Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Official 2D Game Kit Official Thread

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Aurore, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. Oluwanfifehanmi

    Oluwanfifehanmi

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having problems making the info post display text.
    Please I need assistant.
     
  2. ramnath76

    ramnath76

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    HI, I want to show Ellen swimming. I don't see a swim clip nor a sprite. How do I get one ?
    Regards,
    Ram
     
  3. VitaFire

    VitaFire

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Just if anybody else has the same problem like me:

    The vfx-offset is currently not working! Vfx-effects are always set to the exact position of the parent.
    Solution:

    Add the following to the VFXController.cs:
    1. new global parameter for the VFXInstance class:
    public Vector3 Offset = Vector3.zero;


    2. Offset during the update in the VFXController-Class:
    vfx.transform.position = vfx.parent.position + vfx.Offset; 
    //(old: vfx.transform.position = vfx.parent.position)

    3. Set offset during CreateInstance-method after Instance.parent:
    instance.Offset = position;
    //

    You now should have a working offset. The VFX-Controller uses no real parenting, just always updates the position every frame. The offset will always be the same and not flipped like the effect. To achieve this you must add instead of 3. somethig like
    Code (CSharp):
    1.             if (flip)
    2.                 instance.Offset = new Vector2(position.x*-1,position.y);
    3.             else
    4.                 instance.Offset = position;
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2020
  4. CodyBear

    CodyBear

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same question - I tried to copy the Gunner Master from (Scene) Zone 5 and then place it in a new scene with no success. Please help...
     
  5. DuckBadger

    DuckBadger

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Having major issues with this gamekit. Whenever I open the project after it's saved it crashes my entire laptop. I've tried opening it multiple times and have only had success once.
    I've tried creating the project from the Learn tab in Unity Hub, I've tried creating a blank Unity 2D project and importing the game kit but still getting the same issue.

    Using a Macbook Pro 13" Early 2015 running MacOS Catalina 10.15.2

    Has anyone else had this issue or know of any fixes? Thanks
     
  6. jackycwong

    jackycwong

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    i am following the tutorial. I have no ways to save the project at the very beginning.

    i tried to close the project and choose keep and then this error shows up: " the process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process"

    and i have to start from importing again when I reopen...
     
  7. c4mino

    c4mino

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Awesome game kit!! Brand new to programming and unity, it has been so helpful.

    My question is regarding overriding enemy behavior within Timeline. For instance, with my Player I can use the function PlayerInput.ReleaseControl to "freeze" my player, and allow animations to override player control in Timeline. Then PlayerInput.GainControl to resume player input.

    I would like to do the same thing with the enemy in Timeline, so that the Enemy Behavior stops and the enemy responds to animations placed in Timeline. Then once the animations complete, the Enemy resumes control and behaves as normal.

    Is there a function already in the gamekit for this? Thanks!
     
  8. brittanyb09

    brittanyb09

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2020
    Posts:
    8
    HI everyone, I seem to be getting this opening the game kit. The when I open unity and go to window> package manager I get the last screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  9. sincerelysleepy

    sincerelysleepy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    I just want to say, this toolkit has been a great learning playground for me. It's helped me in multiple ways, my only gripe is handling slopes, which I'm trying to implement so that the player doesn't just slide down any slanted angle. I followed suggestions from James B. on this thread with no luck. Any suggestions or help on this? Much appreciated!
     
  10. Zafus

    Zafus

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    HI UNITY Developers:

    I am having trouble getting started with 2D GameKit Walkthrough. When I downloaded the project and opened it, followed through the instruction but all of my scenes are blur. I have attached the screenshot as well. I am using UNITY on MAC. I don't have much prior experience with UNITY so your help will be much appreciated. Thank You.

    P.S All of my scenes are BLUR like the attached screenshot.
    Screenshot 2020-05-30 at 9.20.50 AM.png
     
  11. Valjuin

    Valjuin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    481
    upload_2020-5-30_12-23-1.png
     
  12. AncientLich

    AncientLich

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am following the tutorial and I am at the starting point. I am currently experimenting creating a new scene with tileset.
    Now I am encountering a problem I can't solve.

    When creating a new scene I have a sort of "triangle" that is created in my new scene. I can't remove it in any way. Inspector can't see it and don't know what this trinagle is. This triangle is not mentioned in tutorial and seems like a bug. It also appears on testing the game.

    Working under Unity 2019.3.15f1 on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

    Screenshots:
    I Uploaded 3 screeshots: 1) The first one shows the triangle in Unity Editor while editing the level 2) Second one shows the triangle in gameplay. It covers Ellen (she is at starting point) so you can't see her. 3) Third one shows again the triangle in gameplay after moving Ellen, so now Ellen is visible. So this Triangle seems like a separate entity and it is not something related to Ellen herself.

    Notes:
    1) I tried to select the triangle in the scene, but it seems not selectable. If I try to select the triangle the inspector switch between "cloud" and "sky" but no one choice can remove the triangle itself
    2) I tried to navigate into Scene Hierachy, but I can't find any object that matchs that triangle.

    Thanks.

    EDIT: I discovered that the triangle is strictly binded to camera. Which is very weird. Why the camera itself should spawn an unremovable triangle in the scene and reproduce it in gameplay?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 15, 2020
  13. hmhforstudy

    hmhforstudy

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I have a doubt with the 2d Game Kit. Once I put Tile Brush to Full Screen Mood Not able to reduce the size to use in the scene
     
  14. antoniomonteiro

    antoniomonteiro

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    I want only the sprites from 2d game kit, but when i import 2d game kit my colliders and rigidbody 2d dont work anymore.
    How can i fix that?
     
  15. Mr0Bullets

    Mr0Bullets

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I don't usually comment but thanks man you are a lifesaver! that fixed my problem too
     
  16. zahraa74

    zahraa74

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    did you find any solution?
     
  17. zahraa74

    zahraa74

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Hi
    Did you find out how to do that?
     
  18. zahraa74

    zahraa74

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Hi
    Did you find out how to do that?
     
  19. Pyroshiv

    Pyroshiv

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    Kit tools don't works for me ,what i'm supposed to do?
     
  20. Pyroshiv

    Pyroshiv

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,
    I saw were come from the pb.I haven't the project's assets and when i decompressed the project,that doesn't works.An idea?
     
  21. Lucifer656

    Lucifer656

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, I downloaded the kit, and started following the tutorial. In step 02. Creating a new scene, it says in the top menu, click "kit tools", followed by an image showing the top menu with File, Edit, Assets, GameObject, Component, Cinemachine, Kit Tools, Tutorial, Window and Help. My top menu does not contain Cinemachine, Kit Tools or Tutorial. Any idea what I can do to fix this, or what a good work-around would be? I tried creating a new scene using Create - Scene in the Project tab, but it didn't seem to load the other data properly.
     
  22. Ken3dguy

    Ken3dguy

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Your Scale setting in the Game tab is set all way up, slide it back t the left, you are zoomed in
     
  23. Ken3dguy

    Ken3dguy

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Is anyone else having memory issues with WebGL?
    upload_2020-7-15_12-25-20.png
     
  24. jhpohjh

    jhpohjh

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, how are you supposed to use the CameraShaker script? I have tried to find a place to put it in in order to make the camera shake when Ellen is hit, but with no luck.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2020
  25. ctheshinigami

    ctheshinigami

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all,
    When I load up the kit all of the scene are just black. It seems that assets are in the scene though. If I select the MainCamera, I can see the level correctly in the small preview window in the bottom right. I tried adjusting some things in the inspector but nothing seemed to have any effect. I am a complete newb so not really sure which things I should even be looking to adjust. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!
     
    unity_0Mh5sStk-3xOng likes this.
  26. PriniBR

    PriniBR

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I dont know if im supposed to ask for help in this thread but...I NEED HELP GUYS!.

    I'm trying to import 2D Game Kit from asset store, takes like 40mins to write packages and then just loads with many errors in the console. I have no idea what to do here.

    Ill upload a print of my Unity Console after 40min importing.
     

    Attached Files:

  27. rayss8

    rayss8

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I could not open the project with 2019.4 either, but I can do it with 2019.2. You will then need to change Package version under WINDOW-> PACKAGE MANAGER. Feel free to check my package versions
     

    Attached Files:

  28. RJgames2020

    RJgames2020

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    How do you inport the kit to 2020.1
     
  29. quayjian

    quayjian

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all,

    I'm new to Unity, and am just getting comfortable with the 2D Game Kit. Just wondering how I can trigger the camera to focus in on certain objects (i.e door). I believe this is seen in Zone 2 of the pre-made scenes included with the Kit. Ellen will collect a key and the camera pans to the door that the key activates.

    Appreciate any sort of resource that you can point me to.

    Many thanks !
     
  30. Valjuin

    Valjuin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    481
    Timeline - Unity Learn

    Use Timeline and Cinemachine to mix gameplay & cutscenes

    Introduction to Unity Timeline | raywenderlich.com
     
  31. Csillag

    Csillag

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Everyone!
    I put a png into the first Example Scene, put a polygon collider on it, but after Ellen (the character) jumps onto it, either she stucks in the falling animation and slides down on the slope, or if its a horizontal surface she just stucks in one place playing the falling animation and i can't control her movement anymore.Maybe the player controller script doesn't seem to realize that it's a walkable surface? Meanwhile the capsule collider get stuck in a loop changing it's height for a moment, then it sets it back to normal.

    I'd like to use this game kit with my own sprites, art assets, animation and what not, but got stuck with this weird thing.
    Can anyone suggest a workaround?

    PS.: I'm not familiar with programing in C#. Thanks for the help.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2020
  32. Peter666555

    Peter666555

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Hello. Is it possible to somehow remove "keyword" from inventory controller, so i can pick up items without naming it ? Thank you.
     
  33. CookieWood

    CookieWood

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    This is a great kit ! Thanks a lot @Aurore !
    However, is there an issue with the camera shaker ? I noticed that there is a Camerashaker script and a function "Shake" called twice (hit and die on EnemyBehaviour script) But the camera doesn't shake at all. Do you guys actually have a camera shake when hitting or killing an enemy ? Thanks ! :)
     
  34. Feartheway

    Feartheway

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    This is a five star great kit but I feel it could be improved.

    The art is amazing. The structure and coding is amazing. It just seems a bit impenetrable when it comes to extending it and using own work.

    Its fine as a teaching aid but I would love to see it extended to be more useful.

    In particular the ability to integrate paid and free assets for example sunny land.
    I feel as if more needs to be done to allow people to bring in other functionality and art assets.

    In some of the best assets they have integrations with 3rd parties.

    some key assets i think should have integrations ready to go are ...

    sunnyland (free)
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/2d/characters/sunny-land-103349?aid=1101lPGj&utm_source=aff

    corgi engine (53.60 pounds)
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/templates/systems/corgi-engine-2d-2-5d-platformer-26617

    2d game template [has ladders and cool little features] (6 pounds)
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/templates/packs/2d-platformer-game-template-139368

    2d handcrafted art. [this is stunning] (free)
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/2d/environments/free-asset-2d-handcrafted-art-117049

    There are some very high quality 2d assets out there but integrating them to work together is a painful process.

    Wizards and game dev applications could take the pain out of bringing in other assets.
    For example creating characters could have a tool to take a rigged 3d asset then render it down into 2d sprite sheet and create a prefab.

    The art in this asset is AMAZING BUT its Unities IP and I sure they dont want thousands of platformers using their art without extending it.
     
  35. unity_6At15Itu25s6QQ

    unity_6At15Itu25s6QQ

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    olá estou a tentar já à algum tempo e não estou a conseguir colocar um joystick para rodar o jogo no android será que alguém me pode ajudar ?
     
  36. 3DDS

    3DDS

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I need HELP!

    Installed latest Unity 2020 v1.3, and 2D Game Kit; I'm following walkthru tutorial carefully, it's not working - first the components do not show up on screen, just bounding boxes, I found a button in tools that lights up scene, thanks for no heads up on that; Play game - screen goes black, cannot do anything;

    continued with walkthru tutorial, add more components into scene (separate ground tiles with moving paltform); Play again - screen goes black AGAIN, cannot do anything, except hear sound efx from keys "o" & "k"; press pause to see no character and moving platform in different positions in loop - that's all I can see;

    then installed 2 rapid updates of v1.4, and v1.6 within a week; project is unusable, started again with same results.

    I really need to know what to do so I can learn to create my own 2D game project.
    Do I need an older install of Unity???...now I see that 2019 LTS is latest most stable version, should I have installed that instead?

    I see 2D Game Kit announces:

    "File size - 299.9 MB
    Latest version - 1.9.3
    Latest release date - Jul 21, 2020
    Support Unity versions - 2017.3.0 or higher"

    I have Dell XPS, Intel 8 quad core i7 processor @ 3.40GHz,12GB RAM, Nvidia GForce GT640 graphics card.
    =============================================
    Why doesn't this 2D Game Kit work with newest Unity version?
    What Unity version is recommended?
    Why is it so hard to find answers for problems with newest updates & installs?

    Can I follow other (regular) Unity Learning tutorials? or are they exclusive to new Unity only? 2D only?
    I want to learn the 2D Game Kit's no coding workflow!!

    Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.
    ...latest post here is from Feb, 2018???
    -3DDS
     
  37. rdez11

    rdez11

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am running Unity 2019.4.6 and Imported this no problem but when I go to play a scene I keep getting the following error, any advice?

    Library/PackageCache/com.unity.textmeshpro@3.0.0-preview.14/Scripts/Runtime/TMP_DefaultControls.cs(191,22): error CS1061: 'RectMask2D' does not contain a definition for 'padding' and no accessible extension method 'padding' accepting a first argument of type 'RectMask2D' could be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)
     
  38. appsolutelywonderful

    appsolutelywonderful

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am going through the tutorial for this kit, I just created a new project and I'm getting this error. I haven't modified anything yet.

    Lut3DBaker.compute: Kernel at index (2) is invalid
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr, Boolean&)
     
  39. Alejadv

    Alejadv

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I have the exactly same problem, did you solved it?
     
  40. Valjuin

    Valjuin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    481
    Alejadv likes this.
  41. aiman00

    aiman00

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Can someone help me,i put edge collider at the sprite shape shown, whenever the character at the above collider it remain at jumping state upload_2020-10-25_22-10-18.png
     
  42. Mohammad_Samad

    Mohammad_Samad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Hello team,
    I want to build this game for webgl but for some reasons the game just crashes in the browsers and doesn't work. Kindly help me out
     
  43. Mohammad_Samad

    Mohammad_Samad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same issue, did u figure out a way to run in webgl?
     
  44. AD99

    AD99

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, this is my first time using the 2D game kit and it works fine until today that the tile palette does not open for me and I have tried everything from uninstalling the game kit, restarting my computer and creating a shortcut for the tile palette. Has this happened to anyone else or is it my computer?
     
  45. mutawapawa

    mutawapawa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi everyone! I just started the 2d game kit and was asked to install Unity version 2020.1.11f, and I barely started the tutorial, and immediately hit my first issue. When I drag the moving platform into scene view, I can't see the dotted arrow that shows where the platform will move. I've uploaded a screenshot, hoping someone can help me with this matter. Many thanks in advance!!
     

    Attached Files:

  46. mutawapawa

    mutawapawa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    nevermind... Had to activate gizmos which was off by default
     
  47. hunterflanagan

    hunterflanagan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    i just imported the package into an up to date version of unity. for some reason, there is an error on the console about the name "VersionControlSettings" not existing. is this normal? i also have a warning saying the editor layout could not be fully loaded.
     
  48. CocosGames

    CocosGames

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    My trouble is
    MissingMethodException: Attempted to access a missing method.
    UnityEngine.SceneManagement.SceneManagerAPIInternal.LoadSceneAsyncNameIndexInternal (System.String sceneName, System.Int32 sceneBuildIndex, UnityEngine.SceneManagement.LoadSceneParameters parameters, System.Boolean mustCompleteNextFrame) (at <04258d1cdc1044248c2a17a6a31a3cf7>:0)
    UnityEngine.SceneManagement.SceneManager.LoadSceneAsyncNameIndexInternal (System.String sceneName, System.Int32 sceneBuildIndex, UnityEngine.SceneManagement.LoadSceneParameters parameters, System.Boolean mustCompleteNextFrame) (at <04258d1cdc1044248c2a17a6a31a3cf7>:0)
    UnityEngine.SceneManagement.SceneManager.LoadSceneAsync (System.String sceneName, UnityEngine.SceneManagement.LoadSceneParameters parameters) (at <04258d1cdc1044248c2a17a6a31a3cf7>:0)
    UnityEngine.SceneManagement.SceneManager.LoadSceneAsync (System.String sceneName) (at <04258d1cdc1044248c2a17a6a31a3cf7>:0)
    Gamekit2D.SceneController+<Transition>d__16.MoveNext () (at Assets/2DGamekit/Scripts/SceneManagement/SceneController.cs:115)
    UnityEngine.SetupCoroutine.InvokeMoveNext (System.Collections.IEnumerator enumerator, System.IntPtr returnValueAddress) (at <04258d1cdc1044248c2a17a6a3

    When loading the next scene.
    Unity 2020.1.6f1 with all lastest packages on Windows 10 .
     
  49. frankpattyn

    frankpattyn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    In Zone 2, there is a hubdoor. when I collected all keys. I get the interaction canvas to press E when standing on front of the hubdoor. When I press E, what is supposed to happen. In my case, nothing happens and the interaction canvas stays there until I move left or right. What could be the reason for this ?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  50. SpitfyreRose

    SpitfyreRose

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Unity 2019.4.15f1(states up to date) I was following the tutorial for the 2D Gamekit. I couldn't even make it far because the tutorial called for placing the prefab scene 1. In the tutorial the guy just loaded it and tested it in game mode. When I click on game mode, it gives me error: error CS0120: An object reference is required for non-static field, method, or property 'TMP_ProjectConversionUtility.VersionControl'. I clicked on the error and it took me into the TMP_PackageUtilities.cs script. On a previous post I found for that error code it stated to change the name. I have been trying different things to no avail. Little frustrated and stuck. Anyone with further experience have any advice for this?