Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

2D Sprites in a 3d Environment

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Savage_Games, Mar 24, 2013.

1. Savage_Games

Savage_Games

Hello all,
    My team is attempting a beat-em-up style game a la River City Ransom, Castle Crashers, etc. We will be using 2D sprites in a 3D environment, and need the sprites to be able to not only move forward and backward, but also towards and away from the camera. I've searched and searched not only on this site, but also googled the hell out of this idea and need some help. I've read articles on billboarding, using sprite manager, and locking cameras and all that, but I'm still lost. I'm brand new to Unity, and have done a few tutorials, though I must admit I haven't found a tutorial that really covers what we're trying to accomplish. Most of the tuts I find are straight 2D movement i.e. forward and backward with no Z depth. Does anyone know of a good tutorial or at the least some information on how to accomplish this? Any ideas/help would be much appreciated. Also, please don't tell me to search the site as I have tried, and couldn't find what I was looking for. If you do know of something on the site, please link it. Thanks in advance. :D

-Savage

2. renman3000

renman3000

2D movement is the same as 3D movement, just with one axis missing. So, if you can find 2D movement, just add an axis.

Left button, move left on x axis. right button, move right on x axis. up, down etc. If you need z movement as well, have a "away" button, and a "come closer button".

One thing, also, note that cameras have the option of being, Orthographic or Perspective. Orthographic is generally good for 2D as it removes the depth of field. An object at 30 z, will appear the same as at 0 z.

3. Savage_Games

Savage_Games