Search Unity

Unity 2D Game Kit Official Thread

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Aurore, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. thenewkgb82

    thenewkgb82

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Posts:
    49
    It's ok. When I was in TilesetGameKit, I had to select the arrow symbol and in the inspector I found TilesetRockRules. It's working now.
     
  2. thenewkgb82

    thenewkgb82

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Posts:
    49
    Anyone tried getting Ellen to light up with a Point Light? Even when "everything" is selected to light, Ellen is not affected.
     
  3. EsimioJ

    EsimioJ

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    hi there
    I just downloaded the 2018.3 and strting the 2d game tutorial i got this errors:


    [Auto Package] : Checking if required packages are included

    UnityEngine.Debug:Log(Object)

    PackageChecker:CheckPackage() (at Assets/2DGamekit/Scripts/Editor/PackageManagerAssembly/PackageManagerAssembly/PackageManagerChecker.cs:30)

    UnityEditor.EditorAssemblies:processInitializeOnLoadAttributes()



    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(28,6): error CS0012: The type 'Attribute' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(31,6): error CS0616: 'SaveDuringPlay' is not an attribute class


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(28,57): error CS0012: The type 'Enum' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(28,63): error CS0012: The type 'Enum' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(28,6): error CS0012: The type 'Enum' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(84,29): error CS0012: The type 'Enum' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(84,46): error CS0012: The type 'ValueType' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    Assets/2DGamekit/Utilities/CinemachinePostProcessingV2/CinemachinePostProcessing.cs(82,33): error CS0012: The type 'Enum' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'netstandard, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=cc7b13ffcd2ddd51'.


    help!!
     
  4. gytarplyr07

    gytarplyr07

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I probably fat-fingered something at some point, but can someone PLEASE tell me how to get Ellen's health meter to show up on the screen again? It's present in every level EXCEPT for the one I am building. PLEASE HELP!
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2019
  5. Xmblpb

    Xmblpb

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    +1

     
  6. thenewkgb82

    thenewkgb82

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Posts:
    49
    In search of lighting up Ellen, I've taken away her chest and foot lights, added her to Layer LitSprites and played around with Sprite Renderer... but she still doesn't change colour!
     
  7. thenewkgb82

    thenewkgb82

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Posts:
    49
    Done it. I created a new Material and chose Sprites>Diffuse. She now glows red when I've upped the Dropship light!
     
  8. Yassire1

    Yassire1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    hello bro
    how did you manage to add screen controls and how did you relate them to the actual code ? trying to make this out!
    help me please!
     
  9. NobleValerian

    NobleValerian

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I certainly feel like I'm more familiar with how this kit works, but I don't feel like I've learned hardly anything about Unity itself from this kit, or about building 2D games that aren't simple tweaks to this existing project.
     
  10. aburleigh94

    aburleigh94

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Is there a reason why Ellen seems to "fall" off of sloped colliders? I'm trying to mess around with the new SpriteShape and no matter what I try she slips off of any edge or polygon colliders.
     
  11. aburleigh94

    aburleigh94

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    In case anyone else has this issue, it turned out i needed to set the SpriteShape layer to "Platform" so that the character knew it was grounded.
     
  12. DustyDreamer

    DustyDreamer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I have this Error Assets/2DGamekit/Scripts/Character/Editor/PlayerInputEditor.cs(17,45): error CS0117: `UnityEditor.PrefabUtility' does not contain a definition for `GetCorrespondingObjectFromSource'
    when i tried to start scene
     
  13. kenpusney

    kenpusney

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for your help.
    How to build the example game?
     
  14. kenpusney

    kenpusney

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    How to build the example game?
     
  15. Shedokan

    Shedokan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Couldn't find a place to report this, but when following step 6 I got an "index out of range" error in the Transition Point coming from the `SceneNameDrawer` class.

    It seems the Setup() function loads all scenes including the deletes ones(seen on the screenshots in the tutorial), and then tried to split empty strings.
    I've come up with a solution to skip the non-enabled scenes like so.

    Change the code from:
    EditorBuildSettingsScene[] scenes = EditorBuildSettings.scenes;


    to:
    EditorBuildSettingsScene[] scenes = EditorBuildSettings.scenes.Where(x => x.enabled).ToArray();



    EDIT: This might be the same as https://forum.unity.com/threads/2d-game-kit-official-thread.517249/page-4#post-3575476 just feels like a more proper solution IMHO
     
  16. developeration1

    developeration1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hey, I have a little of a problem here...
    Im totally new to Unity, so I'm trying to make all tutorials available and started with this one, however when it opens the project, it sends me all of this errors:
    upload_2019-1-7_20-18-58.png

    It also says at the beggining of the "Getting Started" PDF that there should be at the top menu 3 buttons wich I dont find:

    Tutorial image:
    upload_2019-1-7_20-21-58.png

    My menu:
    upload_2019-1-7_20-22-25.png

    ¿Is there some way to fix this?
     
  17. hylpetter

    hylpetter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I don't have tool kits on the top menu
     
  18. Jyricee

    Jyricee

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I am experiencing the same problem and can not seem to find the solution. It is supposedly to register collecting of the key automatically, could there be something in the scripting?
     
  19. Iago-Theophilo

    Iago-Theophilo

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Posts:
    1
  20. kimalemard

    kimalemard

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, not sure if you've solved this yet but the Asset Store is under the Window tab. You should see Ctrl+9 to the right on the menu.
     
  21. vorora

    vorora

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    34
    Hi! I tried to find out how do you disable player input while cutscene is showing (Zone 2, when got the key, for example). I searched on Timeline and scripts but still didn't find out how you do it.

    Thanks.
     
  22. bocal_a_anchois

    bocal_a_anchois

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    +1 for me.
    Same error with Unity 2018.3.1f1 and Cinemachine 2.2.0 on Mac.
     
  23. tengyuma

    tengyuma

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    +1
    thank you for any help on these error messages! a bunch of cs0012 errors and a cs0616 error.
    I'm using macOS 10.14.2 with Unity 2018.3.0f2.
    Thanks!
     
  24. Locomule

    Locomule

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I was just playing through, hadn't edited anything when I encountered a bug. I had reached this point in Zone 4 and was on the moving platform when the spitter hit me. I fell down onto the platform and lost as heart as expected but the player froze while laying on the ground and continued to ride along on top of the platform until the spitter hit me enough times to finish off my hearts. I tried pressing all kinds of keys but stayed frozen in the prone position while riding back and forth.
    Sorry if this is a known issue, I looked around for it a bit and didn't see it. I also went back and played through the same area some more times but the bug did not appear again, everything worked normally. The bug only occurred on my 1st attempt. I was not using the F12 options, I'd found my gear earlier while playing.
    (edit:not sure why my screenshot isn't showing? It appears when I edit the post, sorry)
     
  25. Left4dead2igrat

    Left4dead2igrat

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Сant open 2d game kit from the past version to new one. Help to fix pls upload_2019-1-19_11-36-20.png
     
  26. davidobado

    davidobado

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    The script of the 2d kit is showing 100 errors. Am so comfused right now.
     
  27. animelover1200

    animelover1200

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    how can i bind keyboard keys to android touch buttons?? can i build this on android without perfromance lost?
     
  28. Terror_Vision

    Terror_Vision

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    First, let me day that these assets are absolutely beautiful and the entire package is truly fantastic. Great job on everything!

    I am having a problem with the following instruction on Part 6.

    I attempt to drag Ellen GameObject from the Hierarchy and into the Transitioning Game Object in the Transition Point (Script). The cursor changes as if it will allow me to drop the GameObject, but it does not actually add it to the script itself.
     
  29. farazk86

    farazk86

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    Is it possible to save the tilemap generated platforms as prefabs? I want to break out of the tile system and use the extracted prefabs in my game? I read that there was a way to extract the tiles to prefabs but was removed., Is that true?
     
  30. JonQuxBurton

    JonQuxBurton

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Will not download. Gets stuck every time, before it reaches 30%. How do I download it?
     
  31. ash_izu

    ash_izu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I'm having trouble with using Teleport for 2D Game Kits. Can anyone help me? I'm using Unity 2018.3.3f1
     
  32. thescorpinator

    thescorpinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    HI there,
    I've recently downloaded the asset, I'm on mac OsX and tried it with unity 2018.2.20f1.

    I don't see the "kit tools" toolbar, the scene is empty and I get 649 errors looking like:
    Rebuilding GUID cache: Deleting metadata Packages/com.unity.modules.unityanalytics because the asset doesn't exist anymore.
    MetaData path library/metadata/d6/d6c6a000a805f00649b36b542e8426c2

    then 690 looking like:
    MethodAccessException: Method `UnityEditor.Analytics.AnalyticsSettings:get_enabledForPlatform ()' is inaccessible from method `UnityEditor.Analytics.AnalyticsImporter:<AnalyticsImporter>m__6 (UnityEditor.BuildTarget,System.Collections.Generic.HashSet`1<string>)'

    UnityEditor.Build.BuildDefines.GetScriptCompilationDefines (BuildTarget target, System.String[] defines) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/BuildPipeline/Editor/Managed/BuildDefines.cs:20)
    UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility:GetCompilationDefines(EditorScriptCompilationOptions, BuildTargetGroup, BuildTarget, ApiCompatibilityLevel)
    UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility:GetCompilationDefines(EditorScriptCompilationOptions, BuildTargetGroup, BuildTarget) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/InternalEditorUtility.cs:424)
    UnityEditor.AssetPostprocessingInternal:postprocessAllAssets(String[], String[], String[], String[], String[])

    What to do ? (I'm new to unity)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  33. thescorpinator

    thescorpinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Have you tried downloading it straight from the assetstore in unity ?
     

    Attached Files:

  34. JDawg

    JDawg

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Startup Error

    Open Unity 2018.3.3f1 -> Learn Tutorials -> Start 2D Game Kit -> Picture below.
     

    Attached Files:

  35. JDawg

    JDawg

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Update: Open Unity 2018.3.3f1 -> Create New Project -> 2D w/ 2DGameKit as an extra.
    Opening successful. Resolved as a work around.
     
  36. PhanTooom

    PhanTooom

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    мне нужна ваша помощь, друзья. расскажите подробнее как скачать)
     
  37. amr_Ahmed

    amr_Ahmed

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    i am stuck in lesson 6 because when i drag ellen to the transitioning game object(in the transition point (script)) nothing change it still point to none game object i treid to drag ellen in unity 2018.3.2 and i download unity 2018.3.5 version because i think that the problem will solve but Unfortunately the problem still .
    this link of the gif vedio which shows the problem : https://media.giphy.com/media/9Y75wYAX3tX02g9D7k/giphy.gif
     
  38. joegamer07

    joegamer07

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    This is a great 2D game kit.
    I just built it on Android and it looks good too.

    I'm trying to add the mobile touch controls now.
    I created a new TouchControlCanvas prefab. In it I put four arrows, a jump button, sword and action buttons.
    I'm adding a script to it that will call on these functions in the main player controller script.
    These are the scripts that I found would need to be modified in some way.

    PlayerInput.cs (This one contains the input detection and resets the action)
    InputComponent.cs (This one seems to manage the input types keyboard, xbox. It has a list of input types, and keys etc.)

    *CharacterController2D.cs (This one seems to be the one that has the actual player physical controls, etc)

    Any help appreciated.

    NOTE FOR UNITY:
    It would make the world a better place for us "Non Coding Designers" if we were able to use gui buttons on a canvas. Very much like the start screen. On the on click () we would link it to the player game object that already contains the control script, call on the function "Jump" and than reset back to false. We wouldn't need any new code :). It would just work out of the box in mobile. I think...I'm i missing something? I tried this, but it didn't work. It really is expecting input form a joystick or key board. I couldn't find a way to bypass the input device and just call the function.
    Is there a way to do this?

    My thoughts are that there out put code is the same in all platforms.
    I just would like to be able to get to mobile faster.

    Thanks
     
    kavindubimsara likes this.
  39. davcin

    davcin

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    First, I am a complete noob in Unity.
    How do you use the Kit to make a new game?
    Without Elen, without the pre-existing assets.
    What I am missing?
     
  40. richardc3d

    richardc3d

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Apologies for asking a common question, but the answer seems to vary depending on the source. Are we allowed to use specific assets from the game kits as assets in our own games, even for commercial purposes? I.e., could someone use the Ellen character as part of their own game? Or a piece of vegetation, or a crystal, or a door, or an animation taken directly from the game kits?
     
  41. BeHedi89

    BeHedi89

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I have a problem to transport Ellen to another scene. I use Transition Point, but when I would like to change the setting I get something else then in the Tutorial and I can't transport Ellen to a different scene.

    I see this: Képkivágás.PNG


    Why I can't see this:
    Képkivágás1.PNG
    Can anyone help me with this? What is wrong?
    Thanks.
     
  42. RaviVohra

    RaviVohra

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    can i use its asset for making games for app and play store
     
  43. JomppupomppuX

    JomppupomppuX

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I need some assets from the 2d Gamekit, but i have Unity 5.6, which is not convenient with the 2d game kit. Should I change to Unity 2017 or is there any other free choices to get simple 2d humans for my game
     
  44. Wittman2019

    Wittman2019

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello:

    I am new to Unity - very unexperienced. I downloaded Unity version 2018.3.8f1 and then downloaded the sample 2D Game Kit after watching the tutorial. Immediately after the kit loads, I get the following:

    Screen Shot 2019-03-11 at 16.18.58.png

    Then any attempt to run a game after creating a new scene generates the following:


    Screen Shot 2019-03-11 at 16.22.21.png


    MAC OS Mojave 10.14.3
    27" 5K Retina
    16 GB RAM
    Radeon Pro 580 8192 MB Graphics

    Thanks for any help.
     
  45. bedny93

    bedny93

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    The same here. Would appreciate some help with this issue.
     
  46. Dmitry_Konopelkin

    Dmitry_Konopelkin

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello!
    First of all I would to thank developers for the gamekit.

    Luckily, I don't stuck on a technical issues, but there are others)

    1. How to create cave-like background? Looks like it have to be made of TilemapGrid. There is one on a fourth zone, called Tilemap_BG. I tried to create the same 2D Object->Tilemap, but it didn't work.
    2. What is an elegant way to remove "keys" from inventory after event (teleportation, in my case)?
    3. There are MovingPlatforms on a fourth zone, with attached PressurePads. I tried to assemble them by myself but they don't work as should be: if Ellen press pad then platform start moving and Ellen doesn't. How to fix it?

    Thanks for help,
    Dmitry.
     

    Attached Files:

  47. Stasoncheg

    Stasoncheg

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I have the exact same problem ! Has anyone solved this problem yet ?
     
  48. militarybeetle

    militarybeetle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    God bless dude, I got the same problem but can't fix it.

    Basically my problem is that when you go to drop in Ellen, the player, the script doesn't let you drop her in as the transitioning game object. I even went to the developer levels to see if I could delete Ellen from the transitioning game object and re-drag and drop her.

    The script still refused to add her.

    Note this problem doesn't happen when you transition within the same scene

    Here's another thread with the same issue: https://forum.unity.com/threads/2d-...nsitionstart-issues-2018-3of2personal.606520/

    Give us some love devs! Pretty please
     
  49. Keeetrab

    Keeetrab

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Create a new project and download 2D Game Kit through asset store there. It seems that its broken when you do it through Unity Hub ->Learn->Tutorial Projects
     
  50. leo_sasseron

    leo_sasseron

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    How can i add double jump to Ellen?