Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

3D Animation Art Project! Help?!

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by MashNGravy, Mar 4, 2016.

1. MashNGravy

MashNGravy

Hello guys,

Im an artist based in London currently working on a large scale installation which I am showing later this year. I have come to this forum as I have no 3D experience what so ever, and dont even know what platform to start at - looking around online it seems as if Unity would be the right thing for me, but still wanted to check in with some pros to get an opinion on where to start (... and if in fact this platform would be a bit of an overkill for my project?)

I basically want to make two separate 3D models depicting mountains with a bit of animation which I am then going to project onto two screens in this art show. I am not interested in creating an actual interactive game, but rather create these scenarios as two separate videos which will then be looped using projectors in the show.
    The reason why I have chosen to narrow my search down to platforms used for gaming is because its super important to me that the finished aesthetics of the project relate 3D design found in gaming.
    I started off playing around in Blender, but speaking to artist friends of mine whom have also worked on a amateur level in 3D platforms, im hearing more and more bad stuff about blender :eek: which has kinda put me off on the whole idea of trying to learn it.
    I guess it all boils down to what platform would suit the project the most, and also which one is more user friendly for a novice 3D developer?