Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

2D Sprites in 3D world, depth sorting issue

Discussion in 'World Building' started by therobby3, Feb 1, 2019.

1. therobby3

therobby3

Hello folks, I'm new to Unity as I am starting to transfer a large Flash MMO game to Unity.

The game is a 2.5D perspective game. It uses an oblique perspective, which is similar to isometric. (think Earthbound perspective). I've been learning Unity for the past week and have begun starting to rebuild my game world in it. I think Unity's 3D will fit my game well instead of trying to build everything in an purely 2D engine, and trying to sort and do things that way.

It's been working out well however now I am having some depth sorting issues. So right now I only have a player and ground tiles. Both the player and the ground tiles are sprites, meaning game objects with the SpriteRenderer component attached to them. I used the SpriteRenderer for the ground tiles, because they have a nice 9 Slice feature that I'm using, which keeps the cartoony outline on the edges and scales the grass texture in the center.

Anyway, the issue is that I notice Unity is handling these "sprites" a bit different than a normal 3D object sorting wise. If I use a 3D plane as the ground with a texture, the player sprite simply disappears into it. However with 2D objects Unity seems to say the sprites must be either "above or below" each other, no in between. And it doesn't seem to be doing this exactly right. If you see my attached video you will see what I mean. The player is walking on a large ground tile and becomes sorted behind it all of a sudden, when it shouldn't be because it is above it. I'm not sure the exact calculations Unity is running to figure out the depths, but surely there is an easy fix for this?