Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

2d cutscenes?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by A_Person_Named_Dart, Jul 14, 2019.

  1. A_Person_Named_Dart

    A_Person_Named_Dart

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Posts:
    330
    What is the best way to make 2d cutscenes? Would it be best to animate the entire cutscene outside of unity and import it in, or should i make an animator that controls the entire scene and plays different animations when they are needed?
     
  2. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,624
    Cinemachine, Timeline, go nuts.
     
  3. aer0ace

    aer0ace

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Posts:
    1,175
    I have to thank you for this. I'm working on a 3D game, and I need procedural cutscenes, and I hadn't heard of Cinemachine or Timeline until this post. I've been living in a 5.6.3 life for quite some time, and wasn't really looking for a reason to upgrade to 2017.x and beyond. If Cinemachine was what I needed, it would save me hours, if not days, of developer effort for the next 6-12 months. I read that Cinemachine's most current updates are in 2018.2+.

    I took the plunge over the weekend, and tried out 2018.2.21f1 and VS2017. I ended up not having to update any of my project or any of its assets, other than AssetBundleManager, which had some webplayer code in there, which has since been removed from Unity. And now, I can play with Cinemachine, something that I was going to custom code myself. Not only that, I get a few other benefits of 2018.2, namely 64-bit Android support, to upgrade my existing games.

    So, thanks. It's been a fruitful and painless upgrade.
     
    Joe-Censored and Lurking-Ninja like this.