Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question 2d script error

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Amin_Rajab, Oct 10, 2023.

  1. Amin_Rajab

    Amin_Rajab

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    Hello I'm a beginner, can someone help me please?

    I'm using editor 2022.3.10f3 and visual studio 2022

    "Assets\Script\Bird.cs(40,39): error CS0103: The name 'FindObjectInactive' does not exist in the current context", this is the error I'm getting for the following script :

    using Unity.VisualScripting;
    using UnityEngine;

    public class Bird : MonoBehaviour
    {
    [SerializeField] float maxDragDistance = 4;
    [SerializeField] float launchPower = 150;
    LineRenderer lineRenderer;
    Vector3 startingPosition;

    void Start()
    {
    lineRenderer = GetComponent<LineRenderer>();
    lineRenderer.SetPosition(0, transform.position);
    startingPosition = transform.position;
    }

    void OnMouseUp()
    {
    Vector3 directionAndMagnitude = startingPosition - transform.position;
    GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>().AddForce(directionAndMagnitude * launchPower);
    GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>().gravityScale = 1;
    }
    void OnMouseDrag()
    {
    Vector3 destination = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint(Input.mousePosition);
    destination.z = 0;
    if (Vector2.Distance(destination, startingPosition) > maxDragDistance)
    destination = Vector3.MoveTowards(startingPosition, destination, maxDragDistance);
    transform.position = destination;
    lineRenderer.SetPosition(1, transform.position);
    }

    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
    if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Q))
    GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>().gravityScale = 1;

    if(FindAnyObjectByType<Enemy>(FindObjectInactive.Exclude) == null)
    Debug.Log("Game Over");
    }
    }
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,337
    You can fix your own typing mistakes. Here's how:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly? Are you structuring the syntax correctly? Look for examples!

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! See above.


    For future reference, when you have an ACTUAL problem...

    How to report your problem productively in the Unity3D forums:

    http://plbm.com/?p=220

    This is the bare minimum of information to report:

    - what you want
    - what you tried
    - what you expected to happen
    - what actually happened, log output, variable values, and especially any errors you see
    - links to documentation you used to cross-check your work (CRITICAL!!!)

    The purpose of YOU providing links is to make our job easier, while simultaneously showing us that you actually put effort into the process. If you haven't put effort into finding the documentation, why should we bother putting effort into replying?



    If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

    How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

    - Do not TALK about code without posting it.
    - Do NOT post unformatted code.
    - Do NOT retype code. Use copy/paste properly using code tags.
    - Do NOT post screenshots of code.
    - Do NOT post photographs of code.
    - ONLY post the relevant code, and then refer to it in your discussion.
     
  3. Amin_Rajab

    Amin_Rajab

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you for your prompt response. I greatly appreciate your initial reply and I intend to carefully consider each piece of advice you've provided.

    The core issue I'm facing is my attempt to utilize 'FindObjectInactive' as an integral component of a Unity Visual Scripting method. However, it has come to my attention that this approach may not be compatible with a standard C# script. To emphasize the importance of the Unity software version, I mentioned it, particularly due to my previous experiences with package compatibility issues when using newer versions.

    Upon reflection, I realize that I should have provided more detailed information. You are correct in pointing out that I'm seeking more of a tutoring or guidance approach, rather than just simple answers. I assumed that this issue might be a common stumbling block for beginners in Unity development.
     
  4. sildeflask

    sildeflask

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2023
    Posts:
    329
    if you want to know the short version he is just saying that you wrote it wrong
     
  5. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,337
    What do you mean by this? What is FindObjectInactive?

    Do you mean the overload of FindObjectOfType that accepts a bool argument?

    Always start with the documentation.
     
  6. Amin_Rajab

    Amin_Rajab

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    I'm following Jason Weimann Steps in the the following video
     
  7. Amin_Rajab

    Amin_Rajab

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    He just used it simply at 1:51:05
     
  8. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,337
    Then go back and figure out where it came from, if he wrote it, etc.

    Otherwise, find another tutorial. The concepts and APIs for Unity are going to be the same.

    Imphenzia: How Did I Learn To Make Games:

     
  9. Amin_Rajab

    Amin_Rajab

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    okay then thank you
     
  10. BABIA_GameStudio

    BABIA_GameStudio

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Posts:
    497
    No he didn't.

    Look at what you typed:
    if(FindAnyObjectByType<Enemy>(FindObjectInactive.Exclude) == null)
    and compare it to what he actually typed:
    if(FindAnyObjectByType<Enemy>(FindObjectsInactive.Exclude) == null)


    If you are going to follow a tutorial, then you must follow it 100%.

    Also. please use code tags when you post code on the forum. It helps us find the line causing the error quicker than have to go searching.
     
  11. sildeflask

    sildeflask

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2023
    Posts:
    329
    you are living in confusion, just because of a typo
     
  12. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11,180
    This isn't a 2D script error, it's a generic Script error and as such, the most appropriate forum would be the Scripting or Getting Started forum. I'll move your post for you.

    Please use the 2D forum when asking and discussing 2D features.

    Finally, please edit your post to use code-tags; don't use plain text for code.

    Thanks.
     
  13. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11,180
    When you encounter an issue, the very first thing you should do is look up the thing you're havign a problem with, in this case FindAnyObjectByType. Look there, you'll see you simply spelled it wrong which is why the compiler has no idea what you mean.