Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 3D Game Kit Official Thread

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Aurore, May 9, 2018.

  1. _malcolm

    _malcolm

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Everyone else: Sorry for this LONG post.

    @Runemark on a separate topic, I'm following your video on adding ranged weapons. I'm more than halfway through with no issues, but now I have one. at 44:19, you drag the PistolRoot over the Ellen_Right_Hand_Attach with no problems. I can't do this. It gives me this (error 1):
    upload_2019-3-5_19-37-23.png

    I can, however, drag the Ellen_Right_Hand_Attach over to the PistolRoot's Fixed Update Follow method... does that achieve the same effect? This is probably just a setting change I need to make, but being a newbie, I don't want to change settings if not needed in case I mess something up...

    At 44:30 in your video, it shows the pistol highlighted at ground level, before you attach it. Mine doesn't show the pistol at all when I select it, only the axis (error 2):
    upload_2019-3-5_19-48-13.png

    I tried moving it, just to make sure it wasn't covered up...it wasn't. Looking at my Inspector versus yours, they look the same, minus the fact that I can't move mine under Ellen's right hand.

    I'm stuck in the tutorial at this point until I get at least the first problem above figured out. Oh yeah... I still can't move the scene around with the mouse when in play mode. Nothing to do with your tutorial, it was like that when I first open the 3D Game Kit and hit play. Settings look correct for input, but again, being new, I am sure I am missing something. (error 3)
    upload_2019-3-5_19-54-6.png
    upload_2019-3-5_19-55-12.png
    upload_2019-3-5_19-56-47.png

    Any help you can provide...thanks! Oh, and your video tutorial is really good, thanks. I like that you don't rush it, and that you speak/talk your way through it. Very helpful.
     
  2. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    @_malcolm
    1. The first problem is not actually a problem. In the video, I'm using an older version of Unity. The prefab mode is a new feature came up in the recent update.
    You can click on the "Open Prefab" button. This will load the prefab editor scene, where you can move the pistol freely. (you can learn about this here).

    2. The Pistol GameObject is turned off by default. You can activate by toggling on the checkbox in the top-left corner in the inspector (here, the red box shows where you can find it).

    3. Not sure about this, the input settings look fine to me. This is how the CameraRig should look like.
    Possible problems can be:
    - Follow is not set: you can assign your player transform here.
    - Look At is not set: you have to create a transform as a child object of the player (Ellen contains this transform, with a name of HeadTarget)
    - Input Choice isn't set right: 3D Game Kit has two option for controll, keyboard+mouse and a controller. You have to select the one you will use.

    upload_2019-3-6_8-29-42.png

    Additional Problems might be:
    The CinemachineFreeLook component on the children of the CameraRig isn't set well.
    • Check the AxisControl part, and make sure the MaxSpeed for the Y-Axis and for the X-Axis is set to the right value. (I use 10 for Y and 500 for X)
    • Also, make sure the Input Axis Name is the correct name: CameraY and CameraX should be
    These are my tips so far, hope it helps.

    Self-promoting - ON
    Also if you wondering where that screenshot came from, it's our upcoming stealth game that is based on the 3D Game Kit, well at least in the current prototyping phase. We'll start posting dev blog from this week if you want to follow ;)
    Self-promoting - OFF :D
     
  3. _malcolm

    _malcolm

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Awesome, thank you @Runemark ! I was able to move the pistol and can continue now.

    For the error with moving the cameraX/Y with the mouse, all my settings are what you said they should be.

    On a different computer, I opened up the 3D GameKit brand new, using Unity 2018.3.6f1, starting fresh. I went to https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/projects/3d-game-kit/making-new-scene and did what it said. Created a new scene, named it, then pressed play. It _immediately_ has this issue, where you can't move the mouse around to change the camera. So I think this is a problem in the tutorial/3D GameKit, not in anything I have done. @Aurore , did something maybe get broken between releases?

    What's broken/missing in the current 3DGameKit that I need to change in my project to re-enable mouse movement?
     
    Runemark likes this.
  4. _malcolm

    _malcolm

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    @Runemark , I'm happy to say I finished your ranged weapon tutorial! Everything works great, except for my original issue of not being able to move the camera around via the mouse. Makes targeting a challenge LOL. Great work, man. The next step for me is to have the pistol 'hidden' somewhere for the player to find before they can use it. I don't think that will be hard to figure out.

    Anyone else: I still have 2 issues:
    1. Moving (horizontal) platforms I create collide, but the player Ellen does not stay on them. She stays still while the platform moves without her. The ones in the demo game of Level 2 work fine. A chomper ragdoll was thrown on top of my platform and stayed with it. But not Ellen. Ideas?

    2. As described in the previous post above, The 3D Game Kit out of the box does not seem to have working mouse support to move the camera at this time (1.7a released Dec 14, 2018). Moving the mouse does not change the camera. Any ideas on how to fix this? @Aurore ?
     
    Runemark likes this.
  5. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark Hi, thanks for this lesson, but please tell me why when changing from Generic to Humanoid, my character when moving to the W button runs not just straight, but straight with a bias to the right. Sorry for my English, I'm just from Russia
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      72 KB
      Views:
      43
  6. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    Hey! Open the import setting of your animation, and search for the Root Transform Rotation part.
    From the drop-down select either the Body Orientation or Original (one is selected already, you possibly will need the other).
    If this doesn't solve the problem, go back, and play with the value below the dropdown. This is an angle value, that being said, if you set it to 45 it will rotate the animation forward with 45 degrees.
     
    edgarovsepyan likes this.
  7. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    Runemark likes this.
  8. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark Help please, I want to my enemy gone missing as Chomper after death, as this do? and if possible with the same animation
     
  9. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark and one more question, after I disappeared from sight of the enemy, he goes to his initial position, only the animation plays but it does not move.and no sound while running or walking though the enemy did everything in the video
     
  10. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
  11. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    I'll, but not today, sorry. It was a long day for me.
     
    edgarovsepyan likes this.
  12. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark Good. As a free time please help me. I really need to do these things.
     
  13. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark I got it. I found an error why the sound of footsteps was not playing, the whole problem in the animation when I change the animation Chomper, its sound of footsteps disappears, I found an error but how to fix do not know
     
  14. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark I put events now I hear the sound of footsteps but there was one problem. When the enemy loses sight of me goes into its original location, but the problem is that the walking animation is, but he doesn't budge like off NavMesh
     
  15. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
  16. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    Wow, you had a busy weekend.
    Sorry for not answering, but I usually not working on weekends (and checking unity forum is part of my weekday's rutin.

    Usually, it's better to write one post, with all your questions. It's more clear. Right now I'm quite confused about which problem you still have, and which you already solved. Please summarize your current questions in a new post, and I'll try to answer to those.
     
  17. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    my problem is that the enemy after losing sight of me returns to its original position. the problem is that it returns very slowly, I don’t know how to adjust the speed of return.
     
  18. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    Hmm. I'm not sure about it, but if you are using the chomper behavior and the EnemyController scripts for your enemies. Try this:

    EnemyController.cs line 116 (or something like that):
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  m_NavMeshAgent.speed = (m_Animator.deltaPosition / Time.deltaTime).magnitude;
    If you multiply this value let say by 2, it should move faster.
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  m_NavMeshAgent.speed = (m_Animator.deltaPosition / Time.deltaTime).magnitude * 2;
    I didn't test it, so it might not work.
     
  19. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark I did but it didn't help. I uploaded the video to YouTube. Look to better understand my problem
     
  20. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    Well going back here is not slow, it doesn't work at all. :D My next idea would be, that the walking animation doesn't have root motion.
    Did you add the EnemyControllerStateSetterSMB.cs to your walk animation in the animator?
     
  21. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark Yes I added EnemyControllerStateSetterSMB.cs.it goes fine but here is the return not working
     
  22. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark The problem is, I made it look like a video, and as you can see, he ran after me and he walks. The problem is that when it starts to return to its original position, it stops, and then if it notices me and stops, you've seen it on video. What can I do he back to his original position?
     
  23. edgarovsepyan

    edgarovsepyan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    @Runemark all I solved this problem just changed the script EnemyControllerStateSetterSMB.cs the script which found on the Internet EnemyControllerStateSetterSMB.cs
     
  24. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Trying 3d game kit, and wondering if one wants to use their own terrain, how do you enable terrain collison for Ellen?

    On play she falls right through my terrain, yet the 'plane' works fine.
     
  25. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    Changing the layer of the terrain to level or environment (or perhaps terrain, but not sure if this exists) should do the trick.
     
  26. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    I tried your suggestions and no luck, then I tried default no luck there either.
    If this is what I get for trying 3d game kit, I'll remove it ;(
    That has to be it, as I've never had these issues b4 I installed it.

    Some very fascinating things, if I could just get what I'm doing to work WITH it ;)
     
  27. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Hm, the closest I can come to stopping player from falling through terrain, is setting layer to 'collide', but then it falls through 3/4 the height of Player character- ODD ?

    Clearly there are some physics going on here , I'm wondering that WANT the game kit 'plane' to be there, andif its not there is no collision ?

    Just thinking out loud here, no other ideas, be nice to be making more progress instead of fighting with this :(

    I"ve looked where it seems logical to make sure its not some dumb error on my part, but so far I see nothing. I'll keep looking waiting for replies for aid.
     
    awehrma likes this.
  28. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Lovely-a 'new' problem, after updating a few items in package manager,,now at least there is no ' previews installed' in menu.

    Assets/3DGamekit/Scripts/Editor/NewSceneCreator.cs(60,23): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `ProBuilder' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference? < that.

    I can't even play level now until I fix that and I don't recall what threw it as I wasn't paying attention, getting no errors displayed in package manger,until I went to upgrade itself and it threw error.

    Any idea (now that I can't play level I can't check the original problem)

    ty
     
  29. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    I fixed the error, but not being a pro coder , yet, I have no faith I fixed it correctly, anyway, as before where the error above was stopping level play, this fixed it by commenting out the following line in this file:

    //GetWindow<ProBuilder.EditorCore.pb_Editor>(); , in NewSceneCreator.cs , in the 3dgamekit DIR.

    I wonder if installing a preview item, whichever one it was,caused this, and removing it got me to this point ?

    Anyway, BACK to original problem, see post 25 !
     
  30. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    1) check if the character controller boundaries are ok. The capsule should be around the whole character. Sometimes if the pivot is set differently, the capsule center moves to the characters feet. That can occur problems like falling through the ground or being in the ground halfway.

    2) Your solution is just fine for the pro builder error. I made the same. There are two other option: importing the pro builder from the package manager, or deleting the NewSceneCreator.cs, though you loose the option to create a scene prepared with 3dgame kit. (I'm talking about this: https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/projects/3d-game-kit/making-new-scene?playlist=51061).
     
  31. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Actually atm anyway, all I have is a capsule LOL, sorry if I didn't make that clear- I"ve had far too many giant headaches trying to get a 3rd person charcter in my game for testing purposes, that while I know there are other characters around on the store and elsewhere, - as an advanced beginner I grew tired of fighting so hard for it, that I went with simple , to broaden from there as my coding skills grew.

    I made sure the bottom of capsule is fine, and ya I'm OK with no new creator scene as it brings in a blah plane that provides nothing I need as my terrain hugely surpasses something of that simplicity- though yes you can customize it, what I have with my terrain is vastly superior- Ive put a lot of work into it so it better be :)

    I found this on Youtube:
    , and its what I'm using as 3rd person char., even though I'm having a few difficulties with it, author has yet to reply. Its VERY close to working, with a few issues not covered in his tut-- I checked for code errors but I see none.

    I may have to try something else- getting tired of trying so hard, to 'start' testing my level,.not sure how unity is helping here. I want to get back to design its what I"m best at- but I also do not mind at all, learning to code 'better', but its getting in my way :)




    ..and as it goes-
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
  32. steve-faultless

    steve-faultless

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,

    I'm trying to start going through some of the game kit stuff, but I can't even get through the first video.
    The two levels in Scenes->Gameplay are folders, not scenes.
    upload_2019-3-26_16-22-36.png

    And when I try to look at the only scene I was able to find - UI->Loading I get a bunch of missing prefabs:
    upload_2019-3-26_16-22-36.png

    I also have compiler errors. I'm using 2018.3.10f1

    I've tried reimporting, but that did nothing.

    I did update Unity after downloading the package (from a mid September release), but that shouldn't have affected anything, right?

    Kind regards,

    Steve
     

    Attached Files:

  33. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Wow, I started Unity to see if I could help ya out, and boom to version,,I wondered about your 10f1 :)), anyway I'll see what I have here and post back unless somebody else chimes in first.

    OK I'm udating, but anyway:
    Why you're levels look like DIR's , odd and no idea,,,under Gameplay > as you're images shows, my 'level's are in the asset window on right, and they are not DIR's.

    I have zero prefab errors,,,sure seems like you have a bad download unless 10f1 has major issues, unlikely.

    I'd try removing gamekit (dir) and reimport from assset store, I've had to do similar things and it fixed my issues, eventually.

    Also, are you using any 'preview' items ?


    cheers
     
    steve-faultless likes this.
  34. steve-faultless

    steve-faultless

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks neighborlee,

    For some reason, the second image got changed - it was meant to be:
    upload_2019-3-26_16-36-4.png
     
  35. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Also I had to do this as well, which apparently so did Runemark :
    //GetWindow<ProBuilder.EditorCore.pb_Editor>(); , in NewSceneCreator.cs , in the 3dgamekit DIR.

    That may also help as if 2 of us had to, I can't imagien others aren't needing to as well, with one caveat: you won't as he noted, be able to make new creator scenes.

    cu
     
  36. steve-faultless

    steve-faultless

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Neigbourlee,

    Thanks for the updates. I looked in the assets folder (as opposed to the folder hierarchy beside it - ID Ten T user error there) and there are scene files there - I got fooled by the video). When I open the normal scenes, all assets are present. There must be something about the loading scene that's wrong. But not a priority right now.

    --Edit I figured out why I missed the scene files - I expanded the folders from the hierarchy, then clicked on the folders, I just never looked in the level above. I'm going to plead not stupid on this one. Or at least, not wholly responsible.--

    Apparently I am using some preview packages, but I can't for the life of me find the package manager:
    As far as I can tell, it should be in this menu:
    upload_2019-3-26_16-53-12.png
    I looked in the manifest.json file and found that postprocessing 2.0.9-preview was listed. I opened a new project, and it wasn't included (and the package manager is visible).

    So unless I'm hallucinating, this wasn't something I chose, but rather was installed by the 3D Kit. Apparently, a bad manifest can mean that the manager won't show up. https://forum.unity.com/threads/package-manager-is-missing.557854/

    Here's the code from the manifest.json
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
  37. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Yes I also had a missing package manager at one time, and I think I resolved it by removing game kit, and other preview items in package manger and reimported.

    Is an amazing asset but for me, its caused more headaches that worth it, given I 'seem' to be having issues with something that should just work, a video for which as show above , was SIMPLE and I downloaded the c# scripts, no errors, and its still not working, and video authors did. He has 2008.2 I think, but I can't imagine that's an issue-=--HM

    I replied to authors video , hopefully its some small thing I have wrong- we'll see. I suspect I may just have to start all over again with a different 3rd char video or grab one from asset store and cross my fingers.

    Nice to know about the manifest thing, nice find ;)
     
  38. steve-faultless

    steve-faultless

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    FIXED! I looked at the manifest of the working project and found that it was using package
    "com.unity.package-manager-ui": "2.0.7",
    where the game kit was using
    "com.unity.package-manager-ui": "1.9.11",


    So I changed the version number in the manifest to 2.0.7 and lo and behold, everything worked. Seriously that was all it was.
    I even uncommented that line you mentioned - no problem at all.
     
  39. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Ya I meant to mention I updated a few package manager items, ty for reminder, I shall look at the newsscene file and see if I also can uncomment it ;00
     
  40. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    Well, I gave up on gamekit , but I will revisit it again for many reasons- for now I went with a very straight fwd 3rd person + fly , from asset store, an amazing, nicely paced video for even a custom project ( our own) by author, so character is zipping around and I can finally start testing ;))
     
  41. slotslotonline

    slotslotonline

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    It's really nice game!!!!
    .............................................................................................................................................................................................
    โปรโมชั่น slotxo ที่สุดแห่งโปรโมชั่นเกมสล็อตเล่นได้มันกว่าต้องเล่นที่ slot1234
     
  42. scarpelius

    scarpelius

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Posts:
    953
    Anyone being able to make a SmallDoor close after the player pass through it? I am not able to figure how to do that just with the existing scripts from 3DGamekit.
     
  43. unity_456adsteam

    unity_456adsteam

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you for the good things that came to me. I'm interested in slotxo 3D game.
     
  44. tomew123

    tomew123

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    We can relieve you from any kind of writing: essays, business projects, thesis, term papers, coursework, research papers, dissertations.
    Forget about being overloaded with assignments!
    Relax and have custom writing work done for you.
     
  45. Runemark

    Runemark

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    130
    A few weeks ago, we started to make a non-combat stealth game. Here is the 6th part of our devlog series.
    It's somewhat related to this forum thread because we are using the 3D Game Kit as a base for this game. I think it's always useful to see an asset working in an actual project.



    If you have any question, feel free to ask! :)
     
  46. castana1962

    castana1962

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    354
    Hi
    I am trying this 3D Environment for VR projects ( Oculus/Vive) and interested in developing for Oculus Quest. Since that I would need to get 72 fps when I played, I am thinking in using it with ECS and LWRP. Would it be possible? Please let know if there any Github repo or some tutorial to do it? Thanks for your time