Search Unity

3DS CAT Animation root motion (applied twice)

Discussion in 'Animation' started by fjhamming_CleVR, Jul 23, 2015.

1. fjhamming_CleVR

fjhamming_CleVR

Hi,

I've created a walking cycle in CAT using a cat motion layer. And I've configured an additional bone that is the root motion for the character. However the root motion is applied correctly, the character also moves the same amount forward again (moving twice as fast as a result).

Does anyone have an idea of how to use CAT animation (motion) in combination with root motion? An approach that has acceptable results for me is to create a separate root motion dummy that is not linked to the root motion. Animate the dummy over time to follow the original root motion and then check the walk in place function on the cat motion layer before I export. But this beats the advantage of root motion animation and interaction with other objects.

By the way i'm quite new with cat animation.

IgorAherne likes this.
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Sounds like you animated the root - then parented the root to a null and animated the new root .
    If so - don't do that.
    If not - remove the root motion from the original root then animate the new root and export. That should work. If you are still getting multiplied locomotion in Unity something is setup incorrectly in Unity.

Might want to also do a text export out of Max then back into Max to see if it works properly before putting it into Unity. If it works properly in Max then there is something in Unity setup incorrectly.
    If the multiplying effect is still on the character, the problem still lies in the rig.

There should not be any transformation keys on the original root - that is now not the root.

3. IgorAherne

IgorAherne

Thank you for answer,
    But, I though we must keyframe the root, otherwise there will be no root motion?

I have the same issue and bashing my head for several days already

Last edited: Apr 26, 2017
  4. IgorAherne

IgorAherne