Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[5.3] Elements in the UI flicker between different sprites

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by ccontinisio, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. Zimbres

    Zimbres

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    108
    Fixed here as well. My very thanks!
     
  2. mogwhy

    mogwhy

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    congrats!! and thank you. :) 80 hour bughunt is rough. respect!
     
  3. Lee7

    Lee7

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    136
    I have the Image and Text flickering corruption in my UI on patch 5.3.2f1

    EDIT: Did not know about "p" patches needing to be manually downloaded. Upgraded to 5.3.2p4. If you dont hear back from me, that means its fixed :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  4. Cromfeli

    Cromfeli

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Posts:
    197
    I just tried upgrading to 5.3.2p4 from 5.3.2p2 and the UI started to swap the textures in editor. Wont upgrade until it is solid. Would have really needed the upgrade for the OnAudioFilterRead fix :(

    Edit: Not appearing after reboot.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2016
  5. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Do you have a project that shows this? I can not recreate the issue. The original flickering texture issue is fixed, it was caused by us setting the shader properties in a non-threadsafe way. If you have this issue in 5.3.2p4 then something else is going on and we need a bug report.
     
  6. Cromfeli

    Cromfeli

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Posts:
    197
    Started to make repro and before booted my computer and I can not reproduce it anymore. Seems it was some temporary anomality. Apologies!
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  7. sara_conagher

    sara_conagher

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    I had a really strange problem. The game I'm making in the Unity Editor had a strange glitch - whenever I looked left all my UI elements (I'm using only Images) were going insane changing their positions randomly, switching sprites etc.. As here was suggested I've installed new updates for Unity (right now I'm using 5.3.3p1 Personal) but it didn't help me. Apparently the thing that caused my problem was the water model I've used - WaterProNighttime, it was on the left from my player, but it wasn't showing in the camera's view because it was a little bit far away from the player and behind other models. In my case almost all of the water models from standard assets infected my UI - only WaterBasicDaytime and WaterBasicNightime seems to work fine for me. Why is this happening? I know that many other people had similar problems with UI elements in various contexts. Is there a solution? Did anyone else connected this problem to a certain version of the water model?
     
  8. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Have you filed a bug report about this?
     
  9. phil-Unity

    phil-Unity

    Unity UI Lead Developer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    1,173
    Also are you on ma by chance? There is currently a known issue on mac when OpenGLCore is used. If you switch to OpenGL2 it might resolve the issue.
     
    Cromfeli likes this.
  10. sara_conagher

    sara_conagher

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    No, I haven't. Just discovered it. Should I report it officially? (the existence of this thread made me think that if this was a bug, it was already reported)

    No, I'm working on Win 8.1.
     
  11. Cromfeli

    Cromfeli

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Posts:
    197
    I now upgraded to latest version 5.3.3p1 and it destroys rendering on Android and Mac with Vertex Lit. For Mac the disable of OpenGL Core fixed the glitch bug, but what a shock to see the Android / Mac builds being destroyed :(
     
  12. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Please do file bug reports if you encounter issues. Don't assume someone else has already done it ;)
     
  13. NIMBLE_JIM

    NIMBLE_JIM

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Just updated to 5.3.3 and all my flickering UI woes are over - thanks very much for the fix!
     
  14. SimDevs

    SimDevs

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    MrEsquire likes this.
  15. hidingspot

    hidingspot

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    72
    I can confirm the issue, 5.3.3p2 is has regressed back to UI flickering on my mac.
     
  16. SimDevs

    SimDevs

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    Switched back to 5.3.2.p1 as it's the only version that works great :/
    Hope they will fix it someday!
     
  17. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    The mac flickering issue will be fixed in this weeks patch.
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  18. AlteredPlanet

    AlteredPlanet

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Posts:
    455
    Hello,

    just ran into the flickering issue as well latest patch and on windows build , in editor it works fine
     
  19. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,970
    I've noticed flickering in the editor in 5.3.3f1.
     
  20. asperatology

    asperatology

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    Can you all give bug report case numbers? Or better yet, make a GIF to show what's the current flicking issue looks like.
     
  21. AlteredPlanet

    AlteredPlanet

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Posts:
    455
    m

    So, I figured out the issue was something else,sorry about that
     
  22. AlteredPlanet

    AlteredPlanet

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Posts:
    455
  23. x70x

    x70x

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    Well, the flicker issue is still present in 5.3.3f1, but only in the editor. I made a build this morning and there is no UI flickering. I think it's still worth investigating though so that the in-editor problem can be resolved. Here is my bug report https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?766313_14dn4ctqsi8fh22q
     
  24. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    What platform are you using? There is a bug with OpenGL that causes the flicker. A fix is on the way
     
  25. SVC-Games

    SVC-Games

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Posts:
    114
    Using 5.3.3f1. I have an animated sprite. If I load the scene and run the game, the first frame a sprite appears it won't show on the Game view. It appears ok in editor.

    Example: Imagine a simple animation made of 4 sprites. Each sprite is shown for 3 frames and the animation loops after the 4th. Well, the first time I play that animation the first frame of each sprite won't show on the Game view. When the animation loops it shows perfectly.

    It happens only the first time a sprite is shown. If I stop the game and restart the same scene it works ok. If I load another scene and reload the one with the animation the problem arises.

    EDIT: Just created an exe of the game. It doesn't happen there, is it just in the Game view but not Scene view or the actual stand-alone game
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2016
  26. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Sounds like you are using the 2D system, the UI and 2D systems are different internally so its unlikely to be related to the UI flickering bug. Can you try the latest patch, if the issue still happens file a bug report with a sample project so we can take a look.
     
  27. Cripple

    Cripple

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    90
    Hey,

    I have made a small repro project that shows a flickering issue within the Editor. (Unity 5.3.4f1 on Windows)

    It happens when an UI Canvas is set to CameraSpace, and that camera renders that into a RenderTexture. Whenever the UI needs to be rebuild, Image swap their Sprites for a frame.

    It doesn't seem to happen within a Player, but I might be wrong because this scene is really simple.

    I have submitted a Bug report : https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?780185_m5j8bpjspb5j3jnv
     
  28. x70x

    x70x

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    This is the exact problem I am having. Seems to only be happening in CameraSpace and I am using Windows.
     
  29. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
  30. DGart.work

    DGart.work

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Posts:
    199
    apparently disabling multithreaded rendering solves the problem
     
  31. Kappe

    Kappe

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I still have the issue in 5.3.4f1. But I was able to get rid of it by using Edit > Graphic Emulation > No Emulation.
     
  32. rootools

    rootools

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    12
  33. Cripple

    Cripple

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    90
    Did you find a fix for this ? This issue has been there for quite a while.
     
  34. rootools

    rootools

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    In my case this is some strangy limits on GameObject limits(or like this) in one canvas branch. I am already send repro project in support. They confirmed problem.
     
  35. JasonAtUnity

    JasonAtUnity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    What do you set 'Graphic Emulation' Before?Few machines of my team encounter this problem when the other doesn't. I want to repro this problem stably.
     
  36. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    I just fixed this. Its an issue with the sorting grid and inactive components. There is no workaround but a fix should be out in the next few weeks.
    For people who are having flickering/crashing issues one possible workaround is to change the sortingGridNormalizedSize to a larger value(default 0.1).
     
    JasonAtUnity likes this.
  37. xjqxzyr

    xjqxzyr

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    No,I don't think so.In my project,I did not use grid or someting related to sorting.The flick exist on a InputFiled component and a button where appeared on an android device but not any emulator !Version 5.3.2p2
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2016
  38. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    The
    The grid is used for all UI components. Not to be confused with grid layout.
     
  39. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Try 5.3.2p4 or later. These have the fix for the original flickering issue.
     
    ainaruth likes this.
  40. xjqxzyr

    xjqxzyr

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Ok,Thank you very much! I tried the 5.3.4 p4 ,The problem has been solved!
     
    ainaruth and karl_jones like this.
  41. cr4y

    cr4y

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    41
    Unfortunately it seems there is regression here.

    5.2.4f1: Works
    5.3.2p4: Works
    5.3.4f1: Flickers
    5.3.4p4: Flickers
    5.3.4p6: Flickers
    5.3.5f1: Flickers


    We were also testing on beta branch with same result week ago.
     
  42. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Hi.
    There are many things that can cause flickering. The original issue was due to threading which we fixed in 5.3.4p4. There is another issue with how we generate the sorting grid which has an incoming fix however it could be something else. The best thing to do is submit a bug report with a project that shows the issue so we can determine what is causing your flickering.
     
  43. igrir

    igrir

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    It seems an active issue.I had an issue with flickering and scaling on 5.3.0. When the user has bigger monito, the canvas would stretched out. Fortunately it looks great on 5.3.5f1. No flickering and scaling issue anymore! I think we should migrate to 5.3.5 soon
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2016
  44. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Great. We have an upcoming fix in 5.3.5p2 that also fixes some flickering issues.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2016
    JasonAtUnity likes this.
  45. Zihaben

    Zihaben

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Had terrible flickering on Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 Lite with Unity 5.3.2, installing 5.3.5p1 solved the problem.
     
  46. JasonAtUnity

    JasonAtUnity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Unity5.3.5p3 fixes two terrible flickering issues of my project, one occurs in scrollview with RectMask2D, when the other occurs in some android devices, thanks.
     
  47. neeksdk

    neeksdk

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Unity 5.3.5f1, UI text flickering only on mobile devices (iOS, Android). Report a bug with flickering example of date picker (case 812295). Can this be fixed?
     
  48. otyx

    otyx

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Is it possible this has reappeared with 5.6.1f1 (Mac)? I have a scrollrect and the masked content pane scrolls fine in the editor but flickers terribly on iPhone 6S. I have tried using the rectmask2d but it does not help. Still debugging the problem in case it is something at my end...

    (apologies for the necroposting)
     
  49. VREpixcs

    VREpixcs

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hi.

    It seems like the flickering issue originally described (with texture atlases swapped rapidly) is still present in WebGL builds (tested with 2017.2.0f3 and 2017.2.0p4), in fullscreen only, as in the attached file flickering01.gif:

    flickering01.gif

    It really seems linked to sprites textures in 'multiple' sprite mode. The black background texture used on the top right for the 'VMG' was in 'multiple' sprite mode, and switching to 'single' mode fixed the problem for the whole screen.
    BTW you can clearly see a font texture displaying instead of the icon of the blue button.

    The issue remains elsewhere, and this time the trick wont work as it involves a font texture, imported via a .otf file, as in the attached file flickering02.gif:

    flickering02.gif


    Any idea?

    PS: sorry for the quality of the gifs...
     
  50. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,186
    Flickering can be a result of many different issues. Its hard to say what yours is. Can you file a bug report?
     
unityunity