Search Unity

2D Camera (Follow player vertically) Help Needed

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SoftReckonStudios, Feb 19, 2021.

1. SoftReckonStudios

SoftReckonStudios

Hello there. I humbly need help on my script. I have this script for making the 2D camera follow the player.
    It works perfectly on the horizontal (the x-axis) but not on vertical, such that when the player moves down below the camera in the level he goes completely off.
    I will be very much grateful if I can be assisted as I am very new to Unity. Thanks in advance.

Heres my code:

public class Camera_Controller : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public GameObject player;
    public float offset;
    private Vector3 playerPosition;
    public float offsetSmoothing;
    // Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {
    }
    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
    playerPosition = new Vector3(player.transform.position.x, transform.position.y, transform.position.z);
    if (player.transform.localScale.x > 0f)
    {
    playerPosition = new Vector3(playerPosition.x + offset, playerPosition.y, playerPosition.z);
    }
    else
    {
    playerPosition = new Vector3(playerPosition.x - offset, playerPosition.y, playerPosition.z);
    }
    if ( player.transform.localScale.y < 0f)
    {
    playerPosition = new Vector3(playerPosition.x , playerPosition.y - offset, playerPosition.z);
    }
    transform.position = Vector3.Lerp(transform.position, playerPosition, offsetSmoothing * Time.deltaTime);
    }
    }

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

What is your thinking with checking that localScale? Is that just for deciding if I am facing left / right and adding the
    offset
    to move the camera ahead?