Search Unity

3d platform tutorial error

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by JakobWagner, Aug 2, 2010.

1. JakobWagner

JakobWagner

Hi Forum

First of all, hello to everybody here.

I've just started on Unity3D. I am totally newb. Although I have several years OOP experience and experience in 3D animation. Most of my programming experience comes from Flash.

I am very impressed with Unity so far. It is much more professionally build than I had hoped for.

I have a couple of starter questions all ready.

1. Iphone development: Does anybody know for sure that apps build with Unity won't be banned from the app store in the nearest future?

2. I'm going through the 3d platform tutorial with the alien and I haven't gone far. Precisely I'm at the beginning of page 19. I get this error:

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    SpringFollowCamera.LateUpdate () (at /Users/PB G4/_Work/______Unity_Demos/Lerpz_3D_Platformer/Assets/Scripts/Camera/SpringFollowCamera.js:44)

Does anybody have an Idea of what I'm doing wrong?

// Jakob

2. stimarco

stimarco

1. My reading of Apple's Developer Agreement suggests there shouldn't be any problems.

Apple's beef is with Adobe's Flash, which completely bypasses Apple's own development tools and code libraries by using its own. (The reasons why this is not a Good Thing have been discussed elsewhere and boil down to two competing views on how Design—with a capital "D"—should be done.)

Unity, on the other hand, explicitly requires Apple's developer tools and libraries in order to produce iOS (i.e. iPhone, iPod touch and iPad) applications. As these tools and libraries are available for free download from Apple, it's not an issue for developers. Most importantly, it means any new features or technologies Apple introduce with a new device are automatically integrated by just re-building your application.