Search Unity

Question 2D Character not facing the direction of movement anymore (C#)

Discussion in '2D' started by SkrenZz, Jun 2, 2020.

1. SkrenZz

SkrenZz

Hi there,

I have an issue with 2D character movement and animation (I am also new to 2D games with characters). I've rigged and animated a character to be idle, run, and jump. Everything was working as expected and the character faced the direction of movement initially. Then, I decided to improve my jumping animation, and made the character's scale change so that it becomes slightly taller when jumping, and added a "bounce" animation which changes the character's scale to become shorter for a brief second and then back to its original height.

Once I've made these improvements, the character doesn't face the right direction of movement anymore even when the idle/running animations are being played, despite the fact I haven't changed those.

Here is the code responsible for the movement (happens in the Update function):
    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (movement > 0.01f)
    2.         {
    3.             this.animator.SetBool("isRunning", true);
    4.             this.animator.SetFloat("runSpeed", movement);
    6.             this.transform.Translate(this.movementSpeed * movement * Time.deltaTime, 0f, 0f);
    7.             this.transform.localScale = this.leftScale;
    8.         }
    9.         else if (movement < -0.01f)
    10.         {
    11.             this.animator.SetBool("isRunning", true);
    12.             this.animator.SetFloat("runSpeed", -movement);
    14.             this.transform.Translate(this.movementSpeed * movement * Time.deltaTime, 0f, 0f);
    15.             this.transform.localScale = this.rightScale;
    16.         }
    17.         else
    18.         {
    19.             this.animator.SetBool("isRunning", false);
    20.         }
    The values of this.leftScale and this.rightScale are initialized in the Start function:
    Code (CSharp):