Search Unity

2D character control when using joint (bone) animations on complex characters

Discussion in '2D' started by grippie, Mar 16, 2018.

1. grippie

grippie

I'm using some assets that I purchased from the asset store to do a top down Zelda A link to the past type of game. The characters that were in the set are amazing, but with the detail comes some complications for me.

I'm new to unity, but not game development. I've worked on 2d simple animated sprite games, however the setup of these characters is confusing me. I'm not sure how to make them controlled by a script, or access the various animation states. All the tutorials I've seen only deal with simple 3 state sprite animation with one controller to access the states. i.e facing up, down, side, side flipped

The character is divided into many, many sprites and there is a script for changing armor and all kinds of stuff to easily make a bunch of different types of characters. The problem I'm having is that these are made up of prefabs where the animators are connected to these sub states and not the main character node. Each direction has a set of very deep folders and the main directions of down, up, side each have a hierarchy. The animators are connected to each of those nodes and there is only one visible node at a time. i.e. in the image below up, left and right are not visible in the scene as they are unchecked.

character heirarchy.PNG

Each controller has it's own set of states. I'm not sure how to access all of these different states, or if I'm supposed to create a new all encompassing controller that attaches to the top node.

animation controller down -> down idle, down walk, down attack etc
    animation controller side-> side idle, side walk, side attack etc
    animation controller up-> up idle, up walk, up attack etc