Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

5.3 released

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by SaraCecilia, Dec 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    2015-12-5dot3-blog.jpg


    Unity 5.3 is now released, so head over to the download page and grab it.

    In summary, 5.3 brings you:
    • New tools: A MonoDevelop upgrade, multi-scene editing, 2D tools and automated unit testing
    • Graphics optimizations, including a new OpenGL core, experimental support for Metal in OS X, and an upgraded particle system.
    • Coming soon: tvOS support
    • Improved platform support for WebGL and iOS 9
    • Integrated in-app purchase support
    • VR improvements and new VR learning samples
    ...and more, all of which you can read about in the blog post.

    Remember to back up your projects before downloading the latest version of Unity and check out the release notes.

    Thanks again to all the Pro users who helped with testing and giving us feedback on 5.3 while it was in beta!
     
  2. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    We also have our Cinematic Image Effects (pre-release) available on the Asset Store AND they're Open Source on bitbucket. You can discuss them in the dedicated forum here

    caf8812e-7294-4605-b6be-49400634cc33_scaled.jpg
     
    Kronnect, John3D, zenGarden and 7 others like this.
  3. Velo222

    Velo222

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Nice! I was hoping 5.3 would be released today on time. And it was :)
     
    John3D likes this.
  4. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    1,061
    Don't know where to post this, but my setup is getting stuck at:
    Execute: "C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\Temp\nszA342.tmp\UnityDocumentationSetup.exe"
    My brother is reporting the same issue.
     
  5. chingwa

    chingwa

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,671
    From the Changelog notes:
    Well Well Well.... I knew they would come around eventually :D :D :D
     
  6. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    What machine are you both on? And you're using the installer?
     
  7. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    1,061
    Win 10 x64
     
  8. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Doing a little digging for you
     
  9. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    I hear from devs that after a couple of tries it will sort itself.

    "Apparently, sometimes windows pops up a dialog "in background" (i.e. behind the installer window), where the user is supposed to click "ok" or something and because taskbar is grouping the windows in 1 button, it's impossible to see what's going on."

    if you can get any more info from this we'd love to have a repro, apparently it happened once before but it sorts itself out.
     
  10. CDDelta

    CDDelta

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Posts:
    136
    AWESOME!! I like the ability to exclude some of the platforms when installing Unity. I only installed the editor, documentation and visual studio tools, reduced the size to 1gb. Time to offload all my builds to the cloud. :):);)
     
    hopeful and Aurore like this.
  11. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    1,061
    Tried to move the window around and couldn't see any other windows. Killed the process since the cancel button was grayed out. Will try to install again and I'll report back.
    Thanks!
     
    Aurore likes this.
  12. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Awesome, thank you!
     
  13. veracious

    veracious

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    I'm getting a horrible performance on OS X El Capitan. Where it used to run @ 75 fps it's now @ 1.4 fps :/

    Any idea what's up? Maybe something to do with OpenGL 4.1? I'm using Apple's default graphics drivers for the OS.

    Switching to Windows in the mean time.
     
  14. eco_bach

    eco_bach

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,601
    Excited to try the latest support for WebGL but when I choose WebGL under BuildSettings I see No WebGL module loaded. Googled but nothing. What gives?
     
  15. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    8,154
    Well, did you install the webgl module?
     
  16. Gamrek

    Gamrek

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    148
    Where can I get the 32 & 64 bit editor installer for WIN?
     
  17. Xaron

    Xaron

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Posts:
    268
    I second that. Want that one huge installer file please. :)
     
  18. IntDev

    IntDev

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    "Unfortunately, <project_name> has stopped". This is the message I get when try to build for Android. My game open up and then crashes saying that.
     
  19. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    5,407
    What does the log file say?
     
  20. IntDev

    IntDev

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2015
  21. Mark-Currie

    Mark-Currie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    Aurore likes this.
  22. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Could you start a new thread with more information and run the profiler to see what's going on specifically. And please report a bug.

    Every deployment is now a separate option in the installer, make sure you check it on install.
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.
  23. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Mark is correct here they are.

     
  24. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    If anyone has bigger problems with 5.3 to do with your project or bugs, please create a separate thread for it, we can't cross the streams in here and give you proper help.

    Use this thread for installation, download issues and feedback.
     
    Radetic likes this.
  25. luispedrofonseca

    luispedrofonseca

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    876
    Is there a way to download the whole package without having to use the torrent? I want to save the installer for later in case I need it and don't have access to Internet.
     
  26. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Here http://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive

    the dropdowns have the options to download the editor without the need to an installer.
     
    luispedrofonseca likes this.
  27. MikeUpchat

    MikeUpchat

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,023
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2015
    MrEsquire likes this.
  28. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Can you please create a separate thread and report a bug for this and include your operating system, repro and example project. You can link to that thread in here so we can find it.
     
  29. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    1,061
    The second time the installation completed successfully!
    Thanks for the assistance, @Aurore !
     
    Aurore likes this.
  30. bigdaddio

    bigdaddio

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    219
    Animation window (the old school animation) doesn't work for me. I use it for simple things like flicking lights. However as of today it doesn't work. It even has difficulty creating a new clip. The clips will not play.
     
    JamesArndt likes this.
  31. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    Awesome! Glad it worked fine, although this still seems to be a very elusive issue.

    We need more information than this, please create a new thread with the steps you are taking.
     
  32. MHD Salka

    MHD Salka

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    I remember retina/High PDI support for the editor was supposed to be with this release, seems I'm wrong. Can we please have an update on that? If it's not 100% ready yet, can we at least beta test it for the people who are really dependent on it (Pixel accurate UI design in the Game/Scene view windows)?

    Edit: even the standalone player on the Mac doesn't seem to detect retina resolution with this release : (
     
  33. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    It was going to be in 5.3 but we had to push it as it was not ready, we were very close but no cigar on this one. It's in 5.4 now (I think, I can't access the roadmap atm for some reason, which I'm getting fixed as we speak) http://unity3d.com/unity/roadmap
     
  34. Barry100

    Barry100

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    194
    how Pointer on buttons works is totally different now.. going to have to either stick with 5.2.2 or going to have to rewrite a shed load of code.. why does this happen every new release!?
     
    Lloyd_RedironLabs likes this.
  35. MHD Salka

    MHD Salka

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks for the update! Any chance the beta release of 5.4 being available for beta testing soon? March 2016 seems too far now :/
     
  36. superpig

    superpig

    Drink more water! Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,483
    Define 'soon' - March 2016 is only 3 months away, after all :)

    (5.4 beta will probably be available for Professional users sometime in January).
     
  37. MinhDao

    MinhDao

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Posts:
    155
    Why can't I get new Unity splash screen on android build? Current unity splash screen on android build look not professional. It's just an image in center of screen with black border
     
  38. mutle_

    mutle_

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Really happy about the improved Oculus integration and samples. However, I can't dismiss the Oculus Warning dialog when running in the Editor (Mac, 0.5 SDK, DK2). Key presses don't seem to get detected by that dialog. Any suggestions?
     
  39. IntDev

    IntDev

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    This bug happens when I use any Stripping Level. Works when disabled.
     
  40. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    5,407
    There are changes to the splashscreen coming, we are making it uniform across all platforms but this does mean changes to the current splashscreen.
     
    mh114 likes this.
  41. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,103
    karl_jones likes this.
  42. dhinksBA

    dhinksBA

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    This page does not provide a means to download the new "componentized" items, you simply get a bare bones Editor. And the Unity Download Assistant forces you to install everything instead of simply providing a download-only option. We also have issues with BitTorrent on our corporate network. Please provide an offline master installer with all of the components, like we had before. This is much easier when we have 20+ developer systems to update.
     
  43. Panzerhandschuh

    Panzerhandschuh

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    It looks like some of the Quaternion functions were changed in this update. Quaternion.eulerAngles gives me a euler rotation with a 345 degree angle instead of -15 degrees which I got in past versions of unity. This actually broke parts of my game but I was able to fix it by subtracting the angles by 360 if they were above 180 degrees.

    Also I am getting consistent editor crashes when my scripts reload while my game is still running. In previous versions I would just get a bunch of exceptions which, if I recall correctly, were related to static variables becoming null. I may submit a bug report for this when I get a chance.
     
  44. superpig

    superpig

    Drink more water! Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,483
    Quaternion.eulerAngles returning values less than zero in previous versions of Unity was actually a bug; in even more previous versions of Unity, it didn't do that, it behaved in the same way that it does now. Still, sorry for the trouble...

    Yes, please do - even if you can't attach your project, simply having the crash dump is still useful for us.
     
  45. MinhDao

    MinhDao

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Posts:
    155
  46. jldevoy

    jldevoy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    My GI test scenes fall apart under 5.3, realtime light blows the screen out to all white with giant splotches; Is there a new control in 5.3 or is there a problem?

    *Using linear colour space removes the blowout but still leaves ugly fringing around lighmap shadow areas.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2015
  47. Munchy2007

    Munchy2007

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,576
    Since upgrading to 5.3 Whenever I create a new c# script using the context menu in the project window it puts it into an Editor folder, it even creates the Editor folder first it it doesn't exist.

    Anyone else have the same issue?

    I'm using Windows 10.
     
  48. sebsmax

    sebsmax

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    In our project, the lighting is different between Unity 5.2.x and Unity 5.3 (Android)


     
  49. superpig

    superpig

    Drink more water! Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,483
    Are you sure you're selecting "C# Script" and not "Editor Test C# Script" ?
     
  50. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    8,154
    Does it actually look worse though? From that image it just looks a bit different.

    There have been some changes in 5.3 and gamma space (which I'm assuming your game uses), mostly bug fixes. Things should be *better* in general.
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity