Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

3ds Max CAT avatar transform misalign error

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Xhitman, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. Xhitman

    Xhitman

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    258
    First, the model have no error when export to Unity, everything work fine. But If I do something in 3ds Max, there will be error in Unity about the transform misalginment on avatar.

    In 3ds Max,
    1. Export the CAT with animation to FBX file A.
    2. Save the CAT in the standard rig file
    3. Create a new CAT by loading the save file in step 2.
    4. Import the animation to the CAT in step 3.
    5. Export the CAT to FBX file B.

    In Unity,
    1. Import FBX A, (no error)
    2. Import FBX B, (no error)
    3. Set FBX B avatar as a copy from FBX A.
    4. Now, you can see the error on FBX B.

    But the CAT are same in 3ds Max, how come the error?
     
  2. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,781
    Are both rigs exported in T pose?
    Try to emforce T pose on both models in Unity. After enforcing T pose save avatar from A then enforce T pose on B and apply avatar to B. See if that helps.

    How bad are the errors? Rig Mismatches might not matter much if they are minor - once animations are applied.
     
  3. Xhitman

    Xhitman

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    258
    They are not human, so i cannot use T-Pose setting, and I already made many animation clip, I really don't want to adjust them one by one.

    My current solution is to not use the rig save in 3ds Max. The save is not 100% same as the original rig, and the problem show up in FBX.