Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

2D question

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Grunt82, Jul 25, 2015.

1. Grunt82

Grunt82

hello first of all i want to point out im a complete newbie to anything, if you talk about scripting i've never made a hello world or calculator script (i believe there the typical newbie starter scripts) and have about as much experience in anything else im probably going to need. what i do have however is a desire to learn although only to the extent to make the game which is in my head otherwise i know i'll lose interest, if i cant see the point or clearly see where learning stuff gets me i wont learn it basically i just want to make this one game and probably never touch anything like this again. lastly im a hobbyist with lots and lots of time on my hands, time really isn't an issue.

my question is this. im wanting to create a 2D game from a top down perspective, there will be no animations needed your primarily going to be looking at a huge scrollable map of a city where clicking on different locations will bring up a different screen. the meat of the game will be all about performing actions on this screen, again nothing animated its all % based chance your just clicking one of several buttons that tells the virtual you to do something and depending on what items you have etc your chances of doing it successfully increase or decrease, there will also be various levels of success or failure but i think im going into to much detail for the question now

im aware 2D was only fairly recently introduced to unity in 4.x so is this something that will a, be possible in unity and b, best made in unity given my experience level

preferably id rather not learn more things than is needed, sorry for my rather long winded question

2. Schneider21

Schneider21