Search Unity

2D dodge roll

Discussion in 'Physics' started by polydark, Aug 8, 2016.

1. polydark

polydark

hey everyone, i want to try dodge-rolling a dude similar to the dodge mechanic in Enter the Gungeon.
    i'm a coding noob and have this currently on a sprite with a Rigidbody2D component :

Code (CSharp):
    1. Rigidbody2D rb2d;
    2.     public float moveSpeed; //speed var
    3.     public float roll; //roll distance
    5.     void Start ()
    6.     {
    7.         rb2d = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D> ();
    9.     }
    12.     void FixedUpdate ()
    13.     {
    14.         MovePlayer ();
    15.     }
    18.     void MovePlayer ()
    19.     {
    20.          //get H and V vars
    21.         float hMove = Input.GetAxisRaw ("Horizontal");
    22.         float vMove = Input.GetAxisRaw ("Vertical");
    24.         //move player
    25.         Vector2 movement = new Vector2 (hMove, vMove);
    26.         rb2d.velocity = movement * moveSpeed;
    29.          //check for space key to roll player only when moving
    30.         if (Input.GetKeyDown (KeyCode.Space) && movement.x != 0)
    31.         {
    32.             // dodge/roll player left/right
    33.         }
    34.         else if (Input.GetKeyDown (KeyCode.Space) && movement.y != 0)
    35.         {
    36.             // dodge/roll player up/down
    37.         }
    38.     }
    am i on the right path and if so how would i actually dodge-roll the player in the direction hes going?

2. polydark

polydark

Ok so i played around and got this :

Code (CSharp):
    1.         Rigidbody2D rb2d;
    2.     public float moveSpeed; //speed var
    3.     public float roll; //roll distance
    5.     void Start ()
    6.     {
    7.         rb2d = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D> ();
    9.     }
    12.     void FixedUpdate ()
    13.     {
    14.         MovePlayer ();
    15.     }
    18.     void MovePlayer ()
    19.     {
    20.          //get H and V vars