Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved 2022.2 B14 Light Settings Cannot Be Adjusted?

Discussion in '2022.2 Beta' started by Freakish, Nov 10, 2022.

  1. Freakish

    Freakish

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    80
    Hello all,

    I just updated to B14 from B13, I can no longer adjust any light settings...

    All of my usual light settings like Emission, Volumetrics, Shadow settings will not move or adjust sliders or values, cannot uncheck or check any checkboxes like affect diffuse or enable shadowmaps.

    Kind of makes this Beta unusable for me, No problems in any other tabs like Cameras etc.

    Just wondering if this is just me, or are others experiencing it?
     
    nacmac, Turbana and Ciderhelm like this.
  2. wm-VR

    wm-VR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Thanks for reporting this issue!

    I have the same issue in B14. My scene is having many point lights (using the HDRP) but I can't change any light settings anymore (as u mentioned already: color, intensity,..)

    I found a workaround: switch into the inspectors debug mode and change it there directly. It's quite unhandy but it works for now
     
    nacmac, Turbana and Ciderhelm like this.
  3. Freakish

    Freakish

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    80
    Thanks for confirming the bug, and offering a solution, much appreciated... :)
     
    wm-VR likes this.
  4. Ciderhelm

    Ciderhelm

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Echoing, this is pretty disruptive. Thank you for the workaround!
     
  5. Scarabay

    Scarabay

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    Same problem in HDRP. With Built-in RP it works fine.
    Upd: I also can't change some values of reflection probes (hdrp)
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2022
  6. wm-VR

    wm-VR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Posts:
    123
    It appears that this bug is still present in B15.
    I can't chance any light parameters using the HDRP
     
  7. Duraxz

    Duraxz

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    thanks for the tip I can change light values in debug mode but every light switches back to their earlier parameters when I run the recording =.= how can I keep the values guys?
     
  8. Onat-H

    Onat-H

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    195
    I can confirm this.
     
  9. Scarabay

    Scarabay

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    Still not fixed in B16 :(
     
    wm-VR likes this.
  10. wm-VR

    wm-VR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Deleting the Library folder and restarting the project solved this problem :)
     
  11. Freakish

    Freakish

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    80
    Unfortunately didn't help for me. :(
     
    Scarabay likes this.
  12. PixelDough

    PixelDough

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    Deleting the library folder did not work for me either, unfortunately...
     
  13. azcoffeehabit

    azcoffeehabit

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Just adding in confirmed in 2022.2.0b16.112.5806

    Steps to reproduce.
    Create new HDRP scene
    Add Point Light.

    Light Settings cannot be adjusted in the inspector
     
  14. vlastan

    vlastan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Posts:
    44
    Confirmed even on a brand new project
     
  15. riba78

    riba78

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Posts:
    33
    confirmed in a fresh Unity installation with an HDRP new scene started from the 3D HDRP template.
    But I've found that not just lights properties are unchangeable but also other settings in other elements like overrides in volume and others.
    It seems something more spreaded in the editor
     
  16. MikeChr

    MikeChr

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Posts:
    43
    Bump. Experiencing this problem too.
     
  17. BoxxyPrime

    BoxxyPrime

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Yup also getting this on beta 16.

    EDIT: Didn't see 2022.2.0f1 was out. Seems to be fixed in this version.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2022
  18. MikeChr

    MikeChr

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Posts:
    43
    I have found this problem fixed in 2022.2.9f1. Thanks!
     
    azcoffeehabit likes this.