Search Unity

Unity 2D Animation 3.0.4 is out.

Discussion in '2D' started by rustum, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. rustum

    rustum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    44
    This version adds more support for applying 2D Lights to Sprites with bone-based animation.

    Specifically you can now use secondary textures.

    This means that you can add normal maps to your sprites to define surface detail that can be picked up by the 2D Lights and deforming these sprites by posing or animating your characters will work well. This is because we now consider vertex tangents while deforming a sprite.

    This version also includes the experimental Sprite Swap feature.

    Here’s more details on this release:

    What’s New
    • Added tangent deform for lighting support
    What’s Experimental
    • Sprite Swap
    Changed
    • Make Size property field in Weight Brush draggable for changing brush size
    • Rename SpriteLibraryAsset::GetCategorylabelNames to SpriteLibraryAsset::GetCategoryLabelNames
    • Change string hash for Category and Label name. This might break existing animation usage with SpriteResolver.
    • Add Experimental tag on Sprite Swap related features
    Fixed
    • Fixed Amount slider not working in Weight Slider Panel
    • Fixed exception when changing size to less than 0 in SpriteLibraryAssetInspector
    • Fixed Sprite visual corruption when swapping Sprite using SpriteResolver
     
    Corvwyn and Helladah like this.
  2. IShol

    IShol

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2019
    Manou1111 and Corvwyn like this.
  3. HelloEStar

    HelloEStar

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Posts:
    4
  4. Manou1111

    Manou1111

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Got the same problem anyone got an idea how to solve it ?
     
  5. HelloEStar

    HelloEStar

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    I have a simple way to avoid this situation:

    1. open your prefab, edit something but do not save
    2. rename .psb file or rename the variant of .psb file
    3. click keep change

    then you may see the datas.
    However, we'd better to wait for plugin update
     
  6. jeffweber

    jeffweber

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    538
    I am also having this issue with a sprite that is NOT a prefab.

    • I upgraded from 2019.2.5 where all was working well.
    • After the update I got the "Sprite has no bind pose issue".
    • I opened the SpriteEditor, Edited a bone, then hit apply. (This has worked in the past to get by this issue.. seems to sort of rebuild things).
    • After this, the "Sprite has no bind pose" went away and all was good... HOWEVER....
    • When I closed Unity and re-opened.. or even just toggled to "Maximize On Play" the sprite would revert back to the "Sprite has not bind pose" error and I'd have to do the process all over.
    Guess I'll hold on 2019.3 beta until this is fixed.

    -Jeff
     
  7. ed_s

    ed_s

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Posts:
    49
    It sounds like you've run into this bug.

    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...-save-assets-modified-during-assetpostprocess

    A fix is on the way but if you need to workaround it for now, try switching to Asset Pipeline Version 1.

    Project Settings > Editor > Asset Pipeline > Version 1
     
    Corvwyn and jeffweber like this.
  8. games4ever

    games4ever

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Hello @ed_s

    You're solution solves the bones' discconnection related to the SpriteSkin script, but in my case, I'm using Unity2020.1.0a3 and the Pipeline Version 1 corrupts all the Sprite textures generating a Bug (see my thread posted a few days ago: https://forum.unity.com/threads/sprite-selection-window-issue.745199/)

    Please solve this bug the sooner the better and keep us informed.

    Thank you in advance!
     
  9. EvOne

    EvOne

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    76
    Launching a still-not-ready animation package under the alpha version of Unity 2020, which appeared in the list of official alpha a week ago? Extreme, however... :)
    Are you sure that developers will now be able to answer whose bug it is there?

    But after that You write as if your project on the final official release version of Unity was buggy... o_O
    -"fix it urgently and keep us..."! Probably joke ... :rolleyes::D

    P.S. Sorry fo google-translate...:oops:
     
  10. ed_s

    ed_s

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Posts:
    49
    EvOne likes this.
  11. games4ever

    games4ever

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Posts:
    10