Search Unity

5.3.2p4 and now 5.3.3f1 are unusable

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by artysta, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    The GUI layers glitch so bad I can't use these updates. This mess is suppose to the a TEXT object in a Canvas. It glitches almost animated and then will pop back on its own. Playing the scene will snap it back, but then will go right back to glitches. Im back on 5.3.2p3

     
  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    Have you filed a bug report? Is this only affecting text or all UI components?
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  3. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    381
    No bug report yet but I can also confirm that 5.3.3f1 (like the rest of the 5.3.x series) has flickering UI textures (both fonts and other graphics) and flickering line renderers on OSX, along with other more general performance decreases. The last stable release for us is 5.2.4f1.
     
  4. KB73

    KB73

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    185
    5.3.2p1 was fine for me. 5.3.3f1 has glitching UI + other visual glitches later in our game.

    Is it related to this fix in p3?
    • (none) - Graphics: Reduced framerate spikes where culling system could sometimes stall for several ms while waiting for jobs.
    On OSX 10.11.3, iOS mode in editor.
     
  5. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Yes I have a Case # -
    Case 773377
    It happens to ALL GUI objects, with TEXT, they glitch out, with IMAGES, they randomly pick another image and also glitch out, also when they are animated, which mine are, they wildly flicker all over the screen. This is in both the EDITOR and the GAME WINDOW. Also different objects will glitch at different time, but when animating, the whole screen goes crazy. I just tried re-importing my project and let it rebuild everything. No Go. Its not usable. For me the last stable version for my project is 5.3.2p3
     
  6. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Sorry, yes it does, I added my reply to the bottom. Case 773377
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  7. stylophone

    stylophone

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Having exactly the same problem with 5.3.2p4, upgraded from 5.3.2p2 btw
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2016
  8. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    Can someone share a project that has the issue in 5.3.2p4? I have not been able to recreate it. Submit a bug report with the project and post the number here and I will take a look.
     
  9. stylophone

    stylophone

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Case number #773684. It's a project has the issue created with 5.3.3f1. 5.3.2p4 should has the same effect.
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  10. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    Thanks. It does not seem to recreate on Windows. I have asked QA to look at it, could be something specific to Mac.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2016
    holliebuckets likes this.
  11. mStep

    mStep

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    33
    Happening to me on OS X as well. Flickering UI is driving me insane.
     
  12. Spacew00t

    Spacew00t

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    Yeah, I'm having this problem as well, it's pretty headache inducing.

    Edit:

    Forgot to mention, I'm on OS X v10.11.3, Unity 5.3.3f1. My Graphics are NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB. Let me know if you need any other information.
     
  13. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    The issue has been confirmed as an OSX issue. The UI team are now aware and looking into it.
     
    KB73, zombiegorilla and holliebuckets like this.
  14. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    381
    Karl, probably unrelated to the Unity UI issue but the standard line renderer has been flickering for us on OS X for the whole 5.3.x series as well. We have not filed a bug+repo but can do if one has not been submitted already.

    Without starting another 5.3 quality and QA thread, I'll just quietly say that it has been a bit frustrating how an issue like the UI texture flickering has existed for pretty much the whole 5.3.x release series so far. There have been several bug reports that I've seen that mention the issue, it was 'fixed' and noted in release notes in some 5.3.x patch and main releases, but the flickering UI issue remains on OS X. If there's a magic tickbox somewhere for 'please test OS X stuff a bit more' then please +1 it from me :)
     
    artysta and mStep like this.
  15. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    I'm not aware of any issues with the line renderer flickering. Could you file a bug report please.
     
  16. zombiegorilla

    zombiegorilla

    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    7,853
    There must be some other contributing factor to the flickering issue or certain combination of elements that causes it. I (and most of my team) use 5.3 on OS X / iOS and haven't encountered this issue. But I am very curious what is causing it. Should we encounter it, it'll be nice to have a solution.
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  17. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    381
    hi Karl - yep, sure. I'll file one later and quote the case here.
    Update: Bug Report + repo: Case #774093 Trail Renderer flickering in all Unity 5.3.x releases.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2016
  18. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    7,691
  19. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
  20. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    381
  21. fishg

    fishg

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Posts:
    90
    Also have a big problem that crash on UI::CanvasRenderer::SyncDirtyElements -> Unity::GameObject::IsActive()
     
  22. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    The UI team think they have fixed this issue in next weeks patch(5.3.3p1). If it still happens then please file a bug report.
     
  23. fishg

    fishg

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Posts:
    90
    Oh, 5.3.3p1 is out today,but not fixed.Maybe next weeks 5.3.3p2?
     
  24. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    Yes wait till next week. If it is not fixed file a bug report with a project that shows the issue please.
     
  25. fishg

    fishg

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Posts:
    90
    Ok.
     
  26. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Here's is what Im seeing when I run the GUI animation (simple intro scene) The real GUI in the game does the same thing over the 3D game scene.

     
  27. Gametyme

    Gametyme

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    557
    I was having the same issue on osx ios with 5.3.2p4. Went back to p3 and the issue is gone. Downloaded but haven't tried 5.3.3.
     
  28. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,506
    Looks like we have found the problem. The fix is on the way to the next patch.
     
    holliebuckets and KB73 like this.
  29. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    381
    Great - thanks again for the followup, Karl. Hopefully the UI flickering gets fixed on OS X too so we can try 5.3 before 5.4 comes out :)
     
  30. Bradamante

    Bradamante

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Posts:
    293
    Flickering on Mac OS X reminds me of this problem I had.

    Have you guys compared OpenGL 2 vs Core vs Metal?
     
  31. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    It doesn't matter on my end what the preferences are set to, and its completely in the Editor/Game Windows, and not carried to the Devices with a build. At least in my few tests. But it makes editing your GUI layers almost impossible because every time you move a object all the objects in the editor wig out. I await the next patch, it sounds like they found the issue. Meantime Im back on 5.3.2p3 which works for me.
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  32. coshea

    coshea

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Posts:
    253
  33. Lionious

    Lionious

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    i still have problem with that Case 769758 , been w8ting from 5.3.2p2 to 5.3.3 and still not fixed notice developer say they will look about it since month and not single fix yet.
     
  34. Lionious

    Lionious

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    that video show the bug with selection . as you can see i can't select objects when water is on .
     
  35. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,401
    I just went from Unity 5.3.2p2 to Unity 5.3.3p1

    So never tried the patches inbetween, but now I've getting the exact same issue of gui screwups in windows build... even a earlier reported issue which I had worked around has popped up with a new issue.. like not even loading up its image now (bottom right corner)...



    Everything about the Unity gui pisses me off, poor layout methods for something which should really be better. And then the bugs..

    Positioning a Rect Transform for layout...
    Pos X ...input: 0 ... get: 3.051758e-05 ..umm ok

    Weirdest issue was when I had upgraded project to 5.3.3p1 the viewport camera had become messed up, rotating around objects was causing the camera to tilt which it never does normally.... (might have been caused by ruler2d asset which had bunch of errors and I removed it wasn't that good anyway.. so camera issue is fixed, but the rest isn't)
     
  36. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Well I have done some research and found something that actually works. My iMac has an NVIDIA GTX 780M 4096MB Video system
    Running in OpenGL4.1 seems to have issues with 5.3.3 (and 5.3.2p4)
    If I open Unity normally, the header text in the Unity Window states that it is running <OpenGL 4.1>.
    If I run /Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/MacOS/Unity -force-opengl from the Command Line, the Unity Window states that it is running <OpenGL 2.1 (deprecated)> Now the flashes and glitches have gone away, at least in the last 20 min of testing. At least for me the error seems to be in the OpenGL prefs and my video system.
     
  37. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Side Note, when I forced OpenGL to 4.0 or 3.3 it still glitches, only going back to 2.1 did it clear up
     
  38. Gametyme

    Gametyme

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    557
    Osx is having problems with gl core.
     
  39. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,401
    hmm was hoping to see a patch this week to fix this issue.. but still no weekly patch out?
     
    slumtrimpet likes this.
  40. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    == UPDATE ==
    I checked in with the UI team just now. Patch is scheduled for next Wednesday.

    ccing @karl.jones just so we are all on the same page ^_^
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  41. lastlevel

    lastlevel

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Yeah. Can't select objects in any scene that has Unity Water in it anymore. Problematic as we use it in all our scenes.
     
  42. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    5.3.3p2 didn't solve my UI glitches, so Im back to force loading OpenGL to 2.1 to be able to edit and play with GUI. From the above message from holliebuckets, it looks like maybe a patch for this issue next week.
     
  43. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    Yep, this isn't the correct patch. See above/below :)
     
    StefanoCecere and KB73 like this.
  44. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,401
    damn next wednesday... this weeks patch does seem to have some minor improvement for builds.. the text actually shows up in the ui ... and the button backgrounds aswel.... just not all used images used do.. ie it still look messed up
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  45. coshea

    coshea

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Posts:
    253
  46. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    @coshea I'll respond on the other thread :)
     
  47. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
  48. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    I've been running it for about 30 minutes so far in OpenGL4.1 mode, and so far so good. My text blinks out to black randomly but then comes back on when I touch anything, so a little scary but nothing lost, but Im moving forward. I did have one strange issue where I was editing in Mono and my scripts wouldn't update in the Editor with my new Public objects, I had to quit Unity and reload for them to appear own the side panel. But happened only once and wasn't a crash to send report, it was almost like my saved script in Mono wasn't being updated back to Unity when I saved it and only when I reloaded Unity did it see I updated a script. Thats a new one for me.
     
    holliebuckets likes this.
  49. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    Long exhale. I'll keep an eye here just to confirm with everyone else. Thank you so much, folks, for your patience and for working with me to collect bugs and feedback. I really appreciate it.

    I've had more MonoDevelop disconnecting issues lately too. Not 100% sure if its us or them, but I'm taking notes. It's oddly reassuring I'm not the only one lol but deleting all the Mono project files is a pain.

    and super super thanks to @karl.jones for all the grunt work <3!!
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  50. artysta

    artysta

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Great way of putting it, thats what Im seeing, my editing sessions in Mono get disconnected. I was doing reboots, you mention deleting the project files, what are you doing when you do that? Does it help?