Search Unity

Games 3D Survival Roguelike

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by xPhrophet, Aug 1, 2020.

1. xPhrophet

xPhrophet

Hello,

I'm a 3D artist and decided to get into programming. Originally this was supposed to be a survival crafting game but made the typical mistake of making it too complex for a first project.

It has a day and night cycle, a solar charger that you can upgrade by adding batteries for capacity. In the morning the spotlights would turn on and run out of energy halfway through the night. Instead of zombies it was demons and occult, eventually you would have to survive in Hell once finding the portal.

The AI pursues the player and investigate last place seen if he turns a corner but it broke when I decided to switch over to Behaviour Designer and could never get the logic to work properly under that format.

Fresh food rots once pickup up if not crafted into jars, player can get food poisoning and the effect stacks. I experimented with placeable blocks that could be rotated into place, and torches that can be placed onto walls that will eventually burn themselves out. At night enemies only spawn at darkness, making fuel a vital resource also so you can actually see in an otherwise pitch black environment as the interact system turns off for most things.

Campfires would burn themselves out if not fed, though amusingly enemies that traveled over the flames would also be consumed.

Once I realized how long it takes to model a home that has both an interior and exterior, it became clear that things needed to be dialed back.