Search Unity

  1. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

5.5 released

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by SaraCecilia, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,167
    I don't know when they started incorporating VS but actually you can use any code editor, even Notepad ++. I use MonoDeveop but I'm ready to give a try at VS Code as long as it doesn't install dozen and dozen of stuff in my computer (as Visual Studio Community 2015 does).

    Any examples, comparative screen captures available? :)
     
  2. The-Britain

    The-Britain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    714
    From what I can tell VS Code was pretty light (for a M$ product), however, you should always be using a virtual machine to sandbox new software with and looking at what it changes anyhow. (or maybe I'm just paranoid)
     
    image28 likes this.
  3. unitydev99

    unitydev99

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    hello! what happen now with stable release? 5.3 still stable and will get more fix or 5.4 will be new stable release or both will be supported? thank you!!
     
  4. tanoshimi

    tanoshimi

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Posts:
    297
    Well, just the fact that you can attach the VS debugger to the Unity process without it blowing up is a start! Seriously, my experience of debugging under MonoDevelop pretty much ended up resorting to nothing more than Debug.Logging everything....
     
    Xepherys likes this.
  5. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,167
    Looks like this is stuff for specialists. MonoDevelop works fine for me; I'm not sure what a debugger is and if I need it.

    Add to this that you cannot choose the language (the display language, not the coding language) in VS Code and you must install the extensions you need; I'll stick to MonoDevelop. ;)
     
  6. The-Britain

    The-Britain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    714
    Debuggers are where game programmers spend most of their life. Personally, I build my debugging tools INTO my game, so I can see most of everything from the inspector. Rarely do I need to step through actual code. A testament to Unity.
     
  7. tanoshimi

    tanoshimi

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Posts:
    297
    Have you never wanted to step through a script one line at a time as your game runs to investigate a bug in your logic? Or pausing a method to inspect the value of every variable when a calculation seems wrong? What about checking if a certain condition is met in a hard-to-reach block of code?
    That's what the debugger is for... you really should learn to use it and it will massively increase your productivity (or do you seriously write perfect code first time every time?) ;)
     
  8. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,167
    Perfect code doesn't exist and will never exist. Okay for the debugger; how do I install one?
     
  9. The-Britain

    The-Britain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    714
  10. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,167
    Thanks. I tried debugging with MonoDevelop and the editor didn't crash. :)
     
  11. hitwicket

    hitwicket

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Extremely urgent.. Please HELP...

    Cannot build WebGL in 5.5..

    I can't build my game for WebGL on my laptop or my desktop. I keep getting this error and Il2cpp.exe stops working. Exception: C:\Program Files\Unity 5.5.0b11\Editor\Data\il2cpp/build/il2cpp.exe did not run properly! UnityEditorInternal.Runner.RunManagedProgram (System.String exe, System.String args, System.String workingDirectory, UnityEditor.Scripting.Compilers.CompilerOutputParserBase parser, System.Action`1 setupStartInfo) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/BuildUtils.cs:98) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder.ConvertPlayerDlltoCpp (ICollection`1 userAssemblies, System.String outputDirectory, System.String workingDirectory) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:250) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder.Run () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:113) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPUtils.RunIl2Cpp (System.String stagingAreaData, IIl2CppPlatformProvider platformProvider, System.Action`1 modifyOutputBeforeCompile, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry runtimeClassRegistry, Boolean developmentBuild) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:39) UnityEditor.WebGL.WebGlBuildPostprocessor.PostProcess (BuildPostProcessArgs args) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/WebGL/Extensions/Unity.WebGL.extensions/BuildPostprocessor.cs:560) UnityEditor.PostprocessBuildPlayer.Postprocess (BuildTarget target, System.String installPath, System.String companyName, System.String productName, Int32 width, Int32 height, System.String downloadWebplayerUrl, System.String manualDownloadWebplayerUrl, BuildOptions options, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry, UnityEditor.BuildReporting.BuildReport report) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/PostprocessBuildPlayer.cs:186) UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()

    Everything was perfect before updating to 5.5.0 from 5.4.2
     
    kenshin likes this.
  12. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Beta11? maybe you should try final version
     
    landon912 and tanoshimi like this.
  13. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,046
    Ah okay, so you still need the plugin and all that crap? I figured "Support for Visual Studio Code on macOS and Windows" meant that you guys were now fully integrating it. Oh well.
     
  14. Tzan

    Tzan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    I still dont see support for Vertex Colors on mesh verts working with the Standard Shader.

    A guy did make a version of the standard shader with it.
    But every time you have a new release you break it again and its months before he fixes it.

    https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/standard-shader-with-vertex-colors.316529/page-4#post-2788255

    Seriously its not that hard, he even gave you a head start.

    I tried fixing the last time it broke but I just get a stream of error messages.
    He fixed it, but now you broke it again.

    defaxer wont be around forever.

    Yes, I know, you’re going to ignore this because new features that nobody uses are more important.

    I liked the section in the blog "Better Tools for Artists"
    My artists would just like to put color on the screen with the standard shader, please.
     
  15. Coredumping

    Coredumping

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    47
    I've been using a standard shader with vertex coloring since 5.1 without issues. I just added a couple of lines to the default shader.
     
    tanoshimi likes this.
  16. PedroGV

    PedroGV

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Posts:
    415
    No urgent, but I'm experiencing some issues with assettimestamps, like this user did: https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/a...h-but-has-assettimestamp.432691/#post-2805886

    The GUIDs are exactly those three and it also happens even when I delete the Library folder and or reimport all assets again. This happens either with upgraded projects or newly created ones when there is at least one asset. If no assets are present, the problem disappears.
     
  17. Tzan

    Tzan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    But I dont know what lines to change.
    Like I mentioned I did try once but it didnt work out.

    Can you share what you did?
     
  18. Coredumping

    Coredumping

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    47
    Add the color variable to the input structure:
    Then you can use IN.color[0], IN.color[1], IN.color[2] to access the RGB values in the surface method.
    You could also convert it by writing
    This will allow you to use the typical "cc.rgb" syntax.

    EDIT: Nevermind, seems Unity was just acting up when I tested, you can just write IN.color.rgb as usual.
     
    ramand and Tzan like this.
  19. Tzan

    Tzan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    Thanks.
    I'm going to copy this over to the other thread, maybe it will help someone else.

    Edit: OK, I edited the other post with your edit :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2016
  20. kenshin

    kenshin

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Posts:
    930
    I have a similar webgl build error too... any idea?
     
    hitwicket likes this.
  21. Zloba

    Zloba

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    13
  22. creat327

    creat327

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,336
    wow... bloated piece of crap? Visual Studio is considered the best IDE made, ever, period. But just use whatever you want to, nobody is "making us download and install" anything. You can work with textedit, mono develop or anything you feel is not bloated crap.
     
    landon912 and hippocoder like this.
  23. hamdouch118

    hamdouch118

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    hello please help me
    i subscribe to unity3d plus and i used neteller master card as a methode of paying
    but my town stop neteller and now i can't charge my account
    so please show me how to make a bank transfer
     
  24. HenriqueGomez

    HenriqueGomez

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    69
    Guys, I'm getting this TLS Allocator as soon as I try to simulate any particle system.

    EDIT: It got fixed by creating a new project.

     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2016
  25. DalerHakimov

    DalerHakimov

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Posts:
    302
    Can not build for Android. Devise is Samsung s7. using everything default (not using il2cpp).
    Error Log:
     
  26. hitwicket

    hitwicket

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    It seems that the issue is because of the Facebook SDK.. We created empty project with other external libraries and no errors, but the one with facebook sdk is failing..

    Are you using Facebook SDK as well?
     
    penta_d likes this.
  27. xife

    xife

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    3
  28. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Hey! This is quite strange, not sure exactly what triggers it, it's in some Prefab code. It doesn't look like a definite particle system issue, but the particle system is the only thing that uses that type.

    Would you be able to send in a bug report with a repo project for us? That way we can figure out what's causing this error.
     
  29. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    This is being fixed right now by the team, so hang tight!
     
  30. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
  31. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Make it into 5.5patch1?
     
  32. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    994
    They'll both continue to get patches albeit at a slower pace.
    1. 5.5 patches - WEEKLY (one patch every week)
    2. 5.4 patches - FORTNIGHTLY (one patch every two weeks)
    3. 5.3 patches - MONTHLY (one patch every month)
    That is the plan for now.
     
  33. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    994
    Make a bug report that includes a repro project and ping the case number here and we'll take a look.
     
  34. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Hey! Please contact Support so they can help you out :)
     
  35. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Can't say for certain at the moment, unfortunately, but will keep following up with the team next week.
     
  36. hitwicket

    hitwicket

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Case number 857193

    Issue: Unity 5.5.0 F3 is giving error while trying to create build for WebGL in an empty project with just latest FB SDK in it..

    Please look into it on priority as I'm sure there are many games using FB SDK..

    The bug report contains a sample project from which you can recreate the issue..
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2016
  37. hamdouch118

    hamdouch118

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    how to contact support :)
     
  38. 00christian00

    00christian00

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Posts:
    946
    So guys, why did you just remove the line renderer and trail renderer sample project?!
    If you have an alternative fine but don't just remove something without a replacement....
     
  39. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    I think you have a different issue if you are seeing a black screen on game start. Could you send in a bug report with a repo project so we can investigate?
     
  40. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Write to support(at)unity3d.com and explain your situation.
     
  41. penta_d

    penta_d

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I have just removed all my plugins to test if fb sdk is the root cause... turns out it is.....
     
    image28 likes this.
  42. Zloba

    Zloba

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Hello, I sent a bug report (with test project) yesterday.
     
  43. Hodgson_SDAS

    Hodgson_SDAS

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Posts:
    123
    Porting any project from previous versions results in timestamps and assets maps getting out of sync.
    Seems to happen in any project I've ported from the HoloLens Technical Preview Editors and seems to always involves the same 3 guids:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Asset with GUID 67e9dad5654047ebbe623cce9dbf7b38 has empty path but has assettimestamp???
    2. Asset with GUID 52a206b72a8f4f749c28d8b18b42dd19 has empty path but has assettimestamp???
    3. Asset with GUID f48df919adea4fa095a7407e773e5aa4 has empty path but has assettimestamp???
    None of these projects I'm getting this warning in shares assets nor code.
    I've already tried deleting the Library, Temp folders, and all project .meta files but still returns.

    All 3 GUIDs seem to point to
    Code (CSharp):
    1. C:/Program Files/Unity/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/MetroSupport/Managed/UAP/UnityEngine.Networking.dll
    https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?857276_11uj3ccvpt3pibh0
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2016
    PedroGV likes this.
  44. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Ok, great! What is the report nr?
     
  45. Zloba

    Zloba

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    857052
     
    SaraCecilia likes this.
  46. Zloba

    Zloba

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    "Aperture Cutscene Editor" and any .NET4.x (dll version) assets no longer works. It's a bug or correct reality :(?
     
  47. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,529
    Wow, thank you for caring. I feel honoured! The thing is, these projects were never meant to live past the Beta cycle. They are pretty rough and keeping them alive would mean that we would also have to support and maintain them. There are going to be new projects for the next Betas, though (one featuring the new Video Player is in the pipeline). None the less, I've passed the feedback on.
     
  48. unitydev99

    unitydev99

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    thank you!! :))
     
  49. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,167
    The principle is still the same: do not install a patch if you haven't experienced the bug(s) they fix? What must we do if a patch fixes a bug we experienced and other bugs we didn't? :p
     
  50. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,046
    For as long as I can remember, I've been installing EVERY patch that comes out. It's never done me harm so far.
     
    image28 likes this.
unityunity