Search Unity

3 bug in Chrome/Canary/Firefox

Discussion in 'Web' started by roka, Mar 7, 2017.

  1. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Hello,

    I have already made a topic few months ago for a mouse and cursor lock problem in Chrome/Canary/Firefox and only one of them has been fixed by the web browser vendors.

    Like the Web Player deadline is started on Firefox, i really want to see these issues fixed for the webGL because for my FPS, these problems are important.

    Bug 1 :
    In google chrome or canary, press tab to lock the cursor and use your mouse scroll without moving your mouse and after move your mouse a bit, you can see that the camera rotation change.
    Everything work when the cursor is not locked. Everything is fine in firefox.

    Bug 2 :
    In google Canary ,if you use the mouse scroll foward or backward when the cursor is locked, you only get negative value. Work well when the cursor is not locked.
    Everything is actually fine in Google Chrome and firefox.
    Press TAB to lock the cursor and use your mouse scroll and see the Scroll Val below.

    Bug 3 :
    In firefox , when you unlock the cursor (Cursor.lockState = CursorLockMode.None; and Cursor.visible = true;), the camera rotate on the left if your cursor was on the left side before the lock (same for the right,up down).
    Bug not present in google chrome/canary.
    Move your cursor on the left or right and play with your tab button to test.

    Tested on :

    Google chrome 56.0.2924.87
    Google Canary 59.0.3033.0
    Firefox 51.0.1

    WebGL test link : http://www.asr-games.net/WebGLProblem/

    WebGL source project : http://www.asr-games.net/WebGLProblem.zip

    If Marco-Trivellato or Schubkraft can take a look.

    Thank you

    Have a good day.
     
    yuliyF likes this.
  2. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    I could repro number 2 (but the reverse, can only get positive values in locked cursor mode.
    Filed a bug with us but will probably be a Chrome thing for Google to fix.

    Will try to look at the rest later again. Ideally you'd file them as individual bug reports and ping case numbers here.
     
  3. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Can't repro the other two. Can you make a short video or gif and attach it to your bug report?
     
  4. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Bug 1 : Case 888814
    Video :
     
  5. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Bug 2 : Case 888815
    Video :
     
  6. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Bug 3 : Case 888817
    Video :


    1 hour lost .... i need a coffee now !!!! ^^
     
  7. caozane1

    caozane1

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    I can confirm bug 1
     
  8. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    For info :

    Bug 1 :

    Thanks for reporting the issue.
    We have been able to reproduce this bug and have sent it for resolution with our developers.
    We highly appreciate your contribution. If you have further questions, feel free to contact us.

    Bug 2 :

    Thanks for reporting the issue.
    We have been able to reproduce this bug and have sent it for resolution with our developers.
    We highly appreciate your contribution. If you have further questions, feel free to contact us.

    Bug 3 :

    Thanks for reporting the issue.
    This is no longer reproducible in our current beta release (5.6) which you can find here: http://unity3d.com/unity/beta/ . Could you download it to make sure that the issue is fixed in there for you too?
    We highly appreciate your contribution. If you have further questions, feel free to contact us.
     
    caozane1 likes this.
  9. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
  10. Marco-Trivellato

    Marco-Trivellato

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1,654
  11. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Hello,

    Can you move foward with google with the bug 1 : https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=701970 because 5 months after, it's still the same and it's a big problem for an fps game.

    Thank you.
     
  12. Gaurav-Gulati

    Gaurav-Gulati

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=701970
    Yet no update from google's side even after months, could someone from unity technologies bump them up.
     
  13. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
  14. Gaurav-Gulati

    Gaurav-Gulati

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    @Marco-Trivellato Possible for unity technologies to bump Google for this weird issue ?
     
  15. Marco-Trivellato

    Marco-Trivellato

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1,654
    We will bring this up in our next sync-up with Google.
     
    Gaurav-Gulati likes this.
  16. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Hello,

    This bug on firefox is still present on the unity version 5.6.3p4
    It was fixed in the 5.6 release but it is back now.

    Thank you.
     
  17. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
  18. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    For the bug 1, i'm not sure that the bug come from chrome at 100%, after an answer from the google team,i have tested a webgl game not build with unity and it do not have the mouse scroll problem ==> https://kripken.github.io/BananaBread/cube2/bb.html

    (click escape => remove bot when the bot shot you (annoying for test))
     
  19. Marco-Trivellato

    Marco-Trivellato

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1,654
  20. Marco-Trivellato

    Marco-Trivellato

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1,654
    It appears Firefox sends a mouse move event on cursor unlock for some reason. We are going to workaround it.
     
  21. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    I don't have a Mac sorry but in the post issue (https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=701970#c22), it seem that they can't repro it on Mac because the implementation is not the same.

    Please take a look because changing weapon by using the mouse scroll is really not confortable because of this bug.

    Thank you
     
  22. roka

    roka

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    598
    Cool, because everything is fine in Firefox excepting this problem.