Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

3DForge Exteriors

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by S4G4N, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Whippets

    Whippets

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,775
    The character controller may see a scale of 1 as being 2m high. Check character against a known cube of 1x1x1, just to be sure
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  2. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,687
    I think the response here was not about spawning, but more about character controller setup. If there is still an issue let me know.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  3. overburn404

    overburn404

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23
    In the editor, the character controller size matches a box of the same size, but when I press play, it seems it is not touching the ground. Tried lowering the size but anything under 1.5 or so stays the same.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  4. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Sounds then like a setting to me on the character controller
     
  5. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
    Have you got the Y offset correct for the size of your character?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  6. overburn404

    overburn404

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23
    Hmm, where can I find this Y offset?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  7. Whippets

    Whippets

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,775
    Can you post a runtime screenshot that includes the Scene View with the character and it's collider(s) as well as the Inspector showing the CharacterController?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  8. overburn404

    overburn404

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23
    Alright , I've managed to move the Y center of the Player down and it seems to be working. Thanks for the help guys! I still find it odd however that the grass is ~1m tall, but that's a whole different issue.

    By the way, does this package have any functionality for baking buildings in a single mesh, or could someone recommend a package that does? As I'm nearing 90 prefab for a single building and this is not going to fly for a large city performance-wide I believe.
     
  9. Whippets

    Whippets

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,775
    Terrain grass is always on the large side. If it was much smaller, you'd need far more instances to give the same feeling of cover. Grass is a resource hog; one of the worst fps eaters.

    There are a number of mesh combining assets on the store. I would definitely merge every exterior, and interiors by floor or room, depending upon how you use your buildings. I would probably recommend this mesh tool. Whilst I've not used it, I have used other asset by the same developer.
     
    TeagansDad and overburn404 like this.
  10. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    What would the perf gain be for merging since everything is pretty highly atlased atm? Isn most stuff batched anyways?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  11. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,828
    Unless I'm mistaken, batching is done in realtime so if a mesh is already merged then no batching is necessary and therefore saving the time it would take to batch it.
     
    TeagansDad and S4G4N like this.
  12. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    But you would loose the atlasing though?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  13. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,828
    Depends on the tool you use to merge them. Mesh Baker can merge meshes and also create atlases for you. If it already has atlases then they would remain. There are lots of merge tools and some work great and others not so good.
     
  14. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Thanx for the clarification : )
     
    S4G4N and magique like this.
  15. InvertedCat

    InvertedCat

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    22
  16. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Thanks for coming to share :)

    I LOVE the way you have made some cool covered outside areas that are attached to the houses.
    The cloth canopies from the one update really coming in handy
    The open forge area is great looking

    Please do share more screenshots when you have available

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
  17. InvertedCat

    InvertedCat

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    Alright here is another one: The Stonemason
    upload_2017-5-23_23-56-13.png


    Incorporating some castle walls (because the stonemason is rich and has too much stone bricks anyways) in the building. Basically I'm testing different ways to make the buildings not look the same way.
     
    TeagansDad and S4G4N like this.
  18. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Looks great! No outside "work area" for the stone mason? Or does he just work on the grass? : )
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  19. InvertedCat

    InvertedCat

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    There's gonna be a different terrain texture below buildings once we get our custom terrain system up and running. For now its just the default grass.
     
    TheSeawolf and S4G4N like this.
  20. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Ok : D
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  21. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Cool, like the addition of the Castle stone parts.
    With the Update when I added the crates, barrels and similar items I also added a selection of wooden Pallets that I think can be cool in this case as the storage kind of slot for stuff like these heavy stones.
    Assets\3DForge\FantasyExteriors\Village & Towns\Prefabs\Props\Crates
    Right at the end of the directory after all the crates.

    Again, thanks for showing ;)
     
    Whippets and TheSeawolf like this.
  22. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
    Rotate it 180 degrees. The central wooden post is meant to sit directly over the post below it
     
  23. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    If i turn it, things get even worse, i think i just messed up the interior walls, thats why : D
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  24. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hey @virror

    The reason nobody complained is because nothing is wrong ;)

    First, it is an Exteriors Kit, so when using it, make sure the outside upright match 100%


    The vertical planks on the actual tri has been made .200 thick
    That is to accommodate for the .100 for exterior actual wall and if you were going to use interiors to also cover that..
    The vertical main post would stick out a teeny weeny little bit. If I made it to be flush with the Tri planks, there would have been z-fighting


    I moved the one inside wall out a little just to show

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
  25. florianalexandru05

    florianalexandru05

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    1,142
    Nice exterior buildings. :)
     
    TheSeawolf and S4G4N like this.
  26. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Yeah, as i said i noticed that i messed up the interior walls : )

    But now i have another problem : D
    There are 2 types of frames, top and floor ones, and i assume the top ones are supposed to match with the roof? But they are not, this is a screen of what i mean.
    Right is "floor" and left is "top":

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/phkgn6tebq0llq3/shot_170526_224232.jpg

    The top one does not have the same angle as the "full frames", and that results in them poking through the roof. Am i doing something wrong again? : D
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2017
    S4G4N likes this.
  27. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hey there,

    Hi @virror ,

    You are right. The top most floor frame would have the name part "top" in it, with the left and right tops cropped at angles specifically to not protrude through the roof surface ;)

    All frames below, be it ground floor or other in between would have the name part "floor" in it and has a square cropped of ending so that it can match onto the bottom of the "top" frame part.


    Does this help ?

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
    BackwoodsGaming likes this.
  28. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    No : p The image i posted are on both top and floor frame, and while the floor frame is straight as it should be, the top frame does not have the correct angle. This is the small "part frame" pieces, not the full sizes ones
     
  29. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    would you mind posting the part name ?
     
  30. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    I was in bed before : p

    fi_vil_frame_join_0,5_topleft
    fi_vil_frame_join_0,5_topright
    fi_vil_frame_join_1,0_topleft
    fi_vil_frame_join_1,0_topright
    fi_vil_frame_join_5,0_topleft
    fi_vil_frame_join_5,0_topright

    Maybe im just missing something here, but the models seem strange as well, there is an angle on the post but that does not make much sense at all to me cause its on the wrong side...
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  31. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hi @virror

    I recall those being requested by a user that had special situations where he needed them.
    So, for normal building usage you can just ignore those 6 parts ;)

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
  32. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    But i need them for my buildings : D
    How do you make things like T or L shapes without them? Using the regular frames will result in Z-fighting cause you have double pillars?
    Those extra parts really adds to the flexibility, if just the top parts where cut correctly : )
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  33. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hi @virror

    Hang on, let me have a look at the included T & L shaped buildings ;)
    They all work, so there is obviously a way :)

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
  34. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hi @virror ,

    I had a look at some of the L-Shaped & T-Shaped buildings in the
    Assets\3DForge\FantasyExteriors\Village & Towns\Prefabs\Buildings\MedievalVillage
    directory and they use very different parts to obtain the relevant shaped buildings.

    If what you find when you have a look yourself and they are not 100% to your liking or you have some cool designs that you want to do and need some custom parts, then please pm me and I can look, sure it should not be a problem to hammer those out ;)

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
  35. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Ok, will have a look, thank you : )
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  36. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Trying to make the spiderwebs look good with lighting, but seems like no easy feat : /
    The default particle shader does not react to lighting at all, and the shaders that does are not double sided or not transparent. Anyone have any ideas? What would be needed i guess is some double sided transparent shader that also reacts to light. Always having the webs white kind of looks bad in dark environments : /

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/npoxv3cc9fn6zrn/shot_170528_184925.jpg
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  37. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
    Have you tried altering the colour on the shader and/or material for the webs?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  38. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    I tried pretty much all the built in shaders without luck. Finally found one on the forums that i modified slightly, here it is in case someone needs it:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Shader "Custom/Standard Two Sided Soft Blend" {
    2.     Properties {
    3.         _Color ("Color", Color) = (1,1,1,1)
    4.         [NoScaleOffset] _MainTex ("Albedo (RGB)", 2D) = "white" {}
    5.         _Glossiness ("Smoothness", Range(0,1)) = 0.5
    6.         [NoScaleOffset] _BumpMap("Normal Map", 2D) = "bump" {}
    7.         _Cutoff("Alpha Cutoff", Range(0.01,1)) = 0.5
    8.     }
    9.     SubShader {
    10.         Tags { "Queue"="AlphaTest" "IgnoreProjector"="True" "RenderType"="TransparentCutout" }
    11.         Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha
    12.         LOD 200
    13.         ZWrite Off
    14.         Cull Off
    15.         Pass {
    16.             ColorMask 0
    17.             ZWrite On
    18.             CGPROGRAM
    19.             #pragma vertex vert
    20.             #pragma fragment frag
    21.        
    22.             #include "UnityCG.cginc"
    23.             struct v2f {
    24.                 float4 vertex : SV_POSITION;
    25.                 float2 texcoord : TEXCOORD0;
    26.             };
    27.             sampler2D _MainTex;
    28.             fixed _Cutoff;
    29.             v2f vert (appdata_img v)
    30.             {
    31.                 v2f o;
    32.                 o.vertex = UnityObjectToClipPos(v.vertex);
    33.                 o.texcoord = v.texcoord;
    34.                 return o;
    35.             }
    36.             fixed4 frag (v2f i) : SV_Target
    37.             {
    38.                 fixed4 col = tex2D(_MainTex, i.texcoord);
    39.                 clip(col.a - _Cutoff);
    40.                 return 0;
    41.             }
    42.             ENDCG
    43.         }
    44.         Pass
    45.         {
    46.             Tags {"LightMode"="ShadowCaster"}
    47.             ZWrite On
    48.             Cull Off
    49.             CGPROGRAM
    50.             #pragma vertex vert
    51.             #pragma fragment frag
    52.             #pragma multi_compile_shadowcaster
    53.             #include "UnityCG.cginc"
    54.             struct v2f {
    55.                 V2F_SHADOW_CASTER;
    56.                 float2 texcoord : TEXCOORD1;
    57.             };
    58.             v2f vert(appdata_base v)
    59.             {
    60.                 v2f o;
    61.                 TRANSFER_SHADOW_CASTER_NORMALOFFSET(o)
    62.                 o.texcoord = v.texcoord;
    63.                 return o;
    64.             }
    65.        
    66.             sampler2D _MainTex;
    67.             fixed _Cutoff;
    68.             float4 frag(v2f i) : SV_Target
    69.             {
    70.                 fixed4 col = tex2D(_MainTex, i.texcoord);
    71.                 clip(col.a - _Cutoff);
    72.                 SHADOW_CASTER_FRAGMENT(i)
    73.             }
    74.             ENDCG
    75.         }
    76.    
    77.         CGPROGRAM
    78.         #pragma surface surf Standard fullforwardshadows alpha:fade nolightmap
    79.         #pragma target 3.0
    80.         sampler2D _MainTex;
    81.         sampler2D _BumpMap;
    82.         struct Input {
    83.             float2 uv_MainTex;
    84.             fixed facing : VFACE;
    85.         };
    86.         half _Glossiness;
    87.         fixed4 _Color;
    88.         fixed _Cutoff;
    89.         void surf (Input IN, inout SurfaceOutputStandard o) {
    90.             // Albedo comes from a texture tinted by color
    91.             fixed4 c = tex2D (_MainTex, IN.uv_MainTex) * _Color;
    92.             o.Albedo = c.rgb;
    93.             o.Smoothness = _Glossiness;
    94.             // Rescales the alpha on the blended pass
    95.             o.Alpha = saturate(c.a / _Cutoff);
    96.             o.Normal = UnpackScaleNormal(tex2D(_BumpMap, IN.uv_MainTex), 1);
    97.             if (IN.facing < 0.5)
    98.                 o.Normal *= -1.0;
    99.         }
    100.         ENDCG
    101.     }
    102.     FallBack "Diffuse"
    103. }
     
    TeagansDad and S4G4N like this.
  39. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    S4G4N likes this.
  40. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    TeagansDad and smada-luap like this.
  41. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    That did not help at all sadly. It was already on 0.05 and changing it any higher only made things worse, and lowering it did not help either.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  42. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
  43. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Stupid me, i only checked the "bias" setting, not the "normal bias". For me it has to be 0 actually, anything else makes the light shine through.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  44. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hi @virror

    Here is a before and after shot.



    Cheers
    Cobus
     
  45. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Yeah, exactly as i said ; )
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  46. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hey there,

    In many of my Web Demos I have used characters from one of the publishers on the Assets Store.
    Many people have asked me where I got them from and gladly point them to the publisher's page.

    I just now saw a notification that he has made several of his characters FREE
    * The Adventure Character comes with a Bonus Armored version.

    Adventure Character < Click to go to package page > Wizard Girl


    * In the demos where the wizard girl have a glowing gem on the staff, I just added the blue torch particle effect/flame to the gem part of the model.

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
    TeagansDad and InvertedCat like this.
  47. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    S4G4N likes this.
  48. TeagansDad

    TeagansDad

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    908
    @virror - I think he's already fixed this for the next release; I brought it to his attention a few weeks back. :)
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  49. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,961
    Ahh, sweet : D
    Nothing to see here then, move along ; )
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  50. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,863
    Hi,

    Yip this is adjusted for the next update ;)
    Thanks for bringing it to my attention. At the end it helps improve the packages.

    Cheers
    Cobus
     
    docsavage and Whippets like this.
unityunity