately 9 out of 10)

    Bug report submitted as (Case 884931)
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  24. Tzan

    Tzan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    That tripped me up more than once, how embarrassing :)
     
  25. PsyKaw

    PsyKaw

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Got a crash when entering in "Deep Profile" mode with 5.5.2.p2 :(, somebody else or is it my project ?
     
  26. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Hmm, we shipped a fix for this issue in 5.5.2p2, so it should not be occurring if you're on that version. Let me check with the devs to see if we can do some further testing.

    Edit: after testing, we can't reproduce it using this version of Unity. There may be something else causing Unity to crash in your case, so could you submit a bug report which includes a project folder? You can find our repro wizard package and instructions here. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  27. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Our devs are working on this issue, and you can follow it on Issue Tracker here.
     
  28. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    It should work in the Window and OSX editors, and in all of the standalone players.
     
  29. faraz

    faraz

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Just awesome!
     
  30. PygmyMonkey

    PygmyMonkey

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    305
    Thanks!
    I can confirm it now works on OSX and Windows :)
     
    SaraCecilia likes this.
  31. Justice0Juic3

    Justice0Juic3

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    186
    Edit: I've overlooked this release note. Just read it a minute ago. I'm sorry.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2017
  32. Dennis_eA

    Dennis_eA

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    255
    Will 5.5.3 available today or on a later date? Thanks in advance!
     
  33. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    110
    Hi Dennis, I don't know about 5.5.3 but according to the Unity roadmap even Unity 5.6 will become available really soon. Target March 2017.
     
    Dennis_eA likes this.
  34. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,046
    Unity 5.6 was scheduled for release today. Waiting... waiting...
     
    elettrozero and yuliyF like this.
  35. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Damn, I can't wait too!
     
  36. larku

    larku

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,421
    What's so awesome about 5.6? I've not been following and you're getting me excited now and I don't even know why!!!! :)
     
    MrEsquire and theolagendijk like this.
  37. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Lots and lots of goods :) but when are they pushing the button??
     
  38. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    HANG TIGHT!
     
    Schusy likes this.
  39. Jacob_Unity

    Jacob_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    187
  40. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    This week end is going to be as funny as a second christmas, and I'm a kid impatience to open the new toy :D
     
  41. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Wait what?? 5.5.3??
     
    SupergonkDom likes this.
  42. CuriousV

    CuriousV

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    5.5.3 released... isn't 5.6 supposed to be released today...
     
    vakabaka likes this.
  43. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Yep.....hope they are going to release 5.6 alongside 5.3
     
  44. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    ... alongside 5.5.3! ;)
     
  45. Ericks89

    Ericks89

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    39
    I swear I've read 5.6 was supposed to be released by the end of March, well... it's the end of March and no 5.6 :(
     
  46. Dennis_eA

    Dennis_eA

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    255
    I am happy with 5.5.3! Thanks! 8)
     
  47. Dennis_eA

    Dennis_eA

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    255
    it. is. there.

    can. not. decide.. brrr
     
  48. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    The day is not finished yet. At least here it's 5:19 pm.
     
  49. Ericks89

    Ericks89

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    39
    Currently 10:23 AM here, today will be a long one...
     
  50. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh!!! It's there!!!!
     
    SupergonkDom and Ericks89 like this.
unityunity