Search Unity

2D Animation package - PSB workaround?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by redstripeart, Jan 26, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redstripeart

redstripeart

Hey there,

I am new to 2D rig and animation in Unity and I am kind of confused with the new skinning editor. I was able to do some basic rigs and animations in the previous version of 2D animation package (late 2018) but with the new version, I can't even set up bones and weights. From checking youtube tutorial (afaik there is only one for the current version) and official documentation, I need the character exported in PSB file from Photoshop, but I draw everything in Krita and I don't feel like getting photoshop only for the sole purpose of this (I love the idea of putting in the whole character with bits and pieces already split as sprites, but why would this be only photoshop-exclusive when every graphic editor has layers nowadays?). When I tried doing it the old way, importing the png file with all pieces separated, I was able to put bones to secific sprites but I couldn't find way to parent these bones and found that whole "pose preview" function is totally useless that way.

Is there a solution for non-photoshop users or something that I missed while rigging character through classic png map? Thank you for your answer,

Last edited: Jan 26, 2019
    jlittle489 likes this.
  2. InfiniteDesign8

InfiniteDesign8

its by design that you must pay for PS..could you imagine if we let you set your rig up easy without someone getting paid?

awsapps likes this.
  3. awesomedata

awesomedata

AFAIK, krita can export to .PSD -- Do those krita-exported .psd files not work with your version of Unity or something?

4. InfiniteDesign8

InfiniteDesign8

no PSB only ...hence my salty reply

5. apapryk

apapryk

same problem here.. keep it bumped

6. gavinjboyd

gavinjboyd