Search Unity

2D Tilemap bug

Discussion in '2D' started by bl4ckfoot, Oct 15, 2021.

1. bl4ckfoot

bl4ckfoot

I found a bug regarding the tilemap / tilemap collider 2d. I'm surprised no one is talking about this issue so I'm not sure if it is a mistake on my part, espacially because I'm pretty new to unity. I asked the same question on unity answers: https://answers.unity.com/questions/1865631/why-are-tilemaps-so-bad.html. No one answered so far.

Steps to reproduce:
    1. Create tilemap with tilemap collider 2d
    2. Create object with rigidbody 2d and capsule collider 2d / box collider 2d
    3. Let it move along a straight surface of a tilemap

Actual Result:
    Using the box collider 2d the object will eventually get stuck on the tilemap
    Using the capsule collider 2d the object will start bouncing (even if the object is told to keep the y velocity when moving)

Expected Result:
    Object moves along the tilemap.

Reproducible on:
    2019.3.0f3 / didn't test it anywhere else

Environment:
    Occurring on Windows 10 / didn't test it anywhere else

I tried using a composite collider 2d and also make some adjustments to the tilemap. Nothing helped.

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

How are you "letting it move?"

If you do so ANY other way than a) under its own ballistic momentum or b) by calling
    .MovePosition()
    on the Rigidbody instance, you will see EXACTLY the glitchy behavior you see above.

Are you using
    transform.Translate()
    or setting
     transform.position
    directly? That is a strict no-no with the physics system because it completely bypasses the physics system and then it freaks out trying to catch up with the new reality you have surprised it with.

bl4ckfoot likes this.
  3. bl4ckfoot

bl4ckfoot

Sorry for not clarifying what technique i use to move the object. I get this behavior by setting the velocity or adding force on the rigidbody.