Search Unity

  1. Going to #UniteBerlin? Bring a buddy & get 25% off the 2nd ticket! More info here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Famed game designer and creator of The Sims, SimCIty, and Spore is looking for a 3D artist to join their team. Join the challenge.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.4 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. We've opened a new World Building sub-forum to faciltate all your world building discussions! Drop in and ask any ProBuilder, ProGrids, or PolyBrush questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Official 2D Game Kit Official Thread

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Aurore, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. muhammad661

    muhammad661

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    hello

    i have downloaded the pack but when i click play in unity it just shows blue screen nothing else. what should i do ?
     
  2. perej222

    perej222

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I'm also having issues downloading the kit from the asset store, my version of unity is up to date. Anyone else know the reason why?
     
  3. Madspeitersen

    Madspeitersen

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hey. Thanks for a great 2D kit. Does anyone know how to change the Color Overlay that is being drawn on top of all graphics. My Colors keep being slightly "pinkys" ?

    Thanks,
     
  4. Madspeitersen

    Madspeitersen

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I think I got it, it was the color grading in GlobalPostProcessingProfile. Newbie mistake ;)
     
  5. JacekPapaPolski

    JacekPapaPolski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Sybere,
    The sprites were all drawn in Photoshop and exported as .png files into Unity.

    Hey TokyoDan,
    Don't worry the live session will be uploaded to YouTube shortly!

    Hi Lifeordeal,
    Touch controls aren't supported by our game kit but feel free to figure it out yourself using the tutorials over at: https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/s/mobile-touch


    Hey Nix-Nox,
    Sorry to hear about this problem! Did you download the beta release of the Game kit before it's full release? The _TemplateScene functionality was added after the beta release of the kit. If you make sure to delete your current version of the project (C:\Users\YourUsername\AppData\Roaming\Unity\Asset Store-5.x\Unity Technologies\UnityEssentialsSampleProjects) and re-download the 2D Game Kit on the Asset Store. Hopefully this will help resolve your problem!
     
  6. Aminpk

    Aminpk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    how can i create my own character, as available in art folder, i can create a character in photoshop, but the series of photos for animation made me tired. please reply
     
    valonsoft likes this.
  7. PokaMunkee

    PokaMunkee

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I have a massive lag or slowness even though my fps is 100+. My pc is i5, 8gig ram with nvidia 1060. I've tried reinstalling but the kit still runs slowly. First time trying any sort of program such as unity so sorry if the solution is obvious. Thanks.
     
  8. valakot

    valakot

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    13
  9. trebor-7

    trebor-7

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi. I'm new in the forum.

    How can I do to have multiple instances of the player in the same scene?
     
  10. JackieBalls123

    JackieBalls123

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    So i have tried to down load it multiple times and every time it pops up with an error report asking me to report it what do i do
     
  11. anilo

    anilo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    I am loving the game.
    I am stuck in Zone 4 for some reason.
    The character has picked up two keys so far. But, the character is unable to move forward in Zone4.

    https://screencast.com/t/RGA3gUUCWE
     
  12. anilo

    anilo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2018
  13. Miketysonjr

    Miketysonjr

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    you forgot to pick up your weapon at zone 2 or 3 , you need a gun to shot the switch above of door ....

    And i have a question ,... when i adjusted " shots per second" in ranged setting ,... initial is 2 , then i changed it to 200 ,... and there is nothing change at speed attack when i try to shot ??? What happened ???
     
  14. JulioJAB

    JulioJAB

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    First of all, congratulations for the excelente Package, very complete.
    Now, I´m having a problema with the Tilemap (in this case, the floor under ELLEN), it desapear from all scenes (see image below). I already try to delete de package and install it again, but de problem persist. I´m using the Unity version "2017.3.1f1 Personal".
    If anyone can help, I´ll appreciate very much.
    Thanks for now.
    Captura de tela 2018-03-15 10.56.25.png
     
  15. UnityDeveloper2

    UnityDeveloper2

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, small bug to report in 2DGameKit/Scripts/Character/MonoBehaviours/Damager.cs
    [Tooltip("If set, the player will be forced to respawn to latest checkpoint in addition to loosing life")]
    [Tooltip("If set, an invincible damageable hit will still get the onHit message (but won't loose any life)")]

    loosing and loose should be losing and lose, respectively.

    Anyways, great kit, if there's better places to report bugs, let me know. It might motivate me to write up some of the more complicated bugs I've found.
     
  16. masterBo40

    masterBo40

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hello . I have updated on the 17th of February. After that, the project does not turn on. Instead, there is an empty gray screen and this. ://gyazo.com/ad116d5a9a6a655224728382a386e3d0
     
  17. anilo

    anilo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Just tried to make a mobile version. Performance is awful. Would greatly appreciate any pointers you might have on how I can improve the performance on mobile.
     
    valakot likes this.
  18. yazidane

    yazidane

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    can i upload game created using this kit to play store
     
  19. valakot

    valakot

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    You sure can if you don't just upload it as is but make something of your own with it. Your levels, your story and so on and so forth.
     
  20. valakot

    valakot

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Any news on 3D version?
     
  21. Aurore

    Aurore

    Producer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,092
    Funny you should say that, check back in the next few days :)
     
    valakot likes this.
  22. Aurore

    Aurore

    Producer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,092
    valakot likes this.
  23. valakot

    valakot

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    13
  24. gwolf

    gwolf

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    Could anyone direct me to where the code is that handles the parallax effect on the backgrounds. I'd like to dig into it a little deeper but can't figure out how it's been set up.
    Thanks.
     
  25. Hopenow

    Hopenow

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, first of I would love to thank your whole team for making this kit....I've always wanted to make video games and now im on step 1 of a 5 to 10 years goal of making something worthwhile. Well more like .0000001 step of 1 but either way im on the way.

    My situation is i'm messing around with the background, assets>art>sprites> environment.
    My question is how do you get them behind in the background b/c its currently blocking the "tile" or path?
     
  26. JacekPapaPolski

    JacekPapaPolski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Gwolf!
    There's no code needed to make parallax work! :) Simply move the sprites along the Z-axis and the distance from the camera will get picked up and give the illusion of parallax motion. You will see that the majority of our sprites are separated into "Background" or "Foreground" where they are then further moved along the Z-axis for this depth-scrolling illusion!


    Hey Hopenow,
    Glad you're enjoying the kit and welcome to your game creation journey! :)
    When your background appears in front of tiles there are two things to check for which to fix this: Firstly make sure that the Z-axis distance of the background is the same as that of the TilemapGrid (they should both be set to 0 by default)
    Next, like all the other parts of this kit which contain sprites, the background gameobject should have a "Sprite Renderer" attached to it. Within this sprite Renderer you will find "Order in Layer". This "Order in Layer" is the number you want to change to any negative number - The Tilemap is rendered on 0, so any number below 0 will appear behind the tilemap tiles, much like any number above 0 will appear in front of the tilemap tiles. It's important to keep in mind other objects as well however (In case you have any decorative plants for example you'd want to set them to -1, and the background to -2 for example)
     
  27. Hopenow

    Hopenow

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hey Hopenow,
    Glad you're enjoying the kit and welcome to your game creation journey! :)
    When your background appears in front of tiles there are two things to check for which to fix this: Firstly make sure that the Z-axis distance of the background is the same as that of the TilemapGrid (they should both be set to 0 by default)
    Next, like all the other parts of this kit which contain sprites, the background gameobject should have a "Sprite Renderer" attached to it. Within this sprite Renderer you will find "Order in Layer". This "Order in Layer" is the number you want to change to any negative number - The Tilemap is rendered on 0, so any number below 0 will appear behind the tilemap tiles, much like any number above 0 will appear in front of the tilemap tiles. It's important to keep in mind other objects as well however (In case you have any decorative plants for example you'd want to set them to -1, and the background to -2 for example)[/QUOTE]


    Thank you very much, it works! One minor problem I bump into...when i play around with the new scene I made, occasionally Ellen will bump into a hidden "tile"? where i would jump and something not there will obstruct Ellen. It's possible to hop on it too. I closed everything and reload the map. I tried to hold shift and erase the spot. Press w to highlight the area if there is something over there and none of them works. Any idea how to solve the minor bug?
     
  28. louislegros

    louislegros

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I'm trying to figure out a way to edit the state machines or player input scripts to implement double jump. I'm having a bit of a hard time going through the files and figuring out where/how the jumping is implementing and modifying it.

    I think the call to start a jump is in LocomotionSMB, but I'm not 100% sure & how much I'd have to change with the way controls are implemented.

    edit:
    I found out a way.

    I added a function in PlayerCharacter.CS to check for double jumping. I then call that function from AirborneSMB to test if I should make a call to SetVerticalMovement.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2018
  29. TherealDrJ

    TherealDrJ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello I am having the same issue the first person on this thread mentioned. For some reason when I click the download button nothing happens. I've tried other assets and they download fine. I have the latest version of unity. Please help!
     
  30. louislegros

    louislegros

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I ran into another issue. I was trying to make a timed race/puzzle.

    My idea was to have a pressure pad open a door across the level. I linked the pad and the door and the opening worked fine. However, I wanted to on release of the pressurepad to call the animator to close the door after say 60 seconds.

    I could not figure out how to add a delay to invocation of the animator.play(string) function.
     
  31. anilo

    anilo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    How can I learn more about the Behavior tree(AI) functionality?
    I've read the one pager here: https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/projects/2d-game-kit/behaviour-tree?playlist=49633
    and I've tried to follow the code here: MissileGolem.cs

    Is there any type of documentation/direction that you can provide so that I can understand a bit more about Behavior trees and how it is applied in this game?

    Some type of learning path would be helpful.
     
  32. valonsoft

    valonsoft

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Looking great so far. Any tips on how to replace the main character (Ellen) would be much appreciated
     
  33. whdeejay

    whdeejay

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for the kit it's great, but I'm having the same question a few people made and it has not been answered... How do you replace Ellen for out own character .. Please Help .. Thanks a Million.
     
  34. pantlessbandit

    pantlessbandit

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello! I am using Unity 2017.4.0.f1 and just downloaded the 2d Game kit. After clicking `Start` Unity opens and then there is nothing but blank windows. I can see the assets in the project directory but nothing loads so I cant play the game or even see it. Not sure if this is why but when I open it in unity I see a warning message saying "SendMessage cannot be called during Awake, CheckConsistency, or OnValidate." Total Unity nub here and would appreciate some guidance as I couldnt find it in the docs. Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  35. anilo

    anilo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Could you share the original PSD file for the Ellen character so that I can enhance it?
    Then I could add more animations to it as well.
     
  36. prethon

    prethon

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Can I use some art asset in my game?
     
  37. web2ajax

    web2ajax

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    InfoPost


    Alguém sabe onde conseguir os textos? Não consigo editar textos do InfoPost1, alguém tem um vídeo ou um tutorial? Eu não encontrei nada na documentação. obrigado