Search Unity

3D terrain best practices?

Discussion in 'World Building' started by saz_at_evenflow, Aug 26, 2022.

1. saz_at_evenflow

saz_at_evenflow

Hi folks!
    I'll start off by mentioning I am new to Unity and C# (although I have many years of programming experience).

So far, I've run into a couple of obstacles, one of them being deciding on HOW to actually create 3D terrain for my (platformer / adventure RPG) game.

My approaches / considerations so far:
    • Unity Terrain Tools:
      Most youtube tutorials throw together a static scene in "x minutes", but I haven't seen many "real" gameplay examples.
      I tried using it myself, but I wanted a custom shader graph for both art-style and effects. However, I had huge problems getting it to work since the terrain doesn't behave like a "normal" mesh.
    • ProBuilder / PolyBrush:
      There often seems to be an emphasis on that this should be used for prototyping. Using ProBuilder alone seems to be fine when you are building small levels / indoor buildings etc, but not really larger environments?
      I tried creating a plane, subdividing it, and painting some hills etc with PolyBrush, but this was absolutely brutal on performance. There seems to be no control on where you want to have higher vertex density.
      A workaround is to have many smaller planes, but even with small chunks, the Editor almost kills itself when painting height unless you are going for a really low poly look (maybe bugged tool?).
    • Procedural Mesh Generation:
      While it is easy to just produce some random map at runtime using some noise algorithm, I ideally want more control than this, and to be able to tweak details while in the editor. I want to avoid the workflow of editing a heightmap in PS or similar.
      Perhaps I would be looking at creating my own editor by extending Unity via their APIs, but it would be a lot of work to actually get good in-editor painting support.
    • Sculpting in Blender: